Customer Reviews for

Nevermore (Maximum Ride Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 1027 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(697)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

125 out of 175 people found this review helpful.

Fang for the girl!

Fang is much better than Dylan will ever be. It's a scientific fact

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

This boom is bad, and you should feel bad

I honestly love this series but this book was horrible
*Spoiler Alert*
I mean really?? The most they do is save Angel and fight Erasers again. There is no saving the world or anything like that. Max goes around kissing Fang and Dylan and Im happy Fax survived but it ...
I honestly love this series but this book was horrible
*Spoiler Alert*
I mean really?? The most they do is save Angel and fight Erasers again. There is no saving the world or anything like that. Max goes around kissing Fang and Dylan and Im happy Fax survived but it was just a cinstant back and forth between the two boys. At th end its literally Max,Angel, Dylan, and Fang sitting on a rock. You dont know what happens to everybody else, you dont even know if Nudge, Iggy, or Gazzy are even alive, let alone the entire human population. The first half was good but the end kills me,, is like Patterson got lazy arlt the end and just threw words on a page. Im very dissaponted

posted by Jalyce_Parks on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Too open. For my likings, at least.

    WHAT HAPPENS TO DYLAN, GAZZY, AND NUDGE?!?!?! You aren't supposed to leave endings THAT open, JP. I'm considering making my own ending. Very unsatisfying. VERY.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    If the spelling in these reviews is any indication of the educat

    If the spelling in these reviews is any indication of the educational level of the reader, we have a problem, Houston.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Mhmm

    I dont quite know what to say in all honesty. I read this book last night and have spent all of this next day pondering over it... To be honest, im not entirely sure I like the book. The ending was unforeseen, as promised. But I also agree with all the previous comments about the book, plot, characters, and general story just being rushed. The transition was a bit off and characters such as Max, Fang, Dyllan, Angel, and finally Jeb were just kind of everywhere.
    One of my main let downs here is obviously some of the loose ends. One loose end I havent seen yet is the following: What happened to Ratchet and Holden? Fang basically left them for dead. While I may not have known of Holden that much, I'm rather fond of Ratchet. Not only them, but Star and Kate? And of course, What becomes of the rest of the Flock? There are far too many loose ends than answers.
    Along with that, I noticed some logical thinking was entirely abandoned. For example, they just randomly operated on Angel's eyes in the middle of the end of the world? Why would all the enemy Erasers die because Ari did? Why does Angel have visions? Just a few examples...

    Sorry for all he rants... but I do agree, this was my least favorite Maximum Ride book :(.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    I was disappointed

    It was ALL ABOUT fang, max, dylan, and angel. THATS IT! Nudge,gazzy, and iggy got like, two lines each! It was really poorly written. I didnt feel as into it as all the other books in the series. The ending was SO open ended! Really and truly i didnt i didnt like this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Seriously?!

    The end was just like the book Life as we Knew It. It even said Life as we knew it. It was a random ending that could have been ripped out of one book and glued into this one. Nice try JP

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don't truly praise it, but i can't say that I hate it either.

    I don't truly praise it, but i can't say that I hate it either. I still agree that after the third book in the series everything just started to head down hill from there. Granted, yes I was very happy with some of the characters and where they ended up. And yes, we all pretty much know what happens with Fang and Max.
    GRANTED, however I didn't like how things were either rushed or almost completely side swiped. I felt that the characters started to become a bit false. NO person goes through a thought or emotion like that. The characters were rushed, the plot was rushed and all in all, it truly wasn't that memorable. I rate this 3 to 4 because that is what I feel, nothing was really rememberable and there were still plot holes that were never explained. Like Max's voice, you find out who it is finally, but the concept behind it was rush, same with Dylan. His whole premise of why he was created was rushed and in this book it is all thrown out the window. For -- what how many books?-- Dylan has been pinning for Max's attention, Fang had her, lost her, and she started to have feelings for Dylan. I personally wasn't happy, but the way Patterson switched from one person to the next, bouncing back and forth between who I like, the emotions, and hell even the story plot got a little too far fetched even for me. And I am a fiction writer who is studying creative writing in college. Yes, even this pitch and plot just wasn't thought out. Compared to the first three, just like the others, I feel that he went from a great story to one that was really about preserving the environment.
    I am all for going green, but having it dominate the message of your story when it was originally about young kids escaping whitecoats and finding a place where they belong. IN a sense that is what happened, but in all honesty it should have stopped at the third book. It really should have.
    With it all I did have a good read from the book, but I literally read it in 2 1/2 hours. So that should say something too

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Great Series, But Ending Fell Short

    Overall, the Maximum Ride series was alright. I'd recommend reading it if you are like me and bored over summer. It's quite an action packed series and I adored Max's sarcastic and snappy narration throughout the earlier books.

