Customer Reviews for

Nevermind

Average Rating 5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NEVERMIND- The album for a generation

    Nevermind is without any doubt the greatest album ever made. 3 virtually unheard of musicians making 13 sublime tracks. From the opening riff to the chartbusting song Smells Like Teen Spirit through to the sad acoustic Polly and finishin with an angry, volatile Kurt destroying guitars in the hidden track Endless Nameless. This album is a must for everyone who likes rock music. The first time you listen to this album you will be hooked. Happy listening. R.I.P Kurt Donald Cobain

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nirvana ruled

    Nirvana was the band that brought me into the world of punk-rock. Before Nirvana, nothing stands out in my mind. When this world lost Kurt, they lost a true hero. Kurt was my hero. He understood what it was like to be a teen, he knew how we felt, what we went through, how much of our pain is overlooked in today's society. He knew how we, so different, yet so alike, could come together over the bond of music. He just knew. I'm not religious, but if there is a God, let him watch over Kurt's soul. And may he rest in peace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best albums in history

    PURE CLASSIC. though some may say it shows too much of the mainstream side of Nirvana, this is a masterpiece. Nevermind has defined the world of grunge and given it a name. standout tracks include In Bloom, and Breed. if you like something a little more obscure, I suggest you check out their next album, In Utero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Ever!

    this album could qiute possibly be the best Grunge album of all time. if you go up and down the list you see that all the songs are just phenomenally unprecidented

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is my favorite band

    This album is great it has everything from acoustic songs to brute force rock much like all other nivana albums this one is a master piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my life...

    I love this cd. Everyone who loves good rock music should buy it. Enough said...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the Moment

    For any of you rock'n'rollers out there, this is definately the album to buy before starting to pursue your career in music. A musician myself, I found that this album enhanced the way I personally think about the world. Nirvana shines in their second album. This album redefined the word "angst". If you listen to the hard edge guitar power chord in "Smells Like Teen Spirit" or the animus scream of Cobain in the end of "Drain You", can feel the feeling of real rancor begining to flow through your veins. This album is a must for anyone. Musician or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best albums ever

    "Never mind" is one of the best albums i've heard whith the hard rock songs like "smells like teen spirit" and mellow acoustic songs like "polly", this album is truly amazing.lthough somebody wrote a review saying it wasn't that good a album (im not going to say who but they did have the same name as mine which is "a reivewer" and it was not me) but it's really good.whith kurt cobain on guitar and dave grohl on drums and don't forget kris novoselic on bass i highly recomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Review...haha

    OK. This album is simply AWESOME!! It first starts off with "Smells Like Teen Spirt" a great song, good to scream to when angry or sad or anything. Then "In Bloom" another great song. If u listen to the chorus its actully making fun of the typical person who buys this album."Come as you are" awesome. the bass sounds like water and is so beautiful, followed by kurts calming voice. The line "no i swear that i dont have a gun" that sends shivers up my spine. "Breed" a overlooked song. but has alot of energy. my personal favorites. "Lithium" Outstanding. goess from calm then in your face. just wow. wow. "Polly" first song i learned to play. Is acoustic and sounds peaceful but shows another genius to kurt's writing. Just listen to the song. "Territorial Pissings" Kurts slam on society. Haha. "Drain You" a love/hate song. Thats what i think. The guitar is so catchy. everything is. awesome. "Lounge act" another one of my favorites.Its about Kurts ex Tobi Vail but remnds me of someone. He screams at the end and its just amazing. "Stay away" second song i learned to play. Is just great. The line "I'd rather be dead then cool" also sends chill ups my spine. "On a Plain" Has a poopy feel to it but the lyrics are great. Another on of my favorites. "Something in the Way" a slow sad song. about Kurts time under the bridge. (which actully isnt true) but the song is great. His voice perfectly fits with the cello. I think something in the way means that he was talking about himself. that he was in the way. really deep song.and when he says its okay to eat fish cuz they dont have any feelings is talking about himself because he is a Pisces(like me) This album was very inspirational to me althought i first heard In utero and Incesticide. Inspired me to write songs inseated of being depressed and made me pick up the guitar. do not get only for teen spirt there is so many other great songs. RIP Kurt. Kurt didn't die, just graduated from life. Empathy is a curse, so is pretending. (belive me)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Most Influential Albums Ever

