BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nevermore

Average Rating 4.5
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Incredible!

This book is perfection! I have so many wonderful things to say about it that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this... I LOVE Isobel and Varen, especially together. The author did such a great job that I felt Iso...
This book is perfection! I have so many wonderful things to say about it that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this... I LOVE Isobel and Varen, especially together. The author did such a great job that I felt Isobel's emotions. My heart was racing the first time they kissed and I cried when she cried, (I won't ruin it for you by saying why she was crying). The "paranormal" aspect of it was so creative and original and just so different from what everyone is writing these days. It was a bit slow going at first but once it got to that point we anticipate in all books, I couldn't stop reading. I finished in a day and have thought of nothing else since. I can't even decide on something new to read because I'm sure it won't measure up to the perfection of what I've just finished. Don't skip this book!

posted by lizzy350 on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Huge fan of Poe, not a fan of this book :(

Okay, I love Poe, Im a poet and I read him all the time so I was excited when I read the synopsis of this book. I started to read and I loved the exerts form his stories and poems then the actual plot started and wow was I BORED!..............The characters are not very...
Okay, I love Poe, Im a poet and I read him all the time so I was excited when I read the synopsis of this book. I started to read and I loved the exerts form his stories and poems then the actual plot started and wow was I BORED!..............The characters are not very well developed the environment outside of the dream world is very drab and un original. I think the author felt required to write in a similar style as Poe but with a modern twist and for me it was just over written and far long for how slow the story was..........If the book was shorter then the plot might not of seemed so slow but I could barely finish the book..................The idea was original and I enjoyed it but how it ends is ridiculous! I know they are leaving room for a second one but I wont be buying it...................The romance is very immature and over done in dramatics for nothing to happen at all. They kiss once and the rest of the book is spent whining and following a mystery that frankly didnt reveal anything spectacular in the end. Most mysteries are supposed to shock you in the end or at least make you feel your effort in reading it wasn't wasted........................This book left me wanting more but not in a "I cant wait for the next one!" way. I wish I could of been better because Poe was one of the greatest writers of all time but sadly I think only the ignorant will enjoy this book. Because if you know of Poe or have a deeper literary knowledge this book will leave you with regrets!

posted by Mai_Tai121 on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Incredible!

    This book is perfection! I have so many wonderful things to say about it that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this... I LOVE Isobel and Varen, especially together. The author did such a great job that I felt Isobel's emotions. My heart was racing the first time they kissed and I cried when she cried, (I won't ruin it for you by saying why she was crying). The "paranormal" aspect of it was so creative and original and just so different from what everyone is writing these days. It was a bit slow going at first but once it got to that point we anticipate in all books, I couldn't stop reading. I finished in a day and have thought of nothing else since. I can't even decide on something new to read because I'm sure it won't measure up to the perfection of what I've just finished. Don't skip this book!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fresh and unique YA paranormal debut!

    I love it when I come across a book that seems completely unique. It is hard to find a good paranormal YA book that is not about Vampires, Werewolves, or Faeries. Not that I am saying that I don't love books on these subjects but I think we can all agree there are a lot out there right now. Nevermore is fresh and new. I also love books that pull in real historical events to serve as a backdrop for paranormal events. It makes the story seem more realistic.

    Isobel Lanley: perky, blond, cheerleader
    Varen Nethers: mysterious, dark, goth

    The simple laws of the high school class system says that they can never be friends, but when they are paired up for an English project they are forced to work together. Varen and Isobel are not the only ones who are upset by their pairing. Brad, Isobel's boyfriend waists no time putting Varen in his place and Lacy is not to fond of Isobel spending time with her boyfriend either.

    Despite their initial aversion to each other, both soon discover an attraction hiding beneath the surface. The closer that Isobel and Varen become the stranger their lives become. Soon Isobel is being followed, watched and visited by various beings who seem to be sending her a message, "Stay away from Varen Nethers." Despite their warnings Isobel falls hard for Varen. When he vanishes before her eyes Isobel ventures into the dream world Varen created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life in order to save him from a fate that seems inevitable. Choices are made, lies are told, and Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined.

    Be prepared for a cliffhanger ending this one is a series! I simply could not put this one down. Kelly Creagh's debut is enticing, exciting, and nerve racking. And it's all balled up into this fresh take on the mystery that surrounds America's first master of horror, Edgar Allen Poe.

    Interesting tid bit: I love the cover art for this book but I was surrprised to find that when the book arrived Varen was missing the lip ring shown in this picture. He has one in the story and on most cover art you find online but on the actual book it has been removed. Weird!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I want ever more of Varen and Isobel!!!

