Customer Reviews for

Never a Gentleman (Drake's Rakes Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What happens when an ugly duckling realizes she was a swan all along?

Diccan Hilliard is a man defending his country and will do everything in his power to work toward protection of the crown, even marry a woman he is not particularly fond of. Grace Fairchild had spent her life living with her father during his military career traveling ...
Diccan Hilliard is a man defending his country and will do everything in his power to work toward protection of the crown, even marry a woman he is not particularly fond of. Grace Fairchild had spent her life living with her father during his military career traveling across the globe saving lives and surviving her mother's scandals. But Grace always dreamed of being her own person and never thought to wake up in a strange bed with Diccan next to her and members of the ton crashing through the door to catch them. Someone is setting both of them up a reason neither can fathom and now they are married to resolve the potential scandal and don't know what to do with one another.

Grace knows the military and the horror of battle and from this has so many loyal soldiers to her they even have a name "Grace's Grenadiers" that are determined to make sure she is happy and Diccan is treating her right. Diccan has his own group called "Drake's Rakes" who are fighting a sinister and treasonous bunch of men that are determined to bring the English dynasty to its knees and the most treacherous one of all just escaped from prison and is looking for revenge. Diccan must sneak away under the cover of darkness and do his best to not let Grace know what he is up to or his true feelings for her. He believes keeping emotionally distant from her will make the pain less horrible should they be parted, but Grace doesn't want a pretend marriage she wants the love for Diccan to be returned. She transforms herself into the belle of the ball and is taught the proper behavior of someone in her social stature. But giving up her charity work and ignoring her friends is bad enough but Diccan's total disregard for the respectability of their marriage has to stop. Grace uses all her wiles to turn his head and get him back in her arms and sharing a bed, will it be enough to win him over?

It takes a near death experience, rogues, rakes and rebel rousers to shake Diccan out of his present state of mind and realize that there are more important things in life than just oneself. Diccan and Grace separately are strong fighters but together they will save the country, their marriage and possibly one another from danger.

This second book in the series is a wonderful combination of romance, mystery and thrilling suspense. You fall in love with Grace immediately but Diccan takes a little time to understand but once you figure out the truth is hidden inside him the reader knows love can conquer all.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Double the pain

I bought this at the same time I bought the first book in the series, I should have waited until I read the first one. Diccan and Grace are forced to wed. Much is made about how plain Grace is and how handsome Diccan is (Dick would definitely fit him as a nickname). Thi...
I bought this at the same time I bought the first book in the series, I should have waited until I read the first one. Diccan and Grace are forced to wed. Much is made about how plain Grace is and how handsome Diccan is (Dick would definitely fit him as a nickname). This story just like the first in the Drake's Rakes series has untold suffering by the poor heroine while the male lead must do dangerous and mysterious things all for the good of the country (like cheating on the heroine - I REALLY HATE THAT). There is one scene in the book that is just totally reprehensible to me, Ugh. He, of course, cannot tell her anything because she is just a stupid, useless woman even though Grace has constantly proven how tough and trustworthy she is.....sigh. I wanted to shake Grace and tell her to shoot the SOB and I would help bury the body. Enough already with torturing the female lead characters. I will not continue this series as the males seem to be devolving with each book.

posted by ornerylibrarian on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What happens when an ugly duckling realizes she was a swan all along?

    Diccan Hilliard is a man defending his country and will do everything in his power to work toward protection of the crown, even marry a woman he is not particularly fond of. Grace Fairchild had spent her life living with her father during his military career traveling across the globe saving lives and surviving her mother's scandals. But Grace always dreamed of being her own person and never thought to wake up in a strange bed with Diccan next to her and members of the ton crashing through the door to catch them. Someone is setting both of them up a reason neither can fathom and now they are married to resolve the potential scandal and don't know what to do with one another.

    Grace knows the military and the horror of battle and from this has so many loyal soldiers to her they even have a name "Grace's Grenadiers" that are determined to make sure she is happy and Diccan is treating her right. Diccan has his own group called "Drake's Rakes" who are fighting a sinister and treasonous bunch of men that are determined to bring the English dynasty to its knees and the most treacherous one of all just escaped from prison and is looking for revenge. Diccan must sneak away under the cover of darkness and do his best to not let Grace know what he is up to or his true feelings for her. He believes keeping emotionally distant from her will make the pain less horrible should they be parted, but Grace doesn't want a pretend marriage she wants the love for Diccan to be returned. She transforms herself into the belle of the ball and is taught the proper behavior of someone in her social stature. But giving up her charity work and ignoring her friends is bad enough but Diccan's total disregard for the respectability of their marriage has to stop. Grace uses all her wiles to turn his head and get him back in her arms and sharing a bed, will it be enough to win him over?