    However, as the series progressed, Max seemed to lose that snappy charm that made her so likeable and funny. She started to turn into one of those sappy emotion-dominatred girls that I'm not particularly fond of. I missed Max when she thought with her head and was essential the loving mother of the flock that would beat you upside the head if you did something stupid.

    The last book is a big fallback on the level of excellence the earlier books displayed. The plot was rather rushed and there was minimal detail.

    The ending, although I won't reveal it, is rather ambiguous. If seems to be more open-ended, leaving the reader to decide the fate of Maximum Ride and her flock.

    In the end, I'd give Nevermore 3 stars because I find it more of a content closure to the series rather than a memorable last novel that ends a legacy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Needs Alot of Work

    PLOT SPOILERS AHEAD Ithought that overall it was a good book, but it has some major flaws. First of all, the ending makes very little sense. Max dies, speaks to the reader while shes dead, and then isnt dead after all. Also, there was supposedly going to be this big disease that was to wipe out humanity, but then all of a sudden the sky rips open? I think that Patterson couldnt think of how to end this. I thought that Ari returning was pretty cool, and also the fact that they had Angel as Maxs Voice. It makes sense, with Angels telepathy and psychic powers.
    I wish Patterson wouldve waited for this book a little more, so many things go unexplaned. What ever happened to Bridgit and Dr. Chu? It seems like they were just winked out of existence. Also, we never find out what happens to the rest of Fangs flock, Fang leaves them all, and then theyre forgotten. I thought the series was good, but it definately needed work and wasnt ready to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Dissapointed

    The plot twists were so forced.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Why Mr. Patterson?

    This book was okay. I think the last four books in this series were really rushed and I thought the ending of the series would be better. What happened to the rest of the flock? Are they dead or alive? How could he give the last book an ending that leaves you asking questions that will never br answered? Disapointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've always been a fan of Maximum Ride ever since the very begin

    I've always been a fan of Maximum Ride ever since the very beginning, but to tell to truth, the series started to go down hill after the 3rd book. Yet, it a slight comeback with FANG and ANGEL was OK, so I had hope for Nevermore...sadly I was disappointed.

    Now before I even started reading Nevermore, I was worried that the story would get stuck at an unrealistic teen romance. Now it's not the wings that make the romance unrealistic, it's the fact that Max, Fang, and Dylan are all 15 going on 16. They don't who their soul
    mate is. They are teenagers! Quit making them sounds like thirty year olds!

    Let’s get to the actual book now! At the beginning of the book, as in the very beginning, I felt as if I had missed a chunk of time, and there was little explanation about the house, the school, yada yada yada. There were multiple parts in book where I was either like
    "Alright...big chunk of info missing," or "wait! What?...that doesn't make any sense!"

    There also seemed to be quite a lot of acting out of character, especially with Max. She always was able the stand up for herself and the flock and do what she felt was needed, but in Nevermore Max would just bend to Dylan's will. She also goes back and forth from boy to boy. Kisses Dylan one day, Fang the next, which just seemed far away from her personality. Now for Dylan, I actually started to like Dylan in this book, but when he goes on his little rampage...that just seemed WAY out of proportion. Fang just seemed different. He liked Max, but then easily falls for Maya, which is strange because he's supposed to be like hard and cold, showing little emotion.

    Now I mean like I understand that Max, Fang, Dylan, and Angel are the main characters, but there was little to nothing about Iggy or Gazzy. There was a little bit of Nudge, but...ugg..Nudge there was so much messed up with her in this book, and yes I'll rant about it. Alright. First NO 12 year old should wear make up, and the way I read the book, it sounded like she had about everything just caked onto her face. Second NO 12 year should date a 15 year old! Nudge seemed older than Max!

    Also I felt there were major holes in the plot. Like what happened to Star and Kate, or Holden and Ratchet? They just seemed to go away, never to come back again. Also thing s should have been much tenser between Max and Fang. I mean I know you two like each other and all, but seriously what girl would not be furious at the guy who just left...only a note saying "I love you, but I have to leave." I would be furious and not all lovey dovey!

