Customer Reviews for

The New Atkins for a New You: The Ultimate Diet for Shedding Weight and Feeling Great

Average Rating 3.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

SUCCESS, SUCCESS, SUCCESS!

My husband and I went on the Atkins some years ago when Dr. Atkins' original books came out. They were some 'technical' reading and not an easy read, which left them easily misinterpreted by the lay person. It was an overload of information for most people. We did howev...
My husband and I went on the Atkins some years ago when Dr. Atkins' original books came out. They were some 'technical' reading and not an easy read, which left them easily misinterpreted by the lay person. It was an overload of information for most people. We did however, succeed tremendously on the diet, not only losing weight, but lowering cholesterol and improving overall health and energy levels.
This book is much simpler and yet has all the pertinent information in it. It leaves out much of the very technical aspects and sometimes confusing verbage. It includes some new findings, which make the diet even easier to use. A very "user friendly" book that answers many of the questions people may have about the diet without getting carried away. Simple answers for simple concerns.
This book takes a less rigid approach and simply states the requirements, along with the rationale for having them. Very objective in its presentation without a lot of hype. (doesn't read like an advertisement) And the best part? IT WORKS.
My daughter could never wade through the other books on Atkins and sort it all out, so she continued to remain skeptical. She read the first part of this one in one setting and is on her way! (first part explains it all and makes a believer of you - second part is the meal plans, etc.)
If you are really into the history and validity of this diet, and are a discerning reader, I would recommend, in addition, the original Atkins books, written by the man himself. They are extremely "educational". To simply use the diet and be a "success story" yourself, stick to "The New Atkins For a New You" - it will do the job!
I personally find the history of the whole thing fascinating and am excited that it is finally having some of the respect it deserves!
And if you do buy the book, be sure and use the connected web site - it is all free and an easy way to track your progress, find more recipes, etc. It is given in the book. www.atkins.com

posted by 3810083 on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to the future: Low-carb diets increase cancer risk

I was a strict Atkins follower for a number of years and lost 50 pounds. I am 56 now and was diagnosed with stage two colon cancer two years ago. I bought this book to see if there any new information, and went to my oncologist doctor who flipped out when he heard I am ...
I was a strict Atkins follower for a number of years and lost 50 pounds. I am 56 now and was diagnosed with stage two colon cancer two years ago. I bought this book to see if there any new information, and went to my oncologist doctor who flipped out when he heard I am back on Atkins.
He told me that processed meats increase colon cancer risk. I googled it and found it to be true in many studies. I can't believe what I' ve done to my health.
I am in remission now, but I do not know if years of following Atkins led to my cancer as I do not have any family history. Be aware and learn from me.

posted by PhyllisLA on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SUCCESS, SUCCESS, SUCCESS!

    My husband and I went on the Atkins some years ago when Dr. Atkins' original books came out. They were some 'technical' reading and not an easy read, which left them easily misinterpreted by the lay person. It was an overload of information for most people. We did however, succeed tremendously on the diet, not only losing weight, but lowering cholesterol and improving overall health and energy levels.
    This book is much simpler and yet has all the pertinent information in it. It leaves out much of the very technical aspects and sometimes confusing verbage. It includes some new findings, which make the diet even easier to use. A very "user friendly" book that answers many of the questions people may have about the diet without getting carried away. Simple answers for simple concerns.
    This book takes a less rigid approach and simply states the requirements, along with the rationale for having them. Very objective in its presentation without a lot of hype. (doesn't read like an advertisement) And the best part? IT WORKS.
    My daughter could never wade through the other books on Atkins and sort it all out, so she continued to remain skeptical. She read the first part of this one in one setting and is on her way! (first part explains it all and makes a believer of you - second part is the meal plans, etc.)
    If you are really into the history and validity of this diet, and are a discerning reader, I would recommend, in addition, the original Atkins books, written by the man himself. They are extremely "educational". To simply use the diet and be a "success story" yourself, stick to "The New Atkins For a New You" - it will do the job!
    I personally find the history of the whole thing fascinating and am excited that it is finally having some of the respect it deserves!
    And if you do buy the book, be sure and use the connected web site - it is all free and an easy way to track your progress, find more recipes, etc. It is given in the book. www.atkins.com

    57 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    An easy read to better health

