Customer Reviews for

Nevermore (Maximum Ride Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 1040 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(703)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(98)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

Fang for the girl!

Fang is much better than Dylan will ever be. It's a scientific fact

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

This boom is bad, and you should feel bad

I honestly love this series but this book was horrible
*Spoiler Alert*
I mean really?? The most they do is save Angel and fight Erasers again. There is no saving the world or anything like that. Max goes around kissing Fang and Dylan and Im happy Fax survived but it ...
I honestly love this series but this book was horrible
*Spoiler Alert*
I mean really?? The most they do is save Angel and fight Erasers again. There is no saving the world or anything like that. Max goes around kissing Fang and Dylan and Im happy Fax survived but it was just a cinstant back and forth between the two boys. At th end its literally Max,Angel, Dylan, and Fang sitting on a rock. You dont know what happens to everybody else, you dont even know if Nudge, Iggy, or Gazzy are even alive, let alone the entire human population. The first half was good but the end kills me,, is like Patterson got lazy arlt the end and just threw words on a page. Im very dissaponted

posted by Jalyce_Parks on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    This boom is bad, and you should feel bad

    I honestly love this series but this book was horrible
    *Spoiler Alert*
    I mean really?? The most they do is save Angel and fight Erasers again. There is no saving the world or anything like that. Max goes around kissing Fang and Dylan and Im happy Fax survived but it was just a cinstant back and forth between the two boys. At th end its literally Max,Angel, Dylan, and Fang sitting on a rock. You dont know what happens to everybody else, you dont even know if Nudge, Iggy, or Gazzy are even alive, let alone the entire human population. The first half was good but the end kills me,, is like Patterson got lazy arlt the end and just threw words on a page. Im very dissaponted

    24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Haha

    Okay. Haha. Very funny. Now where's the real book?

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I have to be honest and say that i was pretty disappointed in th

    I have to be honest and say that i was pretty disappointed in this book.
    I mean, it's the last book in an AMAZING series and it just didn't live
    up to the expectations I'm sure tons of people had. (SPOILERS---> DO
    NOT READ FURTHER IF YOU HAVEN'T FINISHED THE BOOK) First of all, in the
    beginning of the book, a huge deal was made about the 99% group when, in
    the end, they had nothing to do with the ending whatsoever. It just
    didn't make sense. Then, I was actually siding with Max + Dylan when
    Fang was gone because they had really sweet moments. But, when Fang came
    back I was both happy and yet sad for Dylan because he didn't get to
    fulfill what his Voice told him to do. And then, there was the bombshell
    when Angel told Max that she was the Voice all along. And that bomb
    dropped withing the last few chapters of the book. why?! i have no
    clue.... then the ending of this book was very confusing. But basically,
    Dylan, Max, Fang, and Angel survived the 'end of the world' through a
    magical development of gills... All in all this book was all over the
    place and didn't really seem to follow a specific plot... Disappointing
    to say in the least, even though all the other books were marvelous.
    This was just a let down.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Disappointing

    Read it. Books started out great. Good premise. Great characters. Neat plot lines. Then Ari comes back to life. Again. And again. Then Jeb is good. Then Jeb is bad. Again. Possible good twist with Angel trying to take ovee. Oops, it's a game. Then a possible good plot line with Fang/Maya... Dylan/Max. Then this book. **spoiler** In less than 250 pages: fang's gang splits up complete with two traitors, and Maya dead, no lead in, just bam. Need a surprise bad guy? Just bring back evil Ari again! No lead in at all. Max and Dylan romance is okay, then surprise another evil teacher, then lab burns up for no reason and they get traumatized, blinded Angel back. Big party! Trauma and blindness never mentioned again. Gang almost kills alone Fang. Why? Fang back with flock, all forgiven! Wisked off to paradise. Bad plague! Where's Jeb? Mom brainwashed but now all better! Prologue of Angel alone in the world! Oops, guess not. I am your father...i mean voice...but never gets mentioned again. Bad plague...but wait, all this save the world crap for 8 books and a surprise meteor does everyone in. Maybe. Reading this was physically painful. The author obviously wanted to be done with the series in a big way. Lets take ten promising plot lines and throw them against the wall and see what sticks.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Am I truly the only person who finds this book completely ridicu

    Am I truly the only person who finds this book completely ridiculous and horribly written?! I mean, I love all the other Maximum Ride book, but this one seems as though James Patterson just wanted to get it over with. He comes up with this huge conspiracy involving a virus, then thats completely dropped and a new, even more, ridiculous plot is started, at the END of the book. I love Maximum Ride, but the ending was beyond disappointing.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Wait what?!?!

