Customer Reviews for

Never Trust a Dead Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is guaranteed to make anyone laugh. Selwyn has been ac

    This book is guaranteed to make anyone laugh. Selwyn has been accused of
    murdering his rival, Farold. He asks a witch to raise Farold from the
    dead so Farold can say who killed him. Only one problem. Farold does not
    know either. Now these two enemies must work together to find Farold's
    killer and clear Selwyn's name. This is a mystery that pulls you in from
    the start and won't let go. It is full of laughs and even more suspects
    than the two teens realize. Never Trust a Dead Man moves fast so there
    is no chance of boredom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mitul Patel Never trust a dead man review august 18,2009

    I really like this book because it has a suspenseful mystery about murder. The mystery about Farold being found dead with a knife in his back and it was Selwyn's dagger and Selwyn is blamed for the murder. The book was very good because I couldn,t put it down until I fell asleep. I recommend this book to book to anyone who is interested in mystery and medieval times.
    I wouldn,t say there is any other book I have in mind that it better than this one. If I had to chose between this book and another one I would chose never trust a dead man. My rateing for this book is Six out of ten. Maybe others think so too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The Invisible Man

    Selwyn, a teenage boy went through the worst experience of his life. He was accused of killing his friend, Farold. There was evidence that Selwyn killed Farold because Selwyn¿s knife was found in Farold¿s back. Selwyn didn¿t really do it, but the committee of the community decides to put him in a cave where all the dead people are put including Farold. Luckily Selwyn didn¿t get executed, but he was bound to die from starvation in a few days. Selwyn¿s somewhat savior, Elswyth opens the cave up one day. She was going to do some spells on the dead and she found Selwyn still alive in the cave. Elswyth tells Selwyn that he must do labor for her saving him. The labor would take one year to pay off! Selwyn asked Elswyth to let him talk to his family and tell them that he¿s not dead. He also asked her to bring Farold back to life to find out who really killed Farold. For these favors done by Elswyth, she charged Selwyn many more years of hard labor done for her. Selwyn keeps giving in and the years of labor keep building up. To talk to his family, Selwyn has to be disguised like someone else so no one knows he¿s still alive. To make the disguises Elswyth charges more years and it seems never ending. Will he ever get out of this mess? Well you¿ll have to read the book yourself to find out. I really enjoyed this book and liked how the author, Vivian Vande Velde, expressed her thoughts about the events that happen. This made the book a lot more interesting to read and this is the first time in awhile that I wanted to keep reading a book. The only thing I didn¿t like about this book is the names were quite awkward and I¿m still not sure how to pronounce them. I really got wrapped up in this book and it seemed as if I were actually there. This is definitely a must read book for young adults no matter what kind of books you like. I¿d say there are several big words in this book so I¿d recommend this book to someone from the ages thirteen and up. This book won the Edgar Allan Poe Award in 2000 for the best mystery. This is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Never trust a dead man

    It was not really not a fun story but it can be a litte scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    A Mystery Treat

    Never Trust a Dead man is the story of a boy named Sewlyn, who is fighting against Farold (the town bully) for the attention and love of one girl. After being humiliated by the hands of Farold in front of the tevern, Sewlyn finds himself heart broken. But when Farold is found murdered everybody assumes Sewlyn is the guilty party. Basically thinking he did it out of a jealous rage. The town¿s people come together and convict Sewlyn of this crime. His punishment is to be placed in the tomb with the victim (Farold). While in the tomb, he recieves help form two unlikely people, a witch and the now resorrected Farold. With their assistance Sewlyn sets out to find the true killer. I really enjoyed this book because it kept me on my toes. The mystery was finding out who or what was next. Not only was it a mystery, but it had a lot of comic relief. Whenever Sewlyn, Farold and the with was together something funny was bound to happen. The best thing about the story was the fact that I felt like I was part of the story, therefore I didn¿t want to put the book down so that I could find out who the killer was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    this book was sooo good!!!

    this book was great!!!!i really loved it b/c of it's humor and the story was very good!!! when selwyn gets turned into a girl it's hilarious!!! even though he's in a girl's body he acts so much like a boy and the witch is very funny b/c she hits selwyn with her stick all the time!!!it's a very good book with a good ending and a good mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    A wonderful Book

    I got the book Never Trust a Dead Man out of the school libraray when I had nothing else to read. I started to read it and got HOOKED. I couldn't put it down, which got me into trouble with my teachers. I felt so sorry for poor Selwyn, always getting hit on the head by a witch and being stuck with his dead rival. Farold seemed to be kind of a meanie, but you do have to feel sorry for him, being murdered and all. For the first time, I didn't know who dunnit. This book is wonderful and contains twists and turns right up to the last page. All of my friens wanted to read this book. Because of the title, I thought that maybe Farold was bad, but he wasn't. I loved the character Elswyth, and she ended up being really nice. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    One of my favorite books...