    At 275 pounds at the start of July, I decided it was time to change my eating habits. I picked up my 2002 version of the New Atkins Revolution book and started reading it. I also went to the Atkins.com website and discovered a wonderful forum community that I visit each day to communicate with others living this lifestyle. Much to my surprise I discovered throughout the years more research and studies had been performed and I was now suppose to eat more vegetables than I previously thought, not near as much protein. I took the knowledge from both sources and have now dropped 76 pounds, am eating healthy whole foods, and I am never hungry or lacking energy.
    The great thing about this NEW book is it brings all the information past and present into one easy read. Written so everyone can understand the process and the science behind this program. If you are overweight and truly want to do something about it, buy this book and start a new lifestyle. Don't believe the hype throughout the years about low carb dieting being the death of us all. My doctor told me as far as he knows nobody has every died from eating to many vegetables and reasonable amounts of protein. I have the blood work to prove it. Pick up this book and change your life! You will find the NEW YOU.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Atkins (if you like it)

    I have had success in the past with Atkins and the new book includes lots of information for following a good, low-carb diet of quality protein and carbohydrates. It does include vegetarian or vegan diet options as well that are well organized and not an afterthought or add-on. Atkins is not for everyone but for those of us who are the most successful with the low carb diet, this new book has lots of motivation from success stories, as well as simple explanations of what works and why for people like me. The menu plans are doable and consist of normal food. The book includes advice on eating out and recipes for those of us who like to play in the kitchen.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    ATKINS FOR A NEW YOU

    I HAVE SEVERAL OF THE OTHER ATKINS BOOKS, BUT BY FAR I LIKE THIS ONE THE BEST. IT IS BETTER ORGANIZED,EASIER TO LOCATE INFORMATION AND SEEMS TO ME TO BE MORE THROUGH IN CONTENT. IT IS GREAT FOR THE BEGINNER ATKINS PERSON BECAUSE IT EXPLAINS MORE CLEARLY THE PHASES OF THE DIET AND HOW TO DO THE BEGINNING PHASE.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    TO: Angry Atkins Users.

    The only reason someone would not support this is if they cant handle dieting and low carbs oh and PhyllisLA i read your review they noted if eating processed meat be careful not to buy anything with add sugar and nitrates this diet is not meant for processed meat it is meant for natural wholesome cooking (HINTS: them putting low fat meats like turkey, bison and venison)and to getting all your veggies and fruits and protein while limiting your carbs then slowly adding them back to figure out which ones make you personally gain weight so you know which ones to avoid or eat much less of. If you want this diet to work follow it to the T it will work and look at the ingredients on the package for help.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Best Atkins Book Yet

    Even if you already own one of the older DANDR books, you should read this book. It has updated guidelines and is well laid out in an easy to understand and logical format. I learned so much new information from this updated version. Had tried Atkins in the past without much success. This new approach, focusing primarily on vegetables and eating a well balanced diet of whole foods (no processed flours, sugars, etc.) makes sense on so many levels. I am very glad I purchased this updated book. The plan is easier to follow, healthier, eliminates cravings, and is more effective. If you want to lose (or even maintain) weight and stabilize blood sugars, lower blood pressure, and improve lipids, I highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I LOVE ATKINS, AND IT WORKS!!

    Someone had given me an old copy of the Atkins Diet from back in 1990's, and I was using that. I really liked it also, but this new one is more inspiring, I believe. It's easy to read and understand, and the website is free and very helpful, to go along with it. You can ask them any questions you have and they are extremely supporting and helpful. While you are getting this THE NEW ATKINS FOR A NEW YOU --- be sure and get the
    JOURNAL to log in each day and write down what you eat. You can do that online, too, but a drawback of only doing that online is that your paperback journal is handy and you can go back and view what you had in the past at anytime night or day without turning on your computer.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    The New Atkins For A New You----A Great diet for helping you feel great!

    This book is very informative and explains how our food choices affect ;ur energy,work and athletic performance. This diet is very specific and lets the reader know exactly what needs to be done. In Phase 1 you will find out what to eat and how your choices will determine weight loss. Next you learn how to keep the weight off through lifetime maintenance. What I like is the fact that you learn what you can eat out in the real world. I became aware of the fact that carbohydrates and sugars are the culprits in weight gain. By eating protein you will gain energy and will not feel hungry between meals.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Great addition to the Atkins library!

