BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

New Comprehensive A-Z Crossword Dictionary

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Comprehensive A-Z Crossword Dictionary

This Dictionary is fantastic for helping solve crossword puzzles and to help people in situations who may need to use various spelling words in their every day vocabulary and paperwork.

posted by beeman on May 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Every crossword noodler needs one

I have been doing crossword puzzles for years and this book has helped me keep my hair and lets me shine when all is said and done. The only problem I have is that because of the constant use of this book, I need to buy a new one every year or so because it comes apart...
I have been doing crossword puzzles for years and this book has helped me keep my hair and lets me shine when all is said and done. The only problem I have is that because of the constant use of this book, I need to buy a new one every year or so because it comes apart at the binding. However, considering its daily use, I am glad to buy it when it comes apart.

posted by Lynn2 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This Is Great for the Price

    I find this to be a great crossword puzzle dictionary. The only better reference is "The Million Word Crosswor Dictionary" which is a phone book and extremely comprehensive. If you don't want too much, this is the book.

    Tony Schneider

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    New Comprehensive A-Z Crossword Dictionary

    This Dictionary is fantastic for helping solve crossword puzzles and to help people in situations who may need to use various spelling words in their every day vocabulary and paperwork.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    The Best Paperback Crossword Dictionary

    I've had other crossword dictionaries, but this is by far the best one to use. This is my second copy as the first one fell apart from so much use. (After 7 years).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    An Outstanding Resource for Crossword Puzzle Devotees

    This Crossword Dictionary is the best I have used. I highly recommend it. Tom

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    Crossword puzzle substitute words for new and intermediate users

    Very easy to use and interpret for the novice and moderately advanced crossword puzzle solvers. New words added since the last edition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Very Useful

    Easy to use and well organized. Often has the answer to the crossword clue. It is a paperback - the first copy we had fell apart from frequent use. It was worth it to buy another copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Every crossword noodler needs one

    I have been doing crossword puzzles for years and this book has helped me keep my hair and lets me shine when all is said and done. The only problem I have is that because of the constant use of this book, I need to buy a new one every year or so because it comes apart at the binding. However, considering its daily use, I am glad to buy it when it comes apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    comprehensive and recommended for crossword puzzlers

    This is by far the very best book for people who do crossword puzzles. I have worn out three of them in the past year and a half. I could not comlete a puzzle without this book! I have bought several crossword books trying to find a good one, but I always go back to the A-Z Crossword Dictionary. There is none better and I wasted my money on the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    The best crossword dictionary for many years.

    I found a new hardback in the 1970s. I have bought many of this particular dictionary over the years. I know that the paperbacks do fall apart after awhile but feel that it might be time to do the dictionary in two parts. This would make it better to use and less likely to loose the pages. This is the 'Bible' for the crossword buff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Great book but pages fall out

    I use my A-ZCrossword Dictionary every day. It is a great reference book but the pages fall out. I have had three and no matter how careful I am with the book I have had the same problem with all of them.It would be nice if this problem could be eliminated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Great reference book falls apart

    I use this A-Z dictionary every day along with the Million Word dictionary. I have owned three of the A-Z books ( 2 of this edition and one of the previous ed). The binder has broken on every one of them. The book is so good I buy it again. what a pain!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Great!!!

    Very good, completely user friendly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    Great book

    This crossword dictionary is excellent... The only drawback I found was that it only comes in paperback. It is cumbersome. I would love this book in a hardback, if it wasn't too expensive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Recommend for a crossword lover

    Great Condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I think its as good as any other crossword dictionary.

    couldn't possibly work the puzzles in the newspaper without a dictionary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    New Comprehensive A-Z Crossword Dictionary - HARDBACK

    The print is smaller than in the paperback version! Also, print is very light making it even harder to read. Need a large print version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A to Z Crossword dictionary

    This is the best dictionary that I have found to help in working difficult crossword puzzles. It has an amazing amount of answers and places them in such a way that they are easy to locate. I am an avid puzzle worker and so this book has become my bible for that task. I may not know all of the answers but this little book allows me the ability and the availablity to find most of the answers that I need to complete the puzzle without using online services.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Terrific Book

    I had purchased this book for my mother, loved it so much I had to get one for myself. It's a great resource to use when in doubt on crossword puzzles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great Word Research Book

    I had an original A-Z Crossword Dictionary that eventually fell into three pieces, but it was filled with such wonderful information, I didn't want to throw it out. It's nice to have an updated copy. My husband and I are avid crossword puzzlers, so I would recommend this reference book as a "must have" if you like crosswords, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Help yourself with the new A-Z Crossword dictionary

    Both my husband and I love doing the daily crossword puzzles, but there are some challenges where we need the extra help. The A-Z Crossword Dictionary is thorough, easy to use especially with foreign words. We have found some areas where the computer is still better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2