    It takes a near death experience, rogues, rakes and rebel rousers to shake Diccan out of his present state of mind and realize that there are more important things in life than just oneself. Diccan and Grace separately are strong fighters but together they will save the country, their marriage and possibly one another from danger.

    This second book in the series is a wonderful combination of romance, mystery and thrilling suspense. You fall in love with Grace immediately but Diccan takes a little time to understand but once you figure out the truth is hidden inside him the reader knows love can conquer all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    DOORMAT

    The "heroine" is anything but. I love a good romance, but this non-romantic novel left me irritated. For a woman who was supposedly so strong and self-assured, she took a lot of crap from her husband - including adultery in the name of the government... And she forgave him every indiscretion he committed against her. Certainly not a feel-good romance, for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    I could barely finish...

    1) This book is very well written. 2) That being said, I have never read a book that has made me so angry in my entire life. I had to force myself to finish after the 'hero' has sex with his mistress, in graphic detail, where his wife (unknown to him) can see him. This is the first, and last book, I will read by this author. It is too bad that this story is so unpalatable to me, as the book in general is well written. I just can't stomach how mean and insensitive the hero is to the heroine. It made me insane with anger. For reals, I think I blew a gasket after reading this book. X(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    OK

    The book was good and had a good plot, but it just dragged for me. I felt that the dilema between the couple dragged. I think that she definatly could have done it better. Half the time I just wanted to take the hero out back, and kick the crap out of him. Stupid doesn't begin to define his thought process. All in all the book was pretty good. Though if you are looking for a page turner I wouldn't say this is is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Horrible!!!!!

    I can´t finished this book. The main character´s work demands he betrays his wife and she saw him with his mistress, she heard him called her cripple and she forgives him. It´s not believable,I don´t believe in any kind of love that can accept and forguive easy this kind of humiliation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an enjoyable Regency romantic suspense

    In 1815, as a military officer's daughter Miss Grace Fairchild knows her strengths and weaknesses before going into "battle" with each new posting by her father the General. To most men, she is way too tall and plain so she knows she will not marry.

    However in Canterbury, she awakens one day nude in her bed to find a naked man in her bed while seemingly a unit of the Ton watched gleefully. Someone drugged and dumped Diccan Hilliard in Grace's bed. He knows they will marry, but Grace has yet to learn the rules of engagement amidst the Ton. As they begin to fall in love, Grace realizes her spouse conceals a dark secret from her linked to what she thought was a cruel prank, but now knows is something for deadlier.

    The second Drake's Rakes (see Barely a Lady) is an enjoyable Regency romantic suspense with twists and spins bringing freshness to the over used caught in bed scandal leading to marriage ploy. The story line is fast-paced with a solid mystery subplot to enhance the romance between the lead married couple. Regency fans will appreciate Grace's snooping into what Diccan hides from her, as she fears what ugliness she will learn that he conceals.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I love to read Romance novels and was anxious to try one by Eile

    I love to read Romance novels and was anxious to try one by Eilene Dreyer. The first book in the Drake's Rakes series was very good so I naturally wanted to read book no. 2. I really wish I hadn't. You'll love this book if you like reading about: A wife who has to watch her husband have sex with his mistress while calling his wife a cripple and saying that he had to marry her but didn't have to F her; Then, after he finds out what his wife has seen, instead of being contrite, he berates her for watching them; and Oh, does she get angry with him? Oh no, she wants him to do the same thing to her. A heroine? no a very stupid woman who has known that her husband has been openly having this affaire with his mistress while all of London's ton looks down and feels sorry for her. She knows all of this and yet she stays because she "loves him". To top everything off, after dutifully doing the same thing to his wife that he did with his mistress, he immediately leaves her again to spend a week away from his wife and yes, you got it, with his mistress. What does his wife do when after a few days of doing his patriotic duty with his mistress, he sneaks back into his wife's bedroom and she lets him have sex with her again. She just couldn't resist him. I couldn't even read this part, I was so irritated with both of them and with the author who was feeding us this story. One last thing, he hired another of his mistresses to be his wife's personal maid so that she could help him protect her. You have to feel sorry for the hero though because he only has "sex" with his mistress, he doesn't make "love" to her and by the way, he has to do this to protect his wife and Mother England. He actually says he feels guilty for having to have all of this terrible sex but he is such a good person, he sacrifices himself to the cause. I would bet that many other females would love to see him hang around and have a nice long sleep so that when he wakes up, he no longer has the equipment to use to save his wife or England. His mistress might also end up on the end of a hot poker. I read this yesterday and I am still seething. Terrible, terrible, terrible. There are too many good romance writers out there to waste my money of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    The Best Heart-Wrenching Book EVER