    Well thought out and planned, This book addresses everyone who may be considering Atkins. It is written in a way to make the plan easy and accessible.

    With all the veggies and ways to go about doing Atkins, It is a good first read for anyone new to the plan.

    For me a seasoned Atkins eater, It is a welcome addition to my Atkins library with updated research and guidelines to allow more flexibility while eating perfectly on plan!

    A MUST READ for anyone who has struggled with weight or wants to improve their health!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Lifetime Way of Eating

    I was 22 years old when I first utilized the Dr. Robert C. Atkins "Diet Revolution." I lost lots of weight and kept it off for years. Since that time, when the diet was mislabeled as dangerous, much has been discovered about low carbohydrate diets and this book "The New Atkins for a New You", not only redoes the diet, it explains the science behind the health benefits and weight loss. The Doctors who have compiled and organized the information in this informative book have done Dr. Atkins proud, as well as themselves and all of the others involved in its developement. If you want to lose weight in a healthy, enjoyable sustainable way, get this book, follow the plan, and you will not be disappointed.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

    LOVING THE ATKINS BOOK & DIET!!!! 3 MONTHS AND 30 POUNDS GONE!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    New Information

    Even if you've read previous books on Atkins, this one seems to motivate and renew your interest and motivation. It brings you up to date on the "good carbs" and how they work to help you lose weight. It encourages healthful eating as opposed to the "meat, butter, cheese" concept of Atkins. A great resource and weight loss tool.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Helpful Book

    My husband and I enjoyed this book and the information in the book works. I know his diet plan has been around for years, but it is the first time I have followed the plan and it is working for both my husband and me. The book spells out the details of what to do and if you follow the plan, you will get results. The book is clearly written and we are glad we purchased it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    Atkins is Awesome

    The Atkins Plan is how I have eaten since 2002. I've participated on the online forum for some time, so wasn't surprised by the updates in this newest Atkins book. This is how I've been eating for several years now (I'm in maintenance.)
    This is a much-needed update and will be useful to everyone - whether you've been on Atkins for years or are just thinking about starting. I encourage anyone who is thinking about starting Atkins to use this book - and also come join the Atkins Community forums. The combination of great information and support from others in various stages and with various experiences can make all the difference.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, makes Atkins understandable and easier.

    This book is great, I recommend anyone considering low carb eating to read it. I lost 91 pounds doing low carb. I went from 5'5" 260 pounds to 169. I had more energy, and I never felt hungry. However after an unexpected death in my family and depression filled with eating loads of bad food I gained back to 205. This was not due to the Atkins lifestyle. I have recently went back to doing Atkins and this book makes it so easy. It explains so much information and helps combat some of the symptoms of restarting a low carb lifestyle. I have already went back down to 194 after implementing the teachings in this book. I plan on using it as a way to learn how to get to my goal of 130 pounds, and how to keep it off. This is a great book! It helps clear up a lot of misconceptions about Atkins.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    A great read

    Lost 7lbs in 7 days with renewed energy.. give it a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    The New Atkins for a new you

    I like the recipes throughout the book, I try one each day. It's a great read and the I must admit it makes so much sense. I have been doing Atkins for 3weeks now and I have NEVER felt better. I've had Arthritist for 25 years and after only 3 weeks I don't take any medication for it NOT even a Panadol!!!

    I'm off my Blood Pressure Tablets as well. It feels so surreal to think that this has happened in only three weeks, if at all!!!! My Husband can't believe it! and I'm so thrilled.

    The other amazing thing is, I never crave food anymore. This is a first ever!!!! Why was this hidden all my life....why arn't Doctors taught to look at the other side of the coin. People like me would have been so much better off.

    The other thing is, I have never enjoyed so many greens in my life. Right there is a major Bonus. I'm so happy I read the book and put into practice what I read. Thank you Dr Atkins

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Ive tried Atkins before..

    This is easier to follow and a much better read. I think anyone with a george foreman grill or basic cooking skills could have great success with this lifestyle change.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    A great new approach to dieting

    No matter what you try, a reducing diet is always hard . This new Atkins helped me very much . I am a male senior over 65 and keeping my weight low also keeps my blood-pressure low .I had to do something that worked .To loose 30 to 35 lbs is very hard ,with this new book I am half ways there .Thank you Doctors .I feel good now and will feel great when I reach my goal . M.W. Tuch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Crystalfrost

    Cool!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5