    The band that made grunge popular and brought alternative rock to the mainstream, Nirvana, came out with there hit album Nevermind, and rocked the world with its originality. Since then countless other groups and songs have been influenced by this record. Nevermind begins with the hit single, “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” considered one of the top 10 best songs of all time, and spawned one of the most aired music videos ever. As this sophomore record from Nirvana introduced to the world hit singles such as “In Bloom,” “Breed,” “Lithium,” and my personal favorite, “Come As You Are,” it also brought to light the lyrical talent and artistry of the band’s lead singer, Kurt Cobain. Cobain writes with a passion for expressing his feelings unmatched by any artist today. The lyrics will grasp your full attention and make you contemplate and respect Cobain’s darker views on life. Tie all this together with the musical abilities of bassist Krist Novoselic and drummer Dave Grohl and the raw, powerful sound that Nirvana creates, and it is easy to see why Nevermind has sold more than 10 million copies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love It and GOTTA GO GET IT

    I love this CD. It is good becuase the lyrics are so intellectually placed together. This was a great band and I am depressed that Kurt comitted suicide (or as some believe was murdered). My favorite song on this CD is "Smells Like Teen Spirit."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best band ever

    Has great songs and the famous "smells like teen spirit". They truly were a great band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorites....

    Wonderful album. Unless you're a snob who is allergic to conformity, I suggest you buy this. (Even if you are a snob, you'll still love it.) Great great great. Cobain...he could do no wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NEVERMIND rocks!!

    this was the best CD i'v ever listened to ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    highly recommended

    highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Justice For Kurt

    One of the greatest albums in rock history up there with Abby Road. Kurt's lyrics and vocals are unforgettable and his spirit will live on forever. I just hope Justice can be had and his memory left untarnished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!

    this is one of my favorte nirvana cds.Just but it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dudes, This Cd Rocks!

    This album is my most prized possetion because kurts voice and the down to earth reality of the songs just gets you hoooked on them.they became more then a band to me, they became a legand and a part of my life.and hey, i'm only 13!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    6 Stars if possible

    The album that finally breaks the camel's back. Starting with the Velvets and Iggy of the late 60's, going through the 70's punk/new wave revolutions in NY, LA and London, to the underground indie rock movement of the 80's, Nevermind brings it all into the 90's with a vengeance. A true sign of its brilliance is that the album was much smarter than the hype that accompanied it. The great ones usually are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TURN OFF TRL AND GO BUY THIS ALBUM

    THIS ALBUM FROM NIRVANA IS THERE BEST EVER BESIDES PERHAPS UNP,UGGED IN NY. EVERY SONG IS ADDICTING AND WORTH LISTENING TO, UNLIKE MANY CDS WITH ONE GOOD SONG. IT BEGINS FULL FORCE WITH SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT AND ENDS MASTERFULLY WITH A SOFT MELODIC BALLAD 'SOMETHING IN THE WAY'. MY FAVORITES WOULD BE TRACKS 1,2,3,5,8,9,10,11. OMG THATS THE ENTIRE ALBUM LIKE I SAID. ONE NOTE ID LIKE TO SAY ABOUT SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT IM NOT SURE ANYONE ELSE HAS CAUGHT ON TO. IT IS A TRULY DEEP SONG IF YOU READ THE LYRICS AND THINK ABOUT IT, WHILE LISTENING TO IT. kURT REVEALS HIS DIFFICULTIES DEALING WITH PEOPLE, PRESSURE AND STUPID MIND GAMES. IN THE CHORUS WHICH IS REPEATED MANY TIMES, i feel stupid and contagious, here we are now entertain us. IF U LISTEN HOW HE SINGS IT, HE TALKS FOR HIMSELF IN THE FIRST LINE AND A CROWD OF PEOPLE IN THE SECOND. a mullato, an albino, a mesquito, my libido. IN THIS VERSE, HES REFERRING TO INDIVIDUALS AS HE CHARACTERIZES THEM, A MESQUITIO- A BLOOD SUCKING PERSON, MY LIBIDO- PERHAPS A LOVE INTEREST, AN ALBINO- WELL AN ALBINO. AND THE END LINES A DENIAL!A DENIAL! HES REFERRING TO EVERYONE AS FAKES, PEOPLE WHO DENY HOW THEY REALLY ARE. I JUST WANTED TO SHARE THAT WITH EVERYONE WHO HAS HEARD THIS SONG. ANYWAYS BUY THIS ITS CHEAP DUDES ONLY LIKE 12 BUCKS :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4