Customer Reviews for

Never Tell (Ellie Hatcher Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher has been called to the scene of a m

    NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher has been called to the scene of a murder at a luxurious Manhattan townhouse. When she arrives, she finds the grieving mother who is both distraught and angry. Her daughter, Julie Whitmore, only sixteen-years old is dead in the bathroom upstairs. She has a right to be upset but angry? Ellie learns that the EMT's that have arrived on the scene before her, claim that this is nothing more than a suicide but her mother doesn't believe that is what happened. She believes her daughter has been murdered.

    The tell-tale signs? Besides the body in the bathtub filled with a pinkish water, she has slit her wrist and there is the razor blade next to the body. There are even a couple of practice marks just above that one. A bottle of wine, lies on the floor of the bathroom and on the bed, a tear stained suicide note. Even Ellie, can't disagree with the EMT's theory. She has seen way to many of these to even wager than anything out of the ordinary has indeed taken place. So when she brushes this one off, she finds out that money can buy more than just happiness, it can get you to do the job you were hired to do, and the Whitmore's have more than enough money and influence to justify having Ellie launch a full-investigation.

    What she will soon discover is the seemingly small details she missed when she assumed that this was an ordinary suicide and launches this investigation in ways she never thought possible.

    In the novel, Never Tell by Alafair Burke, the reader is immediately taken in from the first page into a tragedy that happens on many levels and yet interconnected at the same time. The first part of the investigation is into the apparent suicide/murder of Julia Whitmore and the second into the life that Julia really lead that no one seems to understand, not even her parents or close friends. This is a rollercoaster ride of the best kind for those of you that love a great crime solving murder mystery. If you love shows like CSI or Numbers, then you will LOVE this novel.

    I received Never Tell by Alafair Burke, compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and have to say, this one keep me guessing. I ran into more dead ends on my own investigation and that too me, is a sign of some great writing! I would easily rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars. There is some profanity that some of my readers might find offensive, but overall the book is an amazing mystery!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Very Good Read

    Very much enjoyed this. Sevrral plot twist and a gotcha all the way to the end. I enjoyed 212 as well. Will go back and read the first in this series as well.
    Keep em coming Ms. BURKE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Never Tell' is the fourth installment in the Ellie H

    4.5 Stars

    'Never Tell' is the fourth installment in the Ellie Hatcher series, but can be read as a standalone novel. It tells the story of Julia Whitmire, a popular rich girl from NYC who has apparently committed suicide. Ellie and her partner are assigned to the case when Julia's parents insist that their daughter was murdered. Soon the both Ellie and the reader are caught in a tangle of lies, deceipt, secrets, and teenage pressure. Ellie must put aside her own personal demons in order to get Julia the justice she deserves.

    This was a fantastically written mystery/thriller novel that had me completely hooked from the first paragraph. There are lots of story lines happening at once throughout the book, so there are several smaller plots and mysteries that the reader has to keep up with, which only makes it harder to put down. Ellie is a great main character. She's a strong, intelligent, and capable detective who works hard and empathizes easily with the victims of the cases she works on. I found her easy to identify with and immediately liked her as the heroine. The other characters were well written, even the ones that barely made a ripple in the story, so much so that they all left a distinct impression on me as I read about them; it was easy to believe that they were real people mixed up in this girl's death. The plot wasn't anything completely unique, but the way the author wrote it was very perceptive and engaging that I felt like I was working the case alongside Ellie and trying to figure out what really happened. Like any good thriller or mystery, the story had several twists and turns that I didn't see coming - which only made me more determined to figure out the truth and had me reading as fast as I could to see what was going to happen next. The writing was phenomenal with a fast pace, believable dialogue, and effortless flow. Although there are several story lines happening at once throughout the novel, I never felt confused between them and they only deepened the intrigue that the author created. This is definitely a novel, as well as a series, that mystery and thriller fans will want to start reading - if they haven't done already. The author proves herself to be a major player in the genre and I'm eagerly awaiting her next release.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Never Tell' is the fourth installment in the Ellie H

    4.5 Stars

    'Never Tell' is the fourth installment in the Ellie Hatcher series, but can be read as a standalone novel. It tells the story of Julia Whitmire, a popular rich girl from NYC who has apparently committed suicide. Ellie and her partner are assigned to the case when Julia's parents insist that their daughter was murdered. Soon the both Ellie and the reader are caught in a tangle of lies, deceipt, secrets, and teenage pressure. Ellie must put aside her own personal demons in order to get Julia the justice she deserves.

    This was a fantastically written mystery/thriller novel that had me completely hooked from the first paragraph. There are lots of story lines happening at once throughout the book, so there are several smaller plots and mysteries that the reader has to keep up with, which only makes it harder to put down. Ellie is a great main character. She's a strong, intelligent, and capable detective who works hard and empathizes easily with the victims of the cases she works on. I found her easy to identify with and immediately liked her as the heroine. The other characters were well written, even the ones that barely made a ripple in the story, so much so that they all left a distinct impression on me as I read about them; it was easy to believe that they were real people mixed up in this girl's death. The plot wasn't anything completely unique, but the way the author wrote it was very perceptive and engaging that I felt like I was working the case alongside Ellie and trying to figure out what really happened. Like any good thriller or mystery, the story had several twists and turns that I didn't see coming - which only made me more determined to figure out the truth and had me reading as fast as I could to see what was going to happen next. The writing was phenomenal with a fast pace, believable dialogue, and effortless flow. Although there are several story lines happening at once throughout the novel, I never felt confused between them and they only deepened the intrigue that the author created. This is definitely a novel, as well as a series, that mystery and thriller fans will want to start reading - if they haven't done already. The author proves herself to be a major player in the genre and I'm eagerly awaiting her next release.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I only 'discovered' Alafair Burke a couple of years ago when I p

    I only 'discovered' Alafair Burke a couple of years ago when I picked up 212 - the third in a series featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher. I remember thinking at that time 'why is this author not already on my 'must read' list'? (She was promptly added!)

    Never Tell is the fourth book in the Hatcher series. Burke piques our interest with the opening prologue - an entry from a blog - "Second Acts: Confessions of a Former Victim and Current Survivor."

    Cut to Ellie and her partner Rogan - they've been called out to what appears to be a clear cut suicide. But the dead girl is young - and her parents are rich and influential. Her mother insists her daughter would never kill herself. Ellie thinks the call is a waste of her time and believes the death is exactly what it appears to be. Rogan - he's got his doubts. And it turns out he's right. A chastened Hatcher approaches the case with a new attitude. And what she finds........

    Ellie is a great protagonist. She's real and fallible, but at the same time tough, dogged and determined. I enjoyed the secondary story line of Ellie's love life - her relationship with Max, an NYC Assistant District Attorney. I always like to get to 'know' a character's life and follow the changes throughout a series. Rogan works as a good foil to Ellie's personality. They are complete opposites, but work well together. Their dialogue is easy and entertaining.

    Burke has again come up with a plot populated with enough false leads and twists to keep me wondering 'whodunit' until the last few chapters. Never Tell kept me interested from first to last page. Burke has worked as a criminal prosecutor and currently teaches criminal law. That insider knowledge gives her writing an added punch and a dose of reality. A recommended series.

    Fans of Lisa Gardner and Linda Fairstein would enjoy Alafair Burke's books. I'm looking forward to her next book - a stand alone called If You Were Here, releasing in June 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Pretty good

    I liked this book ok . Decent plot line. The story seemed to speed up and then slow down throughout. Must admit though that out of the ellie hatcher series, i liked this one the least. Still worth a read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1