    I LOVED the book.... Until Angel reveals who the Voice really was. After that, the was a blur. I feel like Mr. Patterson could have done a MUCH better job ending this amazing series.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Come on James P.!!! Why?

    I am soooo frustrated that James Patterson ended the Maximum Ride series with a ending that had many unanswered questions!!! In other words i didn't like the ending at all! It seemed like James P. didn't know how to finish a really great series!!! But the other books in this series are amazing!!! So if you have already read the other books in the series and you want to see how it ends, i wouldn't buy Nevermore but maybe just get it from another person or the library if you just want to read it if your curious.

    P.S. I think James P. , and I know that he has tons of other books to write and has a hard time to find room to fit in writing this book, could of added a major twist that would blow everybody ,who read the book, heads off!!!!! Also, I am a really big fan of his other books too!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Dissapointed

    I was so dissapointed on how the book turned out, I think it could of gone better. The pairing is the first thing, how Max ended up with Fang even though he broke her heart again and again. Another thing is how she kissed Dylan but then a few days later she was making out with Fang. Also how when Maya died Fang just went back to Max like nothing was wrong, and how Max just excepted him back like nothing. Also I don't think Max would want to go to school, she is against that. I also don't think Max would just be all soft and everything, she is a tough person. Also this story was confusing, how it just jumps from one thing and then just goes to the another. Another thing is how Angel turned out to be the voice but that doesn't make any sense, because Angel could of used the voice to tell Max where she was. I think this book could of been way better.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Mediocre at best, as predicted

    SPOILER ALERT: If you have no yet read the book, I recommend you don't read this review. From this point on, it is no longer my fault if I spoil the book for you. Unlike many other reviews, by people that haven't read the book yet, I read the story the day it came out. A lot of fans fail to realize that there is, in fact, more to the story than the love triangle. But in this review, I will focus on the plot. One thing that confused me, was the whole fiasco about Fang's DNA; that it held the key to immortality. First of all, isn't his DNA pretty much the same as the other members of the flock? What makes him different than any of the others? Also, I thought that Max was always the threat to the scientists- why is Fang the threat now? It didn't make sense to me. Another key confusing point: Didn't Dylan kill Dr. Gunther Hagen in the sixth book (Fang)? And now he's alive again..... It seems as though James Patterson has a problem killing off characters (Dr. GH, Ari-who let me remind you, died 3 times). That's why I was pleasantly surprised when Maya died. In all honesty, the Maximum Ride series went downhill from the fourth book, and I didn't have high expectations for the last book. There were many holes, and errors in the plot. For example, when Angel was being experimented on in the school, they tried to operate on her eyes, and then she was blind............but then she turned out to be not blind......? Also, toward the end of the book, Angel claimed she was Max's "voice". This makes no logical sense, because no Seven-year-old girl could guide someone through the streets of New York (the first book) or do any of the other complex things "The Voice" instructed Max to do. There were many other inconsistancies and plot holes, but the biggest one is yet to come. Toward the end of the book, Max and Fang were told that the 99 percent-ers were going to release a deadly and painful disease that would result in "The end of the world" and eliminate all non-enhanced humans. Then an intense wave of heat and a gigantic tsunami assaulted their tropical paradise. Max was dead (presumably the others were as well- it is uncertain because it is told in Max's perspective, and also because)..............then she was alive again. It was very confusing, especially because James Patterson left out two tiny details: WHAT HAPPENED TO THE WORLD- kind of important, and wasn't Max supposed to SAVE THE WORLD? If so, then she pretty much failed. Overall, a very disappointing end to a series. I didn't expect James Patterson to tie it all together, but I was still dismayed at the outcome. We never found out what happened to past villains and characters (The kids Max released from the sewers in book 1, Anne Walker, Dr. Chu, Brigid Dwyer). I'm not trying to discourage you from reading the book, because in order to know the whole story, you need to read it. However I'm just saying that the "whole story" isn't very good. I cannot say I was tragically disappointed, because I anticipated that I wouldn't be impressed, but still i wish it had exeeded my ecpectations. My wish was not granted.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    What a let down!!!

