BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The New Atkins for a New You: The Ultimate Diet for Shedding Weight and Feeling Great

Average Rating 3.5
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

SUCCESS, SUCCESS, SUCCESS!

My husband and I went on the Atkins some years ago when Dr. Atkins' original books came out. They were some 'technical' reading and not an easy read, which left them easily misinterpreted by the lay person. It was an overload of information for most people. We did howev...
My husband and I went on the Atkins some years ago when Dr. Atkins' original books came out. They were some 'technical' reading and not an easy read, which left them easily misinterpreted by the lay person. It was an overload of information for most people. We did however, succeed tremendously on the diet, not only losing weight, but lowering cholesterol and improving overall health and energy levels.
This book is much simpler and yet has all the pertinent information in it. It leaves out much of the very technical aspects and sometimes confusing verbage. It includes some new findings, which make the diet even easier to use. A very "user friendly" book that answers many of the questions people may have about the diet without getting carried away. Simple answers for simple concerns.
This book takes a less rigid approach and simply states the requirements, along with the rationale for having them. Very objective in its presentation without a lot of hype. (doesn't read like an advertisement) And the best part? IT WORKS.
My daughter could never wade through the other books on Atkins and sort it all out, so she continued to remain skeptical. She read the first part of this one in one setting and is on her way! (first part explains it all and makes a believer of you - second part is the meal plans, etc.)
If you are really into the history and validity of this diet, and are a discerning reader, I would recommend, in addition, the original Atkins books, written by the man himself. They are extremely "educational". To simply use the diet and be a "success story" yourself, stick to "The New Atkins For a New You" - it will do the job!
I personally find the history of the whole thing fascinating and am excited that it is finally having some of the respect it deserves!
And if you do buy the book, be sure and use the connected web site - it is all free and an easy way to track your progress, find more recipes, etc. It is given in the book. www.atkins.com

posted by 3810083 on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to the future: Low-carb diets increase cancer risk

I was a strict Atkins follower for a number of years and lost 50 pounds. I am 56 now and was diagnosed with stage two colon cancer two years ago. I bought this book to see if there any new information, and went to my oncologist doctor who flipped out when he heard I am ...
I was a strict Atkins follower for a number of years and lost 50 pounds. I am 56 now and was diagnosed with stage two colon cancer two years ago. I bought this book to see if there any new information, and went to my oncologist doctor who flipped out when he heard I am back on Atkins.
He told me that processed meats increase colon cancer risk. I googled it and found it to be true in many studies. I can't believe what I' ve done to my health.
I am in remission now, but I do not know if years of following Atkins led to my cancer as I do not have any family history. Be aware and learn from me.

posted by PhyllisLA on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, makes Atkins understandable and easier.

    This book is great, I recommend anyone considering low carb eating to read it. I lost 91 pounds doing low carb. I went from 5'5" 260 pounds to 169. I had more energy, and I never felt hungry. However after an unexpected death in my family and depression filled with eating loads of bad food I gained back to 205. This was not due to the Atkins lifestyle. I have recently went back to doing Atkins and this book makes it so easy. It explains so much information and helps combat some of the symptoms of restarting a low carb lifestyle. I have already went back down to 194 after implementing the teachings in this book. I plan on using it as a way to learn how to get to my goal of 130 pounds, and how to keep it off. This is a great book! It helps clear up a lot of misconceptions about Atkins.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great Book, Great way of life

    I love this book, I am not a big reader and was concerned about reading enough of this to follow the diet. However this book is set up in a way where you can access the information you want to when you need to. Also the diet is a lifestyle change and after the initial 2 weeks of changing habits you can really taylor it to your needs and preferences. Love it, highly recomend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Desperately Trying To Make a Comeback

    Another lame attempt to gain market share. This will probably flop like the 2007 book The All New Atkins Advantage.

    Beware of their products recommened too. Their claim in not FDA or USDA approved.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Save Your Money

    This is redundant information. Recycled over and over.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I went on Atkins and lost 100 lbs in 10 months.  As some have sa

    I went on Atkins and lost 100 lbs in 10 months.  As some have said about  processed foods causing cancer.  YES, process foods do 
    cause cancer because of the nitrates. You can do this diet but use fresh foods. Not processed. I lost that weight 8 yrs ago and have 
    stopped following it and gained back 35 lbs. So I am going back on it.  My blood work from my physical is so great that my doctor said to
    keep it up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    A big help

    I found the original Atkins Diet Revolution book to be well founded but hard to understand at times. This book is very easy to understand. Plus it helps me visualize the path I need to take, if I want to maintain a healthy weight. The first book inspired me, but didn't help me commit.

    I wish that some of the recommendations had carried over, such as: avoid nitrates & go for organic. But being able to drink caffeinated coffee is a big plus! The authors recommend (often) that you read the book as a whole, not stopping after you're current with your step. That means that you read about yummy things that you can't eat yet. That's the only problem I have with this book.

