Customer Reviews for

Never a Bride

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    I had gotten this freebie quite a while ago and wasn't expecting

    I had gotten this freebie quite a while ago and wasn't expecting much. But I was really surprised at how engaging the story was. Mirabella has been left of the shelf when her intended left the country six years before. She has given up and decides she will never be a bride. In the mean time she on the trail of the man she feels is responsible for the suicide of her best friend. The problems start when she meets a mystery man who really makes her feel special and then gets caught with a man in the garden by her fiancee who has returned. The story of how she can help her friend and not lose the man was full of humor and heart warming moments. Very much worth the time to read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    easy read

    good book for people who like romance with a little spice.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book! There were a couple unique elements to the storyline which I really enjoyed and even though it was bit predictable, some of the dialogue was cheesy, and it was easy to figure out who the villian was, I absolutely loved it! She kept the story moving with some fun little twists, and I liked how she had enough drama to keep the tension between the characters without tearing them apart, which would have detracted from the overall glow of this story. It is the perfect book if you're looking for something fun and heartwarming to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Better than most 3 1/2 stars

    I really liked Camden, but I didn't really LOVE Mirabella. I thought her decisions were sometimes a bit unrealistic and she was a little too unfeminine for me. He was handsome, sweet, caring, proper, and I really liked the protective streak but she didn't offer many situations to be protected. They didn't quite go together perfectly but I still really enjoyed the book and it only took me two days to read. (btw I totally LOVE this cover, I wish more covers looked like this).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Nice Romance

    Pretty nice read for a free e-book...thanks B&N!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly Reccommend

    Was an easy and fun read. A little bit of mystery and romance all rolled into one. Kept me captivated the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Good Romance

    Light reading a good summer romance novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More like 2.5

    Dragged in spots. Liked the characters but just in spots was bit nausiating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book so much, I read it twice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Nice but not a keepr

    I thought the heroine was TSTL at times with her antics and I couldn't understand why she forgave her fiancee so easily. But the writer had an engaging way of penning that made me make it to the end. It's more of a 2.5 stars for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Disappointing

    I had a very difficult time getting through this book. I felt that it moved very slowly, and I had figured out early in the book who the "villain" was that the heroine was searching for. I ended up skipping many pages that didn't add anything to the plot, including the love scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Great Book!

    Very much enjoyed this book. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    An okay historical.

    2 1/2 stars.

    This is my first book by Amelia Grey. I'd heard wonderful things about her Rogues' Dynasty series and was looking forward to reading Never A Bride.

    The premise of the story was good: Mirabella's father secured her engagement to Viscount "Cam" Brackley. Cam then had no intention of marrying Mirabella until he was old, he only agreed to the engagement because her dowry would help his father pay off debts. Six years later, Mirabella's father demands he come back and marry or Cam's father must repay the portion of dowry he already received.

    Mirabella, however, knows none of this - only that her fiancee has been gone and will probably not come back any time soon. She is on a mission to find out who disgraced her cousin so badly that the cousin committed suicide. In order to do that, she must get the young men of the ton alone and get her finger into their neckcloths in search of a scar the cousin had written about in her diary. Needless to say Mirabella is starting to get a bit of a reputation when Cam unexpectely returns.

    Here's the thing: I liked both Mirabella and Cam, just not together. They were both lovely characters but they didn't "mesh" for me. It was like they just kept bumping up against each other but didn't quite connect. My other problem was that I guessed the "whodunit" very early into the book. I would have preferred a bit of mystery and suspense on that front. It was frustrating to watch Mirabella go through all her machinations when I already knew who it was.

    We also met Cam's best childhood friend, who was unexplainably mean to both Cam and Mirabella, but we never found out why he was such a jerk - jealousy? I'm not sure what he would be jealous of as he was already titled and married and had an heir. I was a bit confused on that point.

    As I mentioed above, while I did like the main characters, this book was just not a good match for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    TRULY ENJOYED THIS BOOK

    I loved the chemistry between Camden and Mirabella.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Beautiful Read

    Originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** As someone who enjoys a fantastic regency novel, I was extremely excited to dive into Amelia Grey's Never A Bride. Having read the author's previous offerings, I knew I could expect intrigue, romance, well-developed characters, and a story I would thoroughly enjoy.

