Customer Reviews for

Neverwhere

Average Rating 4.5
( 679 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(391)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Changed my mind

Before reading Neverwhere I would never have called myself a 'fantasy' fan. I was almost turned off from reading this based on its classification. I am so happy I did read it though. It's turned into one of my favorite books. It pulls you out of reality while you read i...
Before reading Neverwhere I would never have called myself a 'fantasy' fan. I was almost turned off from reading this based on its classification. I am so happy I did read it though. It's turned into one of my favorite books. It pulls you out of reality while you read it and suddenly you are in another world. The characters are great and the plot is brilliant. I have now read every book by Neil Gaiman and I love them all. He recently did a book signing that I attended and all I could do was thank him for being a writer. I would say the age range for this book should be 14+. A couple scenes are graphic with adult themes. Neverwhere turned me on to the fantasy genre. It's worth a read.

posted by DeDeFlowers on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Had potential but...

I'm REALLY surprised this book got so many positive reviews? Did we all read the same book?? The plot and most of the characters were interesting but it was boring. It was slow and the author neglected to address why there was a London Below, how Richard even got there,...
I'm REALLY surprised this book got so many positive reviews? Did we all read the same book?? The plot and most of the characters were interesting but it was boring. It was slow and the author neglected to address why there was a London Below, how Richard even got there, why the London Below people have powers and some didn't, etc. I mean the book wasn't necessarily "bad" but it definitely wasn't good at all. It had potential but fell flat.

posted by 8240224 on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Quite Strange

    Perhaps I am not used to this type of literature (about the "underworld") - wanted to stop reading it because of the peculiar story line, yet finished it after all. ODD story, peculiar writing style ....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For an adventure out of the dull routine of everyday life

    I thought this was an okay story. Yet, I found no romance or true connection to the characters. They just had a story and went through it. Some of the scenes are totally random but interesting. I hate the main character - Richard. He's a wimp, selfish and a whiner. Door is very cold and doesn't really express much except for constant focus on revenge. So it was a creative but kind of heartless story. Although there is a realization of wanting more in life in the end - that's about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Neverwhere is a story that, in my opinion, does one thing wrong

    Neverwhere is a story that, in my opinion, does one thing wrong every time it does something right. To start with, the story's heroes are (again in my opinion) uninteresting. Richard Mayhew, one of the four main characters, is meant to be an average man in an average life. While, this character has been done before with success, the success is from a unique characteristic such as an obscure skill or hobby. Richard's obscure hobby is that he has Troll dolls. This would work, if he owned these dolls by choice or because he bought them for a person who passed on. Instead is because it started as a bad joke in his department, and Richard never did anything with it. The other hero, Door, has a backstory that is, while tragic, uninteresting out of sheer unoriginality. Our two main recurring villains, Mr.'s Croup and Vandemar, have no rhyme or reason to them. There is very little consistency in their characters, and will often swap moralities with each other. They act as a Bonnie and Clyde partnership, if Bonnie and Clyde wore suits, and weren't intimidating. Them aside, the plot is quite complicated and, while genuinely interesting and the best part of the book, is poorly paced in some sections. Richard Mayhew is out on a date with his fiance when he sees a homeless girl bleeding to death in the streets of London. Not long after helping the girl, Richard's fiance breaks off the engagement, and everything is suddenly turned on its head. Richard suddenly seems to be non-existent, as future tenants do not notice him when they are shown his apartment by the manager. Richard finds out the homeless girl's name is Door, and they go through several adventures within the London underground, a world that has often been compared to Alice in Wonderland, and does deserve the comparison in several respects. There are several rules that come with the changes in Richard's life that seem to be consistent only when they want to be. One instance is that Richard and Door can't be seen or heard by normal people, yet Richard's ex sees Richard when he gets just a little too close to her personal space. I know this review seems like I just smashed this book with a baseball bat, but if you read the book for yourself, you might not actually have a problem with some of these and will likely have a different opinion. In my opinion, this book has flaws, very, very, obvious flaws, but I still find myself enjoying the world this book creates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Enjoyable read.

    Overall, this was an entertaining story. I found the writing style hard to follow at times, but didn't mind so much once I became invested in the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    This is Gaiman┬┐s bizarre explanation of what happens to people w

    This is Gaiman’s bizarre explanation of what happens to people who fall between the cracks. Gaiman tends toward the dark side but not overly so. Except in what happened to Anaesthesia on the Night’s Bridge. I still don’t understand why he did that. The rest of the book is journey into a strange shadowy that exists on the fringe of ours but you can’t see it because you haven’t fallen between the cracks and you should pray that you never do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A very offbeat type of story that is historical ( old London )yet almost a sci fi type of genre. A bit hard to follow at times but really challenges one's imagination. I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    A Little Gem Of Creativity

    I really enjoyed the world Gaiman created. The main character is not your typical hero and the others keep you guessing. I would recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Enjoyable & entertaining

    I love Gaiman's writings. His books are very imaginative. Would like to see what happens next in this story . . .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Slow, confusing start, gets much better at the end.

    I decided to read this book on a whim because I like some of Neil Gaiman's work and I have to say I am conflicted.
    It starts out very slow,and drags a little bit, it doesn't seem to have a good idea of where it wants to go.
    However around the half way point it gets better, you become invested and care about the characters.
    If nothing else I kept reading because I cared, and because I cared I was rewarded with a decent ending, I know that I will go back and reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3