    Low-carb isn't for everyone; I favor individualized nutrition planning. For me, however, my skin has improved, a heart fluttering has decreased (with my weight loss, of course), and my bank account is bigger b/c I don't have to buy ever-larger clothes. My body just starts to feel and work better when I cut out the carbs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    A great read

    Lost 7lbs in 7 days with renewed energy.. give it a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    The New Atkins for a new you

    I like the recipes throughout the book, I try one each day. It's a great read and the I must admit it makes so much sense. I have been doing Atkins for 3weeks now and I have NEVER felt better. I've had Arthritist for 25 years and after only 3 weeks I don't take any medication for it NOT even a Panadol!!!

    I'm off my Blood Pressure Tablets as well. It feels so surreal to think that this has happened in only three weeks, if at all!!!! My Husband can't believe it! and I'm so thrilled.

    The other amazing thing is, I never crave food anymore. This is a first ever!!!! Why was this hidden all my life....why arn't Doctors taught to look at the other side of the coin. People like me would have been so much better off.

    The other thing is, I have never enjoyed so many greens in my life. Right there is a major Bonus. I'm so happy I read the book and put into practice what I read. Thank you Dr Atkins

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Ive tried Atkins before..

    This is easier to follow and a much better read. I think anyone with a george foreman grill or basic cooking skills could have great success with this lifestyle change.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    A great new approach to dieting

    No matter what you try, a reducing diet is always hard . This new Atkins helped me very much . I am a male senior over 65 and keeping my weight low also keeps my blood-pressure low .I had to do something that worked .To loose 30 to 35 lbs is very hard ,with this new book I am half ways there .Thank you Doctors .I feel good now and will feel great when I reach my goal . M.W. Tuch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Crystalfrost

    Cool!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Sonic Boom

    Cool story! Am I in it? :3

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Skylanders: A New Beginning Chapter 2

    "What? Closed?! No!" Zap was spazing out. "Zap! Zap! Quit being a spaz!" I was a little frenzied, too. Flameslinger walked up. "It might not be closed." "What do you mean?" Zap was calming down a little. "Watch." Flameslinger drew an arrow. I thought he was gonna shoot the door, but Stealth Elf kept me from doing anything. She whispered, "Trust him." Instead of pulling the flaming arrow back on the bow, he put out the flame and slipped the arrow between the door and its frame. He kicked the door and it busted open. Flameslinger turned back around and bowed to the applause. He took his place next to his girlfriend, Hex. "Good job, soldier." I said to him. To the army, I gave them their orders. "Alright, from what I can see, there is a basement, an attic, and a large main floor. Life and Water will travel up to the attic. Air and Fire to the basement. Earth and Tech to the far side of this room. Undead and Magic will stay here. Don't take on any thing you can't handle. If it's too dangerous or if it's valuable Move out!" (Hey, Hawk here. Just a heads up, the next chapter will be split between Chop Chop, Stealth Elf, Flameslinger, and Terrafin.)

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Don't know where to begin but want to lose weight?

    Do Atkins. Lose weight without starving. Eat well. Keep it off. Feel better. Look better. Have better health. Prevent nasty disease. Do Atkins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Nonfunctioning ebook

    I just bought this book as an ebook and it continues to return to the same pages over and over. It is very frustrating and a waste of money!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Atkin's

    It madr me lose all my wright

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    I found this book patronizing and insulting to the reader. Dr.s

    I found this book patronizing and insulting to the reader. Dr.s Phinney and Volk have written a wonderful and challenging book -"The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrates in not mentione in New Atkins and there is no real discussion of the science at all.
    The argument is the discredited "Calories in /Calories out and Atkins works because the fat contentkeeps you fuller so you eat less calories. Phinney proved in his earlier book that this was not the case.
    If you want o understand why low car diets work read anything by Gary Taub and "The Art and Science of Low Carboydrates by Drs Phiney and Volk. I was so disgusted by this book I threw it in the recycling bin around page 50

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    I just want to add that what this book says about the consequenc

    I just want to add that what this book says about the consequences of eating a diet that is high in carbohydrates is true. I have tried all the high carb diets and done it conscientiously  with the result that little by little the pounds have gone up, in zig-zag fashion, not down. If the doctors are right about that, they must be right about their diet! What all of the previous readers have written is so encouraging! This morning I committed myself to the Atkins way of eating. I will cook all our meat myself, thank you, Phyllis. Thank you all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Sample is just an advertisement.

    I don't know why they call this a book sample when it is simply an ad for their system anda plea for those who previously gave up to come back. How about giving some genuinely useful information that shows what the book can do for the reader. So far I am convinced there is a lot of reading here and little of it useful.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13