Customer Reviews for

The New Deputy in Town

Average Rating 4
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A mystery romance

This 146 page book was an entertaining read. It was a mystery romance. The author made a big point of the two heroines' mising mother, then left the reader hanging, leaving me to wonder if there might be a sequal in the works. The arrests and subsequant release of possi...
This 146 page book was an entertaining read. It was a mystery romance. The author made a big point of the two heroines' mising mother, then left the reader hanging, leaving me to wonder if there might be a sequal in the works. The arrests and subsequant release of possible suspects was impropable. As was the police officer working alone, without a backup or partners (ever). But over all it was a really good read, even if it was easy to figure out whodunit. There is one sexual situation, which is rather steamy. Because of this this book is suitable for ages 16 and up.


AD

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Not for me

posted by Johnson0916 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    The New Sheriff in Town

    Quick and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Great read

    For free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Very good

    Enjoyed .... light and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Good read

    Better than I expected. Some improbable situations, but, hey .... it's fiction, right? Very little sex, pretty good mystery. Entertaining, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A New Deputy in Town is agreat story about a man forced to work

    A New Deputy in Town is agreat story about a man
    forced to work in a new place far away from all that
    he had ever known. He had b=no choice - his life deended on it.
    Laney & her sister Laci was "home" for a visit with their
    grandparents. They were the only family the girls had left.
    There was instant "sparks' between Lanesy and the Sheriff from the
    first time they saw each other. This could not go anywhere
    since his time here wasonly temporary.
    There was never a lull in the aadventure, mystery and every day
    life portrayed in the story.
    B. J. is a very talented writer. The sex scene was so brief I
    failed to understand the need to put it in. It made it unfit for
    the YA audience and many Christian readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Fascinating characters and plot.

    Great plot and writing by B. J. Daniels, kept me on the edge of my seat waiting for the next thing to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Interesting story

    HAD to keep reading until the end. Requested another by the same author recently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    Really liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Easy read with nice story

    I liked the combination of romance and mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Surprised

    This is the first book published by Harlequin that I have read. To me Harlequin has always been synonymous with gushy over the top romance novels.

    I read a lot of westerns and chose this book by the title (The New Deputy in Town)

    The Jury is still out on Harlequin, but B. J. Daniels is now on my list of acceptable Authors.

    The basic story line was good.

    There were to many reference to past jobs while on the run. That made it seem like several years had past instead of months.

    How did he get the job as deputy?

    Other than that, it was a very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    great read

    I thought this was a great read. Surprised by the ending of whodunit. brings one into the small town feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    New deputy

    This IS a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    OK book to read

    The book keep me reading and I think its good one to read. papertown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Pretty good

    Nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    The new deputy in town

    Excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Good little mystery romance. Had a great dirt road country sett

    Good little mystery romance. Had a great dirt road country setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    I am not a reader (actually I hate reading) and certainly not a

    I am not a reader (actually I hate reading) and certainly not a romance style reader. This book actually was entertaining and a quick read - I agree with other comments about the "missing mother" is there a sequal coming?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Refreshing story

    Fun story with an intreaging characters. Small town really do have some strange characters. Kind of confused as to how Nick got licenced so fast in Montana. Did the sheriff have something to do with it? Is Laci's atory out there too?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Freebie

    This was a sweet book with a couple of mysteries within that will surprise you. Wish there was more romance but still recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Good

    I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5