    If you are a fan of Poe's dark and dreamy landscape of the imagination, you will fall into this novel with both a sigh...and eventually a scream. Kelly Creagh does a fantastic job (in her first book yet! You go, girl!!!)of creating a realistic picture of high school life with its dangers of both fitting in and not fitting in while simultaneously penning a spookily surrealistic world of whispers and creatures seen only from the corner of the eye. I've noticed that some of the best YA paranormal lit of the last few years are the ones with great guy characters (i.e. Hush, Hush's fallen but redeemable Patch, Bleeding Violet's crazy/sexy Wyatt, Beautiful Creatures' loyal and romantic Ethan, Wicked Lovely's awesomely awesome Seth (did I mention he was AWESOME?!), and the upcoming (9/21) The Replacement's otherworldly (seriously) Mackie...and, of course, that Edward guy. But somebody's gonna have to do some serious creatin' to beat Nevermore's wondrous and winsome Goth, Varen Nethers. I mean, does the picture on the front of the book not paint his Gothic-y, smart-but-maybe-troubled-boy in all his dark Princelyness? Great cheekbones, interesting nose, even Isobel mentions his lips, a suggestion of a cleft to the chin, and all that black hair...which becomes even more attractive when we learn he dyes it - why...maybe to indicate that the innocence of that blonde boy in the photo has long ago been destroyed. One trip to the beautiful Victorian house and a meeting with his drunken and abusive father shows Isobel and the reader all we need to know about beautiful facades covering the rottenness within. For all the "dark and dreary" of this Poe inspired novel, there is deeply felt romance between the odd couple pairing of smart but withdrawn (and pretty much universally feared as some sort of vampire)Varen and the blonde but no dummy Isobel. The family dynamics of both kids are well layed out, that swift revelation of Varen's showing us all we need to know about his psyche whereas Isobel's habit of arguing with her little brother and her dismissal of his game-playing just shows how normal her family is in contrast...and little bro does come through eventually. Also the whole popular crew showing themselves as a violent, vandalizing pack when everything doesn't go their way pretty much fuels the fire of Isobel's growing interest in Varen. If you're not a fan of Poe's 3M's - misery, melodrama, and melancholia - don't worry because there is humor, too. Isobel can be very snarky in her internal dialogue - "Mr. Creepy McCreepers," and her efforts to fit in with other less popular cliques after she's ousted from her old pack are funny and tragic simultaneously. Poe and his tales and mysterious death are just the engine behind this book...he's the matchmaker, you might say, along with the English teacher who puts Isobel and Varen together on their project to write about a dead American author...right before Halloween. The last quarter of the book is where the real creepiness ensues as both the characters (and the reader)are submerged into a nightmare world from which everyone can't return. And if you know your Poe, you shouldn't be surprised that the ending leaves you...hoping and praying for an immediate - if not sooner - sequel. Loved it enough to read it in one evening and cannot wait for book 2.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    So Far So Good...

    Okay, so I read the synopsis for Nevermore a week before it was released and I was hooked. So I went to buy the book on Saturday. I've been reading since then and I'm pretty fast at reading, so I'll be done tonight-maybe. In my opinion, Kelly Creagh has done a fantastic job at writing this book, and for some reason, (even though I'm not a big fan of cheerleaders) I am super excited to see what happens in the end with Varen and Isobel. And (for your information) I never heard of Edgar Allen Poe before reading this book, so I'm gonna tell the fans of this amazing poet, that its not a book that COMPLETELY revolves around him. Poe IS included in this book for projects and events, but the story isn't completely about him. BUT THAT COMMENT ISN'T SUPPOSE TO STEER YOU AWAY FROM READING THIS BOOK! It is a VERY, VERY, VERY great novel that I will definintely be wanting and waiting for more!! So please try this book out--IT IS SOOOO WORTH IT! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Really Good but Confused at the End

    Okay first of all I will say that I LOVED this book at the first. Then it went down hill for me. In the dreamworld I didn't really understand what happened. Plus there better be a squeal or I'm going to come up with one of my own. Where Reynolds dies and we don't have to hear from him again. Also, I didn't like Varen in the dream world, I wished he would have fought harder to free himself and be with Isobel. Other than that, I thought Kelly did a great job writing it and Pray that there will be a second book. So then we can get an answer to all of our questions.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quoth the Raven, Forevermore! I was very pleasantly surprised b

    Quoth the Raven, Forevermore!

