Customer Reviews for

New Clues to Harry Potter: Book 5: Hints from the Ultimate Unofficial Guide to the Mysteries of Harry Potter

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Okay

    This book was okay but some of the theories were really...odd. Like them saying James and Lupin switched places before Voldemort killed James and Lily so Lupin actually died and James is still alive, but in Lupin body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Awesome!

    When I read this book, it was easy to understand the subtle hints and figuring out the clues myself was cooler than just reading about how the author figured out the clues. The whole point of the book was to figure out the clues, so why were people saying they hated the book because they actually had to do some work!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    You'd be a muggle to think that they're over-analyzing these books

    I know that several have said that this author is over-analyzing the Harry Potter books. However, if you have already read the first 5 books, you will notice yourself (if you read EXTREMELY carefully) that J.K. Rowling has quite the talent for foreshadowing and dropping hints and clues in the most unlikely of places. It is because of this that Galadriel has written these books for addicts like me and I would like to say here that it is her books that have made me such an addicted Harry Potter fan. THESE ARE NOT KIDS BOOKS ANYMORE!!! All those willing to seek out these clues BUY THIS BOOK! IT IS MOST DEFINITELY WORTH IT!!!! (You do, however, have to make sure that you've read their first unofficial guide, or else you will not understand a word of this book!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Good Yet Those People Just Might Be A Little Crazy...

    I liked this book a lot. It has a lot of interesting theories that had be burying my nose (yet again) in the HP books, looking for missed clues. However, I thought some of their ideas were really far-fetched (i.e. James and Lupin switching places before Voldemort murdered James and Lily, so Lupin really died and James is in Lupin's body. Firstly, JK Rowling already dismissed this rumor. Secondly, if Lord Voldemort knows all things that go on around him, like knowing when someone lies, then wouldn't he know if it wasn't James?). Also, I thought some of their theories were messed up, when I thought the truth was sort of obvious. But, overall, it's a great book and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Not for the weak of heart!

    This book is even more fun that the first, because now it's your turn to sniff out the red herrings and clues. The warning cannot be stressed enough though, this is nothing like the first book. Nothing is spelled out for you, which is almost half the fun. The second meeting of the HP Super Sleuths is in session!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    A little dissapointing

    Not nearly as good as The Ultimate Unnoffical Guide to the Mysteries of Harry Potter Books 1-4. It was rushed out and is missing the detail of the first Guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2004

    YES!

    New Clues to Harry Potter: Books 5 was an awesome way to get the fans involved. Being the biggest HP Fanatic in the school, I got this at the first B&N I saw it at, and fell in love with it! It was a little frusterating at first to have to go searching for the answers, but now I recognize that that was the whole point of the book, to see the info yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Great book!!!!

    This is a GREAT book.I like a lot a parts of this book, but my favorite has to be the fact that they show all the cute Ron and Hermoine moments. We all know they are going to get together,(JKR said so many interviews) and this make you see the reasons why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    This Book Is Good, Not Great

    This book is very interesting and pointed some things out to me that got me going on some Harry Potter theories. But there are some clues that just aren't informative enough and-for me at least, difficult to decifer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Some hints strangely missing...

    I liked the book, these authors seem to go into great detail about even the smallest of things. However, it seems that they're biased about 'facts' they seem to have already made their minds up on. In the first 'Unofficial Guide' they include any and every tiny miniscule clue they can find about an impending Ron/Hermione relationship, but there are sooo many clues pointing toward a Harry/Hermione impending relationship in all books, especially book five that they don't give the tiniest mention to. I find that extremely odd and more than a little biased. I think if they are to give credence to small clues, they should for the big ones as well. There were so many insinuations in book five you'd have to be blind not to see them, and this new version of the 'Unofficial Guide' conveniently addresses NONE of them, choosing to completely skip over any part that might suggest this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    Arrgh!

    I love this book and I hated it at the same time! It made me think, which was good, but I was doing my thinking late at night, which was bad. It was really fun to puzzle through all the clues I missed. (P.S. Did you notice anybody missing from Mrs. Weasley's boggart? hmm...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    A wonderful book

    the last book, the ultimate unofficial guide to the mysteries of harry potter; an analysis of books one and four, is a great book and keeps you waiting for more harry potter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1