BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Neverland

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Suspenseful with a great story. I found myself really looking forward to reading it each day!

posted by 9539101 on May 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If Stephen King had written Tom Sawyer....

I found this in the Science fiction section and was greatly disappointed at the lack of science fiction content. With less than 100 pages remaining, there had only been a few instances of anything supernatural and even then it felt more like hallucinations and mind gam...
I found this in the Science fiction section and was greatly disappointed at the lack of science fiction content. With less than 100 pages remaining, there had only been a few instances of anything supernatural and even then it felt more like hallucinations and mind games than science fiction. The story moved painfully slowly and was filled with dry, uninteresting characters. This is the first book in a long while that I have not been able to force myself to finish. If you are a fan of Stephen King and coming of age stories, this may be for you, but I caution you to try a few chapters in the store before committing.

posted by Whisperlynn on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Great!

    Suspenseful with a great story. I found myself really looking forward to reading it each day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    neverland

    This another excellent read from one of the best authors in the field. gripping and exciting. This book grabs you and pulls you in asnd doesnt let you go.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    WELL WRITTEN AND KEEPS YOUR INTEREST

    I have read several of this author's novels and NEVERLAND has definitely been the best so far. I never once was bored and stayed way past my bedtime several nights reading this story. Very hard to put down. I enjoyed the character development, the realism of the dysfunctional family, and the paranormal aspect included. Highly recommended!!

    ~ DO ~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If Stephen King had written Tom Sawyer....

    I found this in the Science fiction section and was greatly disappointed at the lack of science fiction content. With less than 100 pages remaining, there had only been a few instances of anything supernatural and even then it felt more like hallucinations and mind games than science fiction. The story moved painfully slowly and was filled with dry, uninteresting characters. This is the first book in a long while that I have not been able to force myself to finish. If you are a fan of Stephen King and coming of age stories, this may be for you, but I caution you to try a few chapters in the store before committing.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Children are Seeming Stranger Than Usual...

    The Jackson family seems doomed to spend every summer vacation at a remote location off the coast of Georgia, a place called Gull Island. To the youngest members of the Jackson family, the site is dull and offers very little in the way of entertainment. And there always seems to be tension in the old and dismal house owned by their scrutinizing grandmother. The children are only attempting to find a safe haven when their cousin Sumter stumbles upon a strange, well-hidden shack, which they call Neverland. The fun at Neverland is innocent enough at first. But now, the kids of this family clan are beginning to act strangely: offering sacrifices to a creature of the shadows, insisting that parents are never allowed in their refuge, and writing on the shack's walls-in blood. The mystery surrounding Neverland begins to unfold as the reality behind the strange creature of shadows worshiped by the children starts to take shape. It is a reality that transforms Gull Island into a place of terror, and the children's games are becoming very destructive. What secrets are held by Neverland, the newest novel from Douglass Clegg? Clegg is the critically acclaimed author of Isis, an award-winning novel that has earned Clegg a positive reputation in the genre of suspense/horror fiction. This disturbing addition to his collection of written works deals with the idea of lost innocence in its most horrifying manifestations. Neverland is an excellent book for fans of Clegg's previous work, of course, and it should also be well-received by readers of both suspense and horror novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    Creepy!

    Children are not always nice, and little old ladies are not always entirely benevolent. Family is not always a support, and home is not always sanctuary. Evil creeps into the old places and doesn't necessarily wash away cleanly as time wears on. When children are chosen as the easy prey, and when evil is perpetuated by one who should be among the innocents, the insidious nature of wickedness begins to reveal itself. Reality becomes tenuous as lies and illusions and faith help to distort. The author captures all these thing in one easy-to-read package. It's a creepy ride leading to the realization that one must recognize and cherish that which is most valuable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    NEVERLAND by Douglas Clegg

    The mold on the back of a Normal Rockwell painting.

    Tennessee Williams drag racing Ray Bradbury down David Lynch's Lost Highway.

    A little Southern Gothic, a little Peter Pan it's a Sneak peek behind the curtain of the Saccharine coated Sit-Com version of family life. This is horror at its finest. The horror of family values and summer vacations turned sideways and thrown over a cliff. A story of childhood gone horribly wrong and the pain and disillusionment of a family's American Dream becoming the American Nightmare. It takes you on a journey that's all too close to home...and does not disappoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    When Beau is ten years old he, his parents and twin sisters go to Gull Island, Georgia to see his granny. Also visiting at the same time is his cousin Sumter and his parents. The children watch their parents get drunk every night and say terrible things to each other. Sumter has a teddy bear called Bernard that he clings to while his father calls him a sissy who should act like a boy instead of a girl.---------------- It is Sumter who finds the abandoned shack on his granny¿s property and he calls it Neverland. He brings Beau to it and introduces him to the god he worships in a crate. Strange inexplicable things happen in this shack as they worship the god. He puts his hand in the crate as do his sisters when they come to Neverland and feel something bite them. A blood sacrifice is made as the children put their blood in the crate. Beau and the children believe they fly over Gull Island and see the ghosts of dead children Sumter communicates telepathically with Beau who believes what happens is real. He knows that some things are inexplicable because his dreams come true. It is when Sumter wants them to make the final sacrifice that Beau turns against him risking his life to stop it from happening.------------------ Douglas Clegg is a talented horror writer who manages to creep out his audience with a very visual picturesque storyline so that the reader feels as if they are inside the storyline. This is dark atmospheric work, gothic in tone that makes the readers question whether the events Beau experiences have more than one explanation. Neverland is a scary work written by an author soaring to the top of his game.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Couldn't put it down

    I am a huge horror fan. I haven't read a book this good in ages. I couldn't put it down, stayed up past midnight reading, yet didn't want it to end. I did wake up from a screaming nightmare last night...but isn't that evidence of its excellence?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Dark and Compelling.... a true Masterpiece!  Douglas Clegg is on

    Dark and Compelling.... a true Masterpiece!  Douglas Clegg is one of the best writers around. Although he's usually classified or viewed as horro, his writing is so unique and evocative that it's hard not to get drawn into his stories, no matter what he writes. He is a true master of the gothic novel, by which I mean gothic as written by authors such as Horace Walpole, Mary Shelley, Ann Radcliffe and Edgar Allan Poe.

    In "Neverland," he beautifully portrays the carefree summer days of childhood and no one can do this quite like he can. But underlying it all is a menacing sense of dread and gloom, quite like real childhood, when the things you don't understand and the obscure symbols of the night, can overshadow the sunniest and happiest of days.

    With a unique and compelling voice, Doug Clegg draws you into the story and the lives of Beau and Sumter, as inevitably as a dream from which you can't awake. This is dark suspense at its finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Disturbing!

    I could not finish this book. There was so much anger and evil. Every time I put it down I had difficulty going back. Such a disturbing story. I have to wonder what kind of mind could think up such a story. I cannot under any circumstances recommend this book to anyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Omg

    Ithe title sounds like everwild series which i would recomend:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    NOT WORTH THE TIME

    This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. The characters were weak, the story was weak. Don't waste your time!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book for adult or teen?

    I felt like I was reading a book written for a teen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2