Customer Reviews for

Neverwinter (Neverwinter Saga #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

15 dollar ebook?

Hardcover is 13 something online but the material less ebook is more expensive? Time to return my nook tablet. Anyways.

Book series is awesome. I have re read the whole series multiple times. Cant wait to finish this one. If you havent read the whole Drizzt series dont...
Hardcover is 13 something online but the material less ebook is more expensive? Time to return my nook tablet. Anyways.

Book series is awesome. I have re read the whole series multiple times. Cant wait to finish this one. If you havent read the whole Drizzt series dont start from the Neverwinter series!

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Nook price is too expensive

You can buy this book for $7.59 on a kindle yet barnes and noble who is supposed to have the largest book section compared to amazon is selling the nook version for twice as much at $15.00????

If i continue to see this trend i will trade in my nook tablet for a kindle ...
You can buy this book for $7.59 on a kindle yet barnes and noble who is supposed to have the largest book section compared to amazon is selling the nook version for twice as much at $15.00????

If i continue to see this trend i will trade in my nook tablet for a kindle fire.

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Nook price is too expensive

    You can buy this book for $7.59 on a kindle yet barnes and noble who is supposed to have the largest book section compared to amazon is selling the nook version for twice as much at $15.00????

    If i continue to see this trend i will trade in my nook tablet for a kindle fire.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Overpriced Ebook

    Book is available for $7 something, and B&N is charging $15 for the Ebook..?

    So much for the nook.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    15 dollar ebook?

    Hardcover is 13 something online but the material less ebook is more expensive? Time to return my nook tablet. Anyways.

    Book series is awesome. I have re read the whole series multiple times. Cant wait to finish this one. If you havent read the whole Drizzt series dont start from the Neverwinter series!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Rip Off

    Why is this book so expensive? I bought the Nook hoping the books would be cheaper, i guess it might be time to get rid of this device and just buy paperbacks again.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Couldn't put the book down...

    I finished this book in two days, it was that good. R.A. Salvatore was already my favorite author of all time but if its possible, he became more so. And the sad part of it is, I read this book feverishly not for Drizzt but to hear the greatest assassin in the realms finally called by his true name. That being said, Salvatore didn't disappoint me in any aspect of this novel, all points were finely written and my hat is off once again to Mr. Salvatore

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I was excited to read this book and was not disappointed. Great Read!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Action, Adventure and a better than ever Drizzt!

    I have to admit, I was pretty rough in my review of Gauntlgrym. Neverwinter has lots of action although a little slow in the beginning. I am not a Forgotten Realms expert, so I found myself frequently looking up the types of characters that are in the book (tiefling,malebranche, etc). That is my only complaint and it is a small one. I feel that Mr. Salvatore addresses the many complaints longtime fans had about Gauntlgrym concerning Drizzt. I left this book satisfied about the present and looking forward to the future. I miss the Companions, but I am eager to read about the new friends and alliances Drizzt develops. Long Live Drizzt :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastic Drizzt Novel

    Neverwinter is an excellent addition to the long-lived Legend of Drizzt series of books. Not only does it adhere to the look and feel of the Forgotten Realms, but you can see the action-packed scenes play out in your mind simply by reading R.A. Salvatore's descriptions. As a book, it's got a great storyline that develops very well from beginning to end. As a Dungeons & Dragons novel, it reads like a series of RPG adventures. There's definitely something in here for everyone including excellent fantasy fiction, more adventures in Forgotten Realms, and more importantly, the continuation of the Neverwinter series as Drizzt fights against the opposition.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    $6.83 on the kindle

    And book 4 the last threshhold is only $9.78 for kindle compared to $14 something for nook

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps getting better

    It’s best if you read Gauntlgrym before diving into this one. Lots of events are referenced to the previous book and the story is continuous.

    Again, this book does not disappoint the typical Drizzt fan. I really like how his character is developing so far. There are moments throughout the book where I too, feel the loss of his previous closest friends but yet these new experiences Dahlia is introducing to him is also welcoming.

    I really am liking Dahlia as a character. In a sense, it’s nice to read how both her and Drizzt are bringing out these changes within each other as they’re both different in personality and very different on their views and opinions. I also have to admit I also like the romantic tension between them, it was inevitable and although she’s definitely not as fun loving as Cattie-Brie, but there’s something very likable in Dahlia. The way she fights, her sly sneaky ways, and who can not comment about her sultry vampy qualities as well?

    The plot in this book was well done. There’s a lot of intrigue and backroom planning and plotting. I really enjoyed the story with Barrabus the Gray. I wasn’t expecting that little twist but it was really fun to read! The other story arc, with Sylora Salm was also really good and the ending as usual with R A Salvatore, is fantastic and makes you want to read the next book in the series.

    The action scenes in this book is the same, but as always, it’s wonderful to read and can be easily pictured. Salvatore’s writing doesn’t change but his characters do - and that’s a great thing. I loved the ending it does leave room for more questions but now it seems Drizzt will be on another adventure to help an ‘old friend’ out.

    Definitely recommended for Drizzt fans. The plot in this series just keeps getting better and better. Everything is changing, but I think it’s for the better in this series. Let’s hope it never stops!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Nice second in this series

    I really enjoyed this book. I was sorry the companions had to end but, I think we will get a new group with ArtemisEnteri, Dahlia, and I bet Jarlaxle comes back into picture. I am looking forward to the next book and see where it leads.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superb action!

    This book is so action packed and it may not be famous but if ever you should give it a chance you won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Don't like it.

    don't like it. Don't like the new character or the new land of the dead. Sorry. I love most of Salvator's work.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Not impressed

    Sorry, but it's definitely time for this series to die. The writing is sophomoric.

    The last series I actually liked from Salvatore was "The Sellswords". Since then it really feels like he's just trying to complete a contract and get a pay check.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    He's back baby

    All hail the gray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great Action, light on plot

    I have been a fan of the Drizzt series for years, and have kept up with all of the books. Before reading this installment, I had been growing somewhat tired of the story lines. I was surprised by this book however.

    My main complaint is that the story seemed to pass very quickly. The main travels seem a bit directionless for much of the novel. Go to Luskan, get into a battle, go over here, get into a battle, then at the end they seem to remember the ploy of "Oh Hey, we don't like Sylora Salm, so they go to battle her and her evil forces. Just very jumpy with a quick conclusion.

    That may make it seem as if I did not like the book on the whole. But I will admit the action was great. The battles did keep me turning pages and I finished this book over the course of a week because I did have fun reading about the action. And the best part of all is Barabbus the Grey. Many fans guessed who he was quickly in the last book. His character is really the center of this novel. Much of his personality is revealed and his motives and desires are made known. This book touches on a bit of Drizzt past while taking the characters into a new future. At the end of this novel I find myself hoping the next novel in the series will take what was done well developing Barrabus, Drizzt, and Dahlia and keep it moving forward. I hope they add more than just revenge in the next book, but I am making the purchase for Barrabus and hoping to see more of him in the future!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Lots of surprises!

    You'll have a "new" favorite character in this one! lol... New? love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Salvatore does it again.

    I thought gauntlgrym was a real low point in the series and i was sure that drizzt was about to be killed off. Im interested to read thr third book in this series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Always a great read

    Another great. Wish they would develop a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Thanks B&N!!

    So earlier I wrote a review on how the price of the nook book was higher then the hardcover, and by the next day the price dropped! Needless to say I'm insanely happy with the book because Salvatore is amazing, and also with B&N for listening (or just coincidence, either way its awesome).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6