    This sucked!! I had so much higher hopes for this book! This is a let down!! All the Max Ride books were soooo good, now this one is a let down!! I am not happy with this!! It could've been so much better!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    ...

    Now we know what happens when amazing authors try to adjust with whats allegedly popular. DO NOT BASE THE DRAMA OFF OF TWILIGHT, PEOPLE!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    ???????????

    What? This book explains nothing. The only question answered in he entire book is that Angel is the voice, but at some point it mentions Angel having a voice, too. Who is her voice, then? And, what happens to the rest of the flock? Do they live or die? Why does Max's hand auddenly ge un-paralized in the third book if it wasn't all a dream? I thought that the last book would answer that question but it doesn't. And WHY DOES ARI KEEP COMING BACK?!?! It doesn't explain how Ari suddenly returns from the dead, evil again. James Patterson disapointed me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    SPOLILERS! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

    I am honestly dissapointed. I wanted Dylan to win. Honestly the end felt a bit tacky.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Rushed

    The book was good but everything seems rushed which i can hardly belive cause he took 6 extra months to finnish it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Dylan:(

    I rate books lower if the girl doesn't choose the guy that I like.
    I just go for the nice guy thats always by her side and there for her. Definately team Dylan.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Not what I was expecting...

    I found this book very disappointing, was expecting more from such an excellent writer. It seems to me that Patterson didn't really "know" Max well enough in the end. The conclusion was strange- random, even. If the entire series was judged based on this book, well, let's just say that the series wouldn't be considered nearly as good as it really is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Mr. Patterson latest installment in the Maximum Ride series was

    Mr. Patterson latest installment in the Maximum Ride series was a major disappointment, I think he ran out of good ideas, got extremely lazy with his writing and had to deliver a book because of a contract  and it shows. 
    A lot of loose ends left unresolved or resolved rather poorly for an author of Patterson's ilk.  Very disappointing and he also left room to come back to the series due to the aforementioned unresolved issues
    and it's simple things like did everyone survive, what happens to Dylan and his feelings if Max has decided that Fang is the one.   And another question
    Fang goes from being really intimate with Mya to losing her and running back to Max all in one day amazing even for the flock like I said extremely lazy very disappointing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Really???

    People seriously need to learn how to spell.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    This book was absolutely down right mind blowing... It kill me i

    This book was absolutely down right mind blowing... It kill me inside... Honestly this book was probably the worst out of the entire series. This will contain SPOILERS you have been warned-
    Now to the review, lets start off with the good parts of the book!
    Positive-
    It's a new book! Yay!
    A Dylan, Fang, and Max love triangle? I've always been interested with that part of the story.
    Angel isn't dead!? Heck yeah! But that's all about it...
    Negatives-
    So the Maximum gang is back but now their all fine and dandy? No mutants to fight, no need to run? While Fang gets his butt kicked? What the heck?
    The Fang gang suddenly gets disbanded all of a sudden with the death of Maya... And oh yeah Ari's back to again what the heck!? That's like that 3rd time!
    Angel is just hallucinating about her problems such as when she becomes blind... Wow...
    The voice in Max's head is actually Angel? Who knew? (Add rolling of the eyes here)
    The evil organization that wants to change the world, the challenge that Max has been training for and has gone through so many hardships for... The organization is called the 99% group... Wow...
    How does the world end? A virus? Evil mutants destroying the world? A massive weapon that they need to stop before it creates a massive explosion or disease that can kill someone in a horrifying death? JP says nope! Who in the world would say that it's okay for the world to end with a FRICKEN METEOR!? Also to top the cake off with more garbage, the group is almost dead and only Max, Angel, Dylan, and Max are alive but at the same time they're all transported to a island... With other mutants... And they have a party... *Takes a gun and shoots at self with bebe*
    This book is a true disappointment! I hope James Patterson was just trolling because other then the love triangle between Fang, Dylan, and Max, the book had no climax at all. The end of Maximum Ride is truly the end of the Maximum Ride.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Its over D:

    He rushed the ending, he could have easily made 1000 more books and u would have read them all, please make sequals. I just cant go on knowing that theres no more max books. Pldase James, please, make sequals.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3