    When the story begins, we are introduced to Miss Mirabella Whittingham. For the past six-years, she has waited for the return of her fiancé, Camden Thurston Brackley. Society has begun gossiping about his extended absence and, as there has been no correspondence from the man who sailed for America years before, Mirabella has decided she will remain unmarried for the rest of her life. It's a good thing too, because Mirabella has located a diary that has shed light into the death of a close friend who lived under her father's employ and took her life when she discovered she was pregnant and the father refused to accept responsibility. Armed with the knowledge she's taken from the diary, Mirabella is determined to find the culprit named only "Prince Charming," and bring him to justice. Her plan? To kiss as many men from her friend's dancing card from the previous season as possible and search for the scar that the diary indicates exists on the man's throat.

    Unfortunately for our heroine, who believes her reputation is of no importance as she will never marry, Camden has just returned home. His family is in dire financial straits, meaning he must continue with the engagement. So it's both awkward and embarrassing when she makes the acquaintance of her betrothed while in the embrace of another man. Considering that Camden's last fiancé betrayed him and he's sworn never to marry without trust, their relationship ends before it's even given the opportunity to begin. or has it? Both Mirabella and Camden need something from each other and, as a ruse is created to fool society, assist Camden, and give Mirabella enough time to find the man she's searching for, our hero and heroine soon discover that the greatest risk is one they never expect -- to fall in love.

    I absolutely adored this story. The characters are beautifully developed, their chemistry is unmatched, and the story is written so superbly that you fly through the pages and are swept away. Although the mystery is important and provides necessary tension between Mirabella and Camden, it is done in such a manner that is very believable versus becoming draining or tedious. While I had a good idea of who Prince Charming was, that is only because in this sort of story you are given so many players and after a time it's fairly easy to target the one who is always in the picture, yet, remains apart from it. This isn't to say I was disappointed, but rather that the relationship between Mirabella and Camden remains the central focus -- as it should.

    Fans of regency romance have to read Never A Bride. If you've never experienced Ms. Grey's work, this is a perfect way to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    WONDERFUL ENCHANTING REGENCY ROMANCE!

    NEVER A BRIDE by Amelia Grey is an enchanting wonderful Regency Romance. It is a re-released. It is set during the 1800's England. It is well written with details and depth. The characters are charming, free spirited, and full of life. The heroine, Mirabella, is intelligent, courageous, smart, full of life, beautiful and out to avenge the death of her cousin. She has been engaged for six years to our hero who has been in America all this time. She begins to believe he isn't coming to claim her hand in marriage, therefore, she sets out on her mission to kiss as many gentlemen as possible to find and avenge her cousin's seducer (she has her cousin's diary with some details about her seducer). Mirabella is aware of the consequences of her action but feels she must avenge her cousin. The hero, Camden, is handsome, strong, been betrayed before, been in America for six years. Comes home to find Mirabella, his fiance, in the arms of another man. Although, their engagement was arranged by their fathers , they have never meet each other before. They find they are intrigued with other and must continue their engagement for a few months to settle some things. During this time they actually realize they are falling in love with each other. This is an amazing, beautifully written story of avenge, romance, passion, sensuality, intrigue, compromise, betrayal, suspense and sacrifice.This is a fast paced, page turner and a keeper. This book was received for review from Sourcebooks and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Regency romance

    After six years in which her betrothed, Viscount Stonehurst, Camden Brackhurst, left her behind in a single state and went off to America, Lady Mirabella Whittingham adapts to remaining on the shelf. She even finds spinsterhood quite enjoyable that is until her best friend Sarah committed suicide. Sarah¿s diary blames her troubles on an aristocrat with a scar on the back of his neck. Mirabella plans to uncover the culprit¿s identity and take him to task. However, to do so requires kissing all the eligible bachelors in town for the season to inspect their necks because Sarah never names anyone. <P>As Mirabella makes the rounds and shocks the Ton, Camden finally returns from across the ocean. He is appalled at his fiancee¿s behavior, but finds he is very attracted to her. She is stunned to observe the telltale scar on his neck. <P> Though NEVER A BRIDE requires a plausibility leap, Regency romance fans will enjoy the tale. Readers must accept Mirabella¿s way out character behavior, but at the same time will admire her spunk and loyalty. The story line is fun especially when an outraged Camden makes his feelings known. On the other hand, six years waiting for someone who deserted you before you ever met makes his present day behavior seem inappropriate, but perhaps that is a modern day perspective by this reviewer. Still sub-genre fans will receive pleasure from Amelia Grey¿s gender war historical romance. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7