    And the ending just seemed "bleh!" It was boring, and confusing, and just a bad way to end it all. All in all it was a disappointment. Bottom line. If you care about finishing the series, read it as closure. If you don’t care either way, just save yourself the money and time. I did it for closure, and have closed the book of Maximum Ride for the last time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Opinions of an Average Reader

    I think it's fairly obvious that the majority of the "reviews" on this book are from before it was even published. The few after are from a bunch of crazed fans who don't pay attention to the actual literature.

    For any people who have read all the books you'd know that after the first 3 books were released the quality of the MR franchise went considerably down. After the pathetic excuse for a book (The Final Warning) which was pretty much a giant brochure for pro-environment, let's save the world through hugs, BS came the MAX series. Which was, to sum it up, another re-hashed teen romance series. The antagonists were laughable and of course Patterson had to add in another teen heart-throb to turn it into the melodrama that it is now.

    However, after actually reading it (I can't say the same for most of these other reviewers) I have to say that James Patterson recovered a bit of that story magic he had in the first 3 books. Never More was still plagued with a lot of generic nonsense and predictable outcomes seen in the last 4 books though. That world-ending, on-the-run tension made an appearance, albeit briefly. Which was MR's shining achievement in all its previous books.

    It's always a shame to see a great series crumble. I don't expect to see teachers, business men, doctors, salesmen, and all the rest of the general public with this book in their hands like I had seen in the first 3 books. Patterson lost most of his readers after the 4th installment and while this book was passable it was too little too late.

    If you're not a teenage girl and you've suffered through the series then you're in for a respite of terrible sequels. Keep in mind though, it's not a great enough book for people who did drop out after the 3rd book to join in again for the final stretch .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Needed a better ending...

    I think that James Patterson could have written so much more about their story. It feels like he just wanted to rush throuh it, just to be done with the whole plot line. I feel that he could have stretched it out for a whole new book, or at least have finished this one. He didn't explain enough about hatvhappened to Dr. Martinez, Iggy, Nudge, etc. My biggest problem is that after about the fifth book it became to much of a love story, like every other young adult book out there. C'mon folks, more action, less romance! Plus, this is just me, but I think that Max relies on much on Fang and Dylan. Thanks for taking the time to listen to my ranting!! Fly on, Sophoph2231

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    WAIT...WHAT??!!

    To be honest... this book has THE worst ending in all the maximum ride books. It just left you thing, wait,what?? My number one question is where is the rest of the flock when max awakes? I was ALWAYS team fax i mean like i know dylan is supossed to be max's "perfect other half" but dylan is just too... dylan-ish. Anyway, this book was the worst book in the whole series. No offense james

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    John H.

    I have to be honest and say that i am pretty dissapointed with this book. I mean, it is the last book in a FANTASTIC series and it just did not live up the to the expectations. *DO NOT CONTINUE READING IF YOU HAVE NOT FINISHED THE BOOK SPOILERS* Especially how it starts off with the whole 99% kill thing and it actually did not mean anything in the end. I also dont like how everyone does what their voice says and dylan just gets left out? And why would it tell us at the end that angel is suddenly the voice? Why is Ari back too? He died THREE times why bring him back now? And most of all the max/fang thing. Why would she choose fang in the end? Especially after he ran off with Maya! Dylan was faithful to her the ENTIRE time and suddenly he just gets dumped? Really? This book was a terrible and confusing ending to a GREAT series. Come on J.P!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    .

    This book was great, but I still had alot of questions at the end. I was hoping for better from James Patterson considering the fact that all the Maximum Ride books continued to keep my thoughts centered on the plot's epicness. Now my thoughts will be centered on why the book ended the way it did. Mockingjay also left me like that too...... except this was much worse.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Stupid ending ,great book

    Grrrr i hate fang. Team dylan forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Pretty good, but not as good as the others

    It was good and all, but i didnt like the ending... i know most people did, but they didnt end up telling about any one else. Only max, dylan, angel, and fang.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Uhhhhhhhhh...... what?

    James Paterson, what the heck? Scientists create a super deadly disease but you kill everyone with a fireball. I am a huge fan, but you need something like another book or a memo at the end to explain what happened. Your awesome, but the ending lacked much sense and you seemed to rush it. You may need to let us know what in the world went down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Disappointed

    I,too,loved the Maximum Ride series and waited anxiously for this final book. I am so disaapointed in you, Mr. Patterson! This could have been so much more than you gave it. And the last thirty pages was another book! I have read loads of your books and know you are a much better writer than this. I am not sorry I spent $10 to purchase it. I am sorry you weren't the biggest fan of your books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4