Customer Reviews for

Nevermore

Average Rating 4.5
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Incredible!

This book is perfection! I have so many wonderful things to say about it that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this... I LOVE Isobel and Varen, especially together. The author did such a great job that I felt Iso...
This book is perfection! I have so many wonderful things to say about it that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this... I LOVE Isobel and Varen, especially together. The author did such a great job that I felt Isobel's emotions. My heart was racing the first time they kissed and I cried when she cried, (I won't ruin it for you by saying why she was crying). The "paranormal" aspect of it was so creative and original and just so different from what everyone is writing these days. It was a bit slow going at first but once it got to that point we anticipate in all books, I couldn't stop reading. I finished in a day and have thought of nothing else since. I can't even decide on something new to read because I'm sure it won't measure up to the perfection of what I've just finished. Don't skip this book!

posted by lizzy350 on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Huge fan of Poe, not a fan of this book :(

Okay, I love Poe, Im a poet and I read him all the time so I was excited when I read the synopsis of this book. I started to read and I loved the exerts form his stories and poems then the actual plot started and wow was I BORED!..............The characters are not very...
Okay, I love Poe, Im a poet and I read him all the time so I was excited when I read the synopsis of this book. I started to read and I loved the exerts form his stories and poems then the actual plot started and wow was I BORED!..............The characters are not very well developed the environment outside of the dream world is very drab and un original. I think the author felt required to write in a similar style as Poe but with a modern twist and for me it was just over written and far long for how slow the story was..........If the book was shorter then the plot might not of seemed so slow but I could barely finish the book..................The idea was original and I enjoyed it but how it ends is ridiculous! I know they are leaving room for a second one but I wont be buying it...................The romance is very immature and over done in dramatics for nothing to happen at all. They kiss once and the rest of the book is spent whining and following a mystery that frankly didnt reveal anything spectacular in the end. Most mysteries are supposed to shock you in the end or at least make you feel your effort in reading it wasn't wasted........................This book left me wanting more but not in a "I cant wait for the next one!" way. I wish I could of been better because Poe was one of the greatest writers of all time but sadly I think only the ignorant will enjoy this book. Because if you know of Poe or have a deeper literary knowledge this book will leave you with regrets!

posted by Mai_Tai121 on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Really Good but Confused at the End

    Okay first of all I will say that I LOVED this book at the first. Then it went down hill for me. In the dreamworld I didn't really understand what happened. Plus there better be a squeal or I'm going to come up with one of my own. Where Reynolds dies and we don't have to hear from him again. Also, I didn't like Varen in the dream world, I wished he would have fought harder to free himself and be with Isobel. Other than that, I thought Kelly did a great job writing it and Pray that there will be a second book. So then we can get an answer to all of our questions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quoth the Raven, Forevermore! I was very pleasantly surprised b

    Quoth the Raven, Forevermore!

    I was very pleasantly surprised by this book! It's an intriguing premise that I truly hope the author explores further. I was most surprised that the truly original "poe-esque" world was found in a YA novel. I would love to see this concept on a larger, or even darker, scale. What gets trite about YA novels is the teeny-bopper, school-aged mean girls and love triangles, where the hardest decision the character ever has to face is what to wear to a school dance. I found those elements to be minimized in this book, and I applaud the author for letting the fantasy elements be the star here. While it's not the most tightly written or unpredictable of reads, it was original enough to hold my interest and leave me reaching for the sequel. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Love the concept of this book - pairing a goth with a preppy che

    Love the concept of this book - pairing a goth with a preppy cheerleader. I devoured this and its sequel "Enshadowed" in two days. All I have to say is that this Isobel better get her man by the end of "Oblivion". Varen and Isobel will consume you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    cool , but -

    THis is good but itisa sequal!! Ugh, and I wont read the other, too stressfull. This one was good though, hard to follow at times as I don't know Poe that well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Liked the story. Maybe alittle to much!

    Loved the whole story but it could have a better ending. Just saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Tovone who answered me

    THANKYOU, I will definitly have to buy it. Oh yeah, thankyou again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Wow

    I'm not a big poe fan but the dreamworld that this author creates is amazing bringing something new to the supernatural world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Not your average supernatural romance

    In this age of "pick a monster any monster" lovestory, "Nevermore" is a breath of fresh air. While the romance may be a touch cliched (the popular girl falls for the goth kid much to the dismay of their peers! High school is so full of drama), the supernatural element is such a creative breath of fresh air. Kreigh constructs an amazing dreamscape, and the final confrontation will ruin any manicure, guaranteed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Love

    I loved this book. I liked Isobel, and she made me laugh. I loved Varen and thought the author did great with the romantic chemistry. The side characters were good, as was the paranormal aspect. Go for it :) can't wait for the sequel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Very different

    It was hard for me to get into this book. Once I got through the first chapter or two, I was hooked. The character development & dynamic was excellent. Typical high school behavior mixed in with the "old world" I'm also very intrigued by Poe now & started reading some of his works. I can't WAIT for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Good read

    This book is good but the ending does not make sense unless the author writes a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    hope to be more

    this was a very interesting book it got confusing at times but overall was really good, I am pretty sure the auother will be making more books to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Was pretty good

    I just finished reading this book and while it's not one of my favorites I will read the next one when it comes out. In all honesty Isobel made me a bit angry at different parts of the story. Mostly in the beginning when she just came off as kind of dumb. Once the story got further along she seemed to get it a bit more, but there were times when I picked up on things in the book WAY before she did. I took to Varen right away though. I didn't really get how they went from becoming friends to bam now they are romantic. I got it from her side since that is what you mostly see but wasn't even sure he was falling for her until the last 3 pages and the epilogue, and then I picked up on it. Over all, the very end has made me want to read the next one, now that I get he is falling for her also. I'm a sucker for a good romance. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Awesome

    Very good book, but i really hope that their story continues

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Very good

    It's an amazing book but just a warning.......the ending kinda sucks andmakes you very very impatient for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Needs promoting

    This book is awesome, but it needs to get more popular...so people need to put stuff on facebook or something, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Like

    First off I really like this book. Varen and Isobel are interesting main characters. The cover's good. Once I started reading the book I couldn't put it down. but halfway in the middle of the book, I wondered how many more pages were left to read. It is a long book. Near the end it got a little confusing but was still good. I still liked the book and liked the Poe references. Definitely recommend you read Nevermore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Nevermore... ok

    This book is pretty good. It is incredibly intense and can be confusing at times--not that that's a bad thing. however, after a while I just wanted to find out what happened to the characters, and the ending was a little weird.. but overall a good buy. I would recommend this with the knowledge that you won't be able to put it down! And I will definately be buying the sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    ive always loved poe

    i will be reading this series, thats a given. i almost passed it up and im glad i didnt. i will say i hope varen never changes, growth is fine, but his goth edge is so refreshing. reminds me of a boy i would have dated in high school. . and since i am a poe lover it makes me hope this will introduce others to his amazing works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Just okay for me....

    I really wanted to love this book. The reviews looked so promising! I just never really got hooked... don't think I'll be reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4