    ^^ Haha. At first, you would think it was kinda creepy by seeing the title on the spine, but then by chance, reading the back...well, I did, and it turned out comical. Poor Selwyn--all the things you gotta love to hate happens to him unfortunately. One, a witch that smacks his head a lot--two, he gets stuck with his long time rival person who turns out dead, and develops a strange friendship, and three--he finds out that an idiot blonde girl he liked happened to be evil. You could tell the last one since the first page. But you gotta admit, the smacking on head thing is a classic that no one really uses in books, ever. ^^ Adds to the story well. Especially coming from a weird witch who doesn't have to be good or evil or anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Never Trust a Dead Man

    Never Trust a Dead Man This book, Never Trust a Dead Man was very amazing and Very fantastic. If you check this book out it¿s mysterious Power will make you read it over and over again. I liked this book because it has a great plot the other thing I Liked about this book is how the Author wrote the book. Instead off writing this book like any other mystery book The Author wrote about a mystery-Horror-Comedy about Love and life after death. This book is about mystery Because it is a murder situation where a guy name Farold Is murdered the villagers accused one of his enemies Selwyn of killing him. This was because Selwyn¿s knife Was used to kill the victim. This book is about love Because Selwyn and farold loved the same girl name Anora. This book is also about life after death. Farold Was dead and brought back to life by a witch named Elswyth. If you are interested in mystery books, read Never Trust A Dead Man. Interested in finding out who the real killer is Read Never Trust A Dead Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    Hilarious! Original!

    Never Trust a Dead Man is a highly entertaining, humorous and original. An intriguing mystery. Vivian Vande Velde has written a tight knit mystery, with a host of characters¿most of them suspects. With puzzle pieces all over the place, I could not wait to finish the tale to see what the final picture displayed.<br><br> Selwyn is a young man, working the farmland with his father when a mob from the village shows up. Selwyn has been accused of murdering Farold. The villagers have all the proof they need. Both had been courting beautiful Anora. Recently, Anora chose Farold to marry. Perhaps embarrassed, Selwyn started a fight with Farold, in which Farold won. To make matters worse, it was Selwyn¿s knife found at the murder scene.<br><br> Selwyn, in front of a Star Chamber proceeding, is sentenced to be sealed with Farold¿s corpse in the community burial. Thought to be doomed, Selwyn cannot believe when he encounters a witch. With hasty promises made, the witch agrees to help Selwyn out of the tomb. She also agrees to bring Farold back, so he can tell Selwyn who the true murderer is. The spell goes awry and Farold is returned as a bat. Worse, he does not know who killed him. <br><br> Promising to serve the witch as a slave for many years, Selwyn and Farold set out to find the killer and to let Selwyn¿s family know that he is all right. The witch, for a price, provides the two with disguises. Selwyn has only one week to solve the crime before he must return to repay his dent to the witch.<br><br> Never Trust a Dead Man is just full of laugh-out-loud bantering dialogue, hilarious situations and an insistent sense of urgency to figure out who is responsible for killing Farold. This is a spry and witty, a solid mystery. Vivian Vande Velde is quickly becoming my favorite young adult novelist.<br>--Phillip Tomasso III, author of Third Ring, Tenth House & Mind Play

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    OuTsTaNdInG!!

    This book was great! I definately recommend this book to anyone! It was hard to follow at the beginning, but as you read on it was easier to understand! It's about a boy named David who goes to live with his Aunt, Uncle and Cousin Lily in Camberidge, Mass. David lives in the upstairs attic, and at night he sees his dead cousin Kathy's ghost. He learns just how weird his relatives are, and what secrets they have hidden. This book was so good I could hardly put it down! If you haven't read this book, I suggest you do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    kool book!!!!!!!

    This book is so great....I really love reading. I have read a lot of books and this has been my favorite one. I also bought a book that vivian vande velde wrote. Titled 'curse.inc.' that book is also great.good thing i bought it cause i was reading it so many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    Never trust a dead man!

    I read this book for my 8th grade summer reading book and i truly enjoyed this mystery.... The best part of the mystical medieval mystery is that every one is a suspect and that the main character (Selwyn) can not trust anybody. I definetly reccomend this book to enthusiastic rea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1