Customer Reviews for

The New Best Recipe: All-New Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

wonderful

Absolutely the best cookbook ever!

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book is a must-have!

This is one of the best cookbooks I have ever used. It's truly the 'dictionary' of cooking. Whenever I am not quite sure how I would like to prepare a cut of meat I go right to the Best Recipe and find the very best way. It's easy to use and has good illustrations...I l...
This is one of the best cookbooks I have ever used. It's truly the 'dictionary' of cooking. Whenever I am not quite sure how I would like to prepare a cut of meat I go right to the Best Recipe and find the very best way. It's easy to use and has good illustrations...I love it! A great gift for any new cook.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    MUST-HAVE

    This is the only cookbook I use. It's well written, entertaining and I know that if I follow the instructions given, my final product will be a success!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    my cooking bible

    This is by far the most useful, helpful cookbook i have ever used. I learned to cook just by sitting down with it and reading through the descriptions of the tests they did on each recipe. If I could give it 6 stars I would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    wonderful

    Absolutely the best cookbook ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    This book is a must-have!

    This is one of the best cookbooks I have ever used. It's truly the 'dictionary' of cooking. Whenever I am not quite sure how I would like to prepare a cut of meat I go right to the Best Recipe and find the very best way. It's easy to use and has good illustrations...I love it! A great gift for any new cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    It's all in the title, 'The Best Recipe'

    We are still using 'The Best Recipe' first edition, and love it. However our son & his new bride have purchased 'The New Best Recipe' and have been immeadiatly sucsessful in all their endeavors. We have all purchased the 'Best Recipe Grilling & Barbeque Cookbook' and this past summer our backyard was the place to be for supper. These books will be enjoyed by people who love to cook and entertain, and want first rate results, the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    This is my go-to cookbook for everything. Some other general coo

    This is my go-to cookbook for everything. Some other general cookbooks may include more recipes, but the quality and thoroughness of this book's recipes is outstanding. I appreciate that the writers always describe the qualities they're hoping to achieve in each recipe (e.g., extra-chewy chocolate chip cookies). You may want different qualities, but at least you know what you're dealing with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Love this book - explains why recipes work or don't

    My job for Thanksgiving was to make everything except the turkey. My sister was using this book to cook the turkey, so I decided to follow instructions for making gravy from it also_ it was the BEST gravy ever.
    I decided to get it for myself for Christmas :). It explains why the ingredients work and why certain things/steps/ingredients/combinations work. I enjoy knowing the "science" of cooking, so I think it is great. It's great for beginners and experienced cooks alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Best of the best

    .Wife says it is everything a cook book could be..outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    Perfect gift for novice cook!

    My grandmother gave me this cookbook several years ago, and it has become my go-to guide. I have been a terrible cook for years, but by simply reading the explanations and following these recipes I have discovered several wonderful dishes I can make without hurting myself!

    I would imagine it would be useful even for cooks who know what they're doing, but I can only speak for cooks at my level, and for us, this book is a godsend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Great Book

    Cooks Illustrated does a fabulous job of presenting great cooking tips and easy to follow recipes. They have a wonderful variety and all of the recipes that I have tried have been a success - recipes that I want to cook over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    Fantastic Book!

    I am a person who enjoys cooking, but uses whatever I have on hand, and uses the "it looks about right" measuring method. I wasn't sure I would like this book, but it has really improved my cooking! These recipes are great for mostly easy meals, even with 2 kids. The techniques are what sets this book apart. Learning how to do things the "optimal" way really makes the food stand out, and can easily be applied to other recipes and cooking styles. Nothing in here is too fancy, but rather standard meals done amazingly well. I highly recommend this, even if you've been cooking for years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    The Last Cookbook You Will Ever Need

    Great book for the aspiring cook and for veterans. Many different recipes that include the failures and pitfalls of the varied tests tried on every single entry. Includes tips for kitchen equipment and techniques used in the test kitchen. I find myself going back to this book again and again, absolutely no shortage of great food in this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    An absolute must for cooks and those that love to read about cooking

    All-time, my favorite, most treasured cookbook. If I could only have one, it would be "The Best Recipe"

    I bought the original many years ago, and spending ~$30 on a book was a serious splurge for me. It's definitely been worth every penny. I read, use and reference "The Best Recipe" the most of any of my cookbooks. It has helped me become a better cook and I've enjoyed making many, many recipes from its pages.

    One of the best and most unique features of this book is the write up (typical of America's Test Kitchens) which explains how the team arrived at the ingredients and methods used in any particular recipe. As a beginning cook, this book helped teach me a number of different techniques and methods. Now with more experience (and the glut of recipes easily available on the internet), I often read "The Best Recipe" first, and then apply their findings to other recipes that I'm trying out.

    I've given this as a gift to cooks of all experience levels, and it's always greatly appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Great cook book with lots of explanation.

    This book is great, especially if you want to know the absolute best ingredients to use (ie full fat vs. low fat vs. fat free sour cream) and how different ingredients will change the taste and texture of the dish. My only real complaint is that there are not more illustrations, and that it doesn't tell you at the beginning of the recipe how long it will take to prepare and cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    The only cookbook you'll need

    This has long been my favorite cookbook for everyday use as well as for gift giving for birthdays, weddings, and bridal showers. It truly has the best recipies for everything from chocolate chip cookies, to beef stew, to apple pie. Very easy to read, follow, and use for a beginning cook or an accomplished home chef. A great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Best cookbook

    It is my new favorite cookbook. Every recipe I have tried has been a huge success and i have given several to friends who love to cook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    BEST COOKBOOK EVER!

    We love this cookbook! Almost didn't consider it due to its size but it is the best cookbook we have ever had. It even has taught my husband to cook. It is like the "Consumer Reports" of cookbooks. Contains everything from basic to exotic dishes Since we got one for ourselves we have bought several more as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    A must have cookbook

    This is just a great all around cookbook. they tell you all the ways they tried a recipe and why the one listed is the best.
    Fun to read just to get ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The BEST recipes, but no color photos

    This publisher tests literally THOUSANDS of recipes, products, etc. before approving it, and everything I've tried from this (and their "Cover and Bake" book) has been amazing. They also have detailed explanations of how they arrived at the final version of the recipes. The only down side is there are no color pictures. Any pictures they do have are drawn and helpful for understanding, but the book is just not glitzy to look at. Again, the recipes turn out great, but I like to see a picture before I try something, so in that sense, it's disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Replacing many of my other cookobooks

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this cookbook. It has everything you need. And, the best part is, it truly is already the best recipe, and you don't have to doctor it up later. Everything I've made in this cookbook has had rave reviews. BUY IT! DO NOT PASS UP! I also love The Best Light REcipe as a companion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2