    I was very pleasantly surprised by this book! It's an intriguing premise that I truly hope the author explores further. I was most surprised that the truly original "poe-esque" world was found in a YA novel. I would love to see this concept on a larger, or even darker, scale. What gets trite about YA novels is the teeny-bopper, school-aged mean girls and love triangles, where the hardest decision the character ever has to face is what to wear to a school dance. I found those elements to be minimized in this book, and I applaud the author for letting the fantasy elements be the star here. While it's not the most tightly written or unpredictable of reads, it was original enough to hold my interest and leave me reaching for the sequel. Well done!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Huge fan of Poe, not a fan of this book :(

    Okay, I love Poe, Im a poet and I read him all the time so I was excited when I read the synopsis of this book. I started to read and I loved the exerts form his stories and poems then the actual plot started and wow was I BORED!..............The characters are not very well developed the environment outside of the dream world is very drab and un original. I think the author felt required to write in a similar style as Poe but with a modern twist and for me it was just over written and far long for how slow the story was..........If the book was shorter then the plot might not of seemed so slow but I could barely finish the book..................The idea was original and I enjoyed it but how it ends is ridiculous! I know they are leaving room for a second one but I wont be buying it...................The romance is very immature and over done in dramatics for nothing to happen at all. They kiss once and the rest of the book is spent whining and following a mystery that frankly didnt reveal anything spectacular in the end. Most mysteries are supposed to shock you in the end or at least make you feel your effort in reading it wasn't wasted........................This book left me wanting more but not in a "I cant wait for the next one!" way. I wish I could of been better because Poe was one of the greatest writers of all time but sadly I think only the ignorant will enjoy this book. Because if you know of Poe or have a deeper literary knowledge this book will leave you with regrets!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to par...

    When I saw this book, I had high hopes for it. Being a huge Poe fan, I was excited to see a teen book that dealt with one of my favorite authors (who's work you don't see included in very many teen books). So I was disappointed when I actually read the story. The language is wonderful and all, and it has great snidbits of Poe and other greats, but the plot was lacking. I felt like I'd read this before, somewhere else in the teen section, in some other book with different character names and a different title. The plot could have been so much better, and with the writer's style it would have been great, but...more of a pop fiction that's been done than an original story.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    A New Favorite!!

    Nevermore is a rare find in books. This book has been bumped up to one of my favorites, and I cannot wait for the sequel. The cover alone is amazing and just makes you want to pick up the book right away.

    I do not know where to begin with how AMAZING this book was. The character development was top notch. Both Isobel and Varen were completely believable both as human beings and as high school students falling in love. While this book is Paranormal, it is not overtly obvious like other Paranormal books are. With Kelly Creagh's touch of Poe, there is a Gothic touch to this novel, but at the same time it is very much set in reality.

    In the beginning of the book Isobel comes across as your typical cheerleader, but she also shows how she is not just any typical cheerleader. What I liked best about Isobel's character was how much she grows. Isobel finds herself having to stand up to people that can danger her "popularity", and she does so without second thought. At the same time, she shows how typical she is in being a teenager - sneaking out of her house while she is grounded.

    Varen is also very unique. He puts up a front that he is aloof to everyone's gossip about him being a 'vampire' and dark and scary. But you find that he is affected to some degree by it all.

    The plot of this novel was also top notch. Of course with book being over 500 pages you are given quite a few events, but the plot does not skip around. You are actually given a very detailed plot, but not overly detailed. I was on the edge of my seat during this entire book. I couldn't wait to read what would happen next. I felt for both characters, was frustrated by them, but I also understand the decisions they made. I think that Kelly Creagh did an AMAZING job in her first book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Jake

    Here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Perfect

    Favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Beautiful

    When I went to the library, I grabbed the wrong book- I meant to grab a different book besides this book. That being said, this was the best accident ever! This book gave me a different look at Poe's works. I suggest this book to anyone who loves Poe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Love the concept of this book - pairing a goth with a preppy che

    Love the concept of this book - pairing a goth with a preppy cheerleader. I devoured this and its sequel "Enshadowed" in two days. All I have to say is that this Isobel better get her man by the end of "Oblivion". Varen and Isobel will consume you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Dark and sad

    The second book was good, but it didn't match the intensity as the first (at least, until the end). The ending was brutally sad, but necessary. This book helped put the pieces that were missing from the first book (greatly appreciated) together to understand this world that Varen is now in. A very good read, but dark and sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    cool , but -

    THis is good but itisa sequal!! Ugh, and I wont read the other, too stressfull. This one was good though, hard to follow at times as I don't know Poe that well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Liked the story. Maybe alittle to much!

    Loved the whole story but it could have a better ending. Just saying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    OH MY POE!

    Wow! This book took my breath away! I love Poe and I loved Varen. The cliffhanger killed me. I can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Fantastic

    This book had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I loved Isobel and her feelings toward Varen that have yet to be descovered. It made me look at the world a whole new way. This is by favorite book. Trust me whem I say I have read a lot of books. This is by far the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Amazing. Absolutely amazing.

    This is one of the greatest young adult novels I have ever had the pleasure of reading, and believe me when I say that I've read a lot. The story is enthrawling. A page turner. And incredibly original. I would reccomend this to absolutely anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22