    I have never read a book where I empathized with and sympathized for a woman more. Since her husband has just a smidge of honor, fidelity and respect for his wife, it was disturbing and heartbreaking to read. If something like this book happened, it could kill a person's soul. It was so believable and written convincingly that I consider it the best heart-wrenching book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    STUNNING!!!

    THIS BOOK I HAVE READ THREE TIMES AND IT SILL IS ABLE TO BRING ME TO TEARS AND FEEL THE PAIN AND GLORY OF BEING HUMAN. IT IS A MUST READ ON HOW YOU CAN LOVE UNCONDITIONALLY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I HATED THIS BOOK WITH A PASSION!!! I couldnt even finish reading the book I was so enraged with the direction Mrs. Dreyer was going with the book. I hated the main male character. He is so pathetic for a man, and the worst human being to treat the most perfect wife he could ever ask for, by treating her the way he does. What's worse is he even knows what he has but still does it. Oh ya he trying to protect her, but I stopped reading when the author actually writes a scene with him having sex with his mistress. Then makes it even worse by having his wife watching. The even more lame by having that wife demand for her husband do the exact same things that he did to his mistress to her. Doesn't she have any self respect! NO of course not. If I ever had a husband, even by force, do that to me I would never allow him to touch me again. It would make me sick. God I have never hated a book more than I did this one. If i even thought it was possible I would demand a refund. I will not be reading anything ever done by this author again and everybody else would be wise to do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    It's a must read!!!!

    Loved the 2nd book in the series! Im all about unperfect girl turned godess! I've already ordered 3rd book in series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Positively exquisite and heart-breaking!

    Never A Gentleman is an absolutely scrumptious read that blew me away with how fun, emotional, and different it was. My heart wept, broke, raced, and leapt for joy as the pages turned and the main characters struggled to be honest with each other. Delicious, delicious, oh my goodness, DELICIOUS!

    I loved Grace and her strength to put others' wants and needs before her own. Even though she finally had the chance to break free from society's obligations and sink into her little slice of country paradise with all her exotic treasures from traveling abroad. No more mockery of her limp, no more snide comments about how plain she looked or dressed, no more Diccan who seems to blow more cold than hot and threatens to shatter everything Grace holds dear - including her spirit.

    While Diccan does the inexcusable when it comes to flaunting his affair in Grace's face, the reason behind it softens the blow. Too bad no one really knows that he is simply trying to protect Grace by sleeping with the enemy. Yeah... I sorta feel bad for Diccan, but he sorta dug his own grave really. When Diccan comes clean with all his despicable truth, it was a relief for all involved - most especially Diccan himself. It does bring to question as to how far Diccan should have taken his assignment and how honest he should have been with Grace in the very beginning.

    I know that Never A Gentleman may not be for everyone. It is not your delicate or pretty romance - no, not by a long shot - but there is great heart within this story that will appeal to those who enjoy well-developed characters. Grace and Diccan each had a vulnerability that made me want to hug and slap them at the same time.

    The intrigue storyline was all right, I suppose. Can't really say too much since I jumped in the middle of it. I will be reading Book 1 (already bought!) and will keep an eye out for Book 3 to come out before I make any final judgment. I don't think this plays a major role in the romance arc except for giving Diccan reason to be so horrible to Grace. If anything, I think the romance itself stands on its own quite nicely - and the intrigue is just bonus thrills.

    And one last thing - I totally loved their wedding scene! It was so unique and colorful and cultural - and so totally them - that it has be to the cutest wedding ever written! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Excellent

    I really enjoyed this book couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3