BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose

Average Rating 4
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Awakening

When I first heard about A New Earth I was very skeptical the book wasn't going to say anything I hadn't already heard and as a Christian I was afraid it would mess with my faith in God. That is not what happened. The book is very intense but the webcast Oprah and Eckha...
When I first heard about A New Earth I was very skeptical the book wasn't going to say anything I hadn't already heard and as a Christian I was afraid it would mess with my faith in God. That is not what happened. The book is very intense but the webcast Oprah and Eckhart did helped me get a better grasp of what he was trying to say. You do have to be ready for it and by that I mean already seeking your purpose and why you are really here or it won't make much sense to you. My advice is to read The Power of Now first and then you will get a better grasp on A New Earth. Having discovered that the chatter that was going on in my head was not normal and the fact that I have been walking around unconscious most of my life, became my awakening moment and the chatter stopped! I now recognize the ego and the pain body for what they are not only in me but those still in unconsciousness. You really can't fight against what is. I am now conscious and have more inner peace. Things that I use to let bother me no longer do. I've had to make some adjustments in my life, let some situations and people go but it was for my greater good. It's amazing what you find out when you really pay attention.

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing !!

Having studyed 'A Course in Miracles' I found this book to be a big disapointment. Not much new here.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Awakening

    When I first heard about A New Earth I was very skeptical the book wasn't going to say anything I hadn't already heard and as a Christian I was afraid it would mess with my faith in God. That is not what happened. The book is very intense but the webcast Oprah and Eckhart did helped me get a better grasp of what he was trying to say. You do have to be ready for it and by that I mean already seeking your purpose and why you are really here or it won't make much sense to you. My advice is to read The Power of Now first and then you will get a better grasp on A New Earth. Having discovered that the chatter that was going on in my head was not normal and the fact that I have been walking around unconscious most of my life, became my awakening moment and the chatter stopped! I now recognize the ego and the pain body for what they are not only in me but those still in unconsciousness. You really can't fight against what is. I am now conscious and have more inner peace. Things that I use to let bother me no longer do. I've had to make some adjustments in my life, let some situations and people go but it was for my greater good. It's amazing what you find out when you really pay attention.

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    A Life Changing Book

    I think that Eckhart Tolle's book, A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose, is one of the most significant and important, that I have ever read. Friends that I have shared a copy with, have agreed. It contains the answer for my personal search to overcome a lifelong struggle to overcome anxiety and depression, as well as to be more centered and spiritual.
    My work as a Therapist, as well as my personal challenges with my ego, has been greatly enlightened by Tolle's clear explanation. Understanding the role and the working of the ego, has allowed me to begin to comprehend the inner presence. The explanation of the collective ego, clearly points to importance of consciousness to end the conflicts and suffering that is plague our world.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I have read this book about six times all the way through. Everytime I read it, I get something new out of it. It is appropriate for the rapid advancements in enlightenment. I recommend this for anyone who already has a solid base in non-conforming spiritual awareness. Awesome, awesome, book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    A must read for every inhabitant of the Earth!

    Eckhart Tolle has created a masterpiece! We as the people of this planet need to fine tune ourselvess and become happier, calmer, and more caring. We need to forgive and understand ourselves, as well as our fellow man. This book in its 300 pages will help you to fine tune who you truly are deep inside. It can help you become the you, you used to be. Remember when you were so much happier..this book can help you become that person again. It will help you realize what has been holding you back from enjoying life and will help you lift that weight from you. I am recommending this book to all of my friends. Everyone I know would love to be happier. Whether it is a death, an emotional blow, an injury etc. that has changed you, you will awaken and enjoy life once again. It worked for me! If once you've read it you feel the same way I do...Please tell your friends or better yet buy them a copy. Then you too will be helping to make a better world one person at a time. An old proverb for teachers is, 'A teacher affects eternity they never know where their influence stops' I feel this way about this book. Its influence can change the world as long as everyone is exposed to it! Enjoy,

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Disappointing !!

    Having studyed 'A Course in Miracles' I found this book to be a big disapointment. Not much new here.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Simple but Not Easy

    This book really speaks to me. My mind is so busy that sometimes I absentmindedly arrive at a place and then ask myself what I wanted to do here. Within a few moments my mind goes through a number of different thoughts forgetting about the reason that directed me to a certain place. And this is why this book is so helpful. Eckhart Tolle provides simple solution to people like me. The solution is simple but in no way it is easy! The solution is getting rid of the noise in the head and focusing on the present moment and the one single activity that you are undertaking in this moment. In a way this book is -- to a certain degree -- a rehash of the author's previous work titled 'The Power of Now.' However, if you have already read The Power of Now I still suggest getting 'A New Earth' as there is still a great amount of new material. In a way in both books Tolle deals with the same subject matter, but in my opinion he is doing a much better job explaining the subject in this book. The author's soft-spoken manner permeates the whole work and makes it an easy and relaxed reading. A big part of the book is devoted to identifying the many faces of 'and dealing with' the 'EGO' ''the voice in the head that pretends to be you'' which is the culprit of our mental suffering that author calls 'The Pain-Body' ''the emotions that are the body's reaction to what the voice in the head is saying''. Tolle suggests ways for breaking free of the Pain-Body and finding who you really are. Unhappiness and negativity are everywhere around us. Surprisingly they are felt more deeply in the affluent western world, as we are more deeply identified with forms and trapped in our egos. The joy of being, the only true happiness, cannot come to us from anywhere, we can only experience it from the formless dimension within us after we allow the diminishment of the ego. This book is not to be read like a novel. I suggest reading it slowly - just a few pages at a time, and practicing the author's suggestions. In the realm of spirituality no-one of us will probably have the same experience, but I dare say that the deeper you get into it the more powerful the experience will be. The secret is getting to the awareness outside of thinking, to the awareness of true being. Get the book and try it out. It might also speak to you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This book brings peace.

    Great reading, it really helps you to ground yourself, and look at life in a whole new perspective. Although some of his teachings and/or beliefs, may not be mainstream religion, he somehow brings all beliefs into this book. The most amazing thing that I have found with all of his books that I read, just holding them in your hand, brings some since of peace to your mind.<BR/><BR/>I recommend this book, it is great follow-up to the Power of Now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    All I can say is WOW

    I always believed you need to know where you came from to know where you are going. You live what you learn. This book is the perfect example of that. Scarry to dig deep for some people, but definitely worth the trip to make the rest of your life better. I want to read the book again, in case I missed anything.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A spiritual surge

    What a great and innovative way of looking at our world. Bravo

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    wonderful

    this is an incredible book! beautiful. moving. changed my life. pure poetry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Life Changing

    I hit rock bottom after coming back from Iraq, to a daughter who didn't seem to take to me, and a wife that had been a single mom while I was away. This book alone changed my life! It broke down my thought pattern and showed me the way to true happiness! This book is a book I can always keep around and open up to any page for a little boost in my day. I've been reading it on average 2-3 times a day, and I was never a reader before this book! An amazing book, and one I will always hold on too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Very thought provoking

    A good, thought-provoking book that is along the lines of modern buddism and new-ageism. Not anything earth shattering, but a good read nonetheless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Bad science. Worse Buddhism.

    Tolle's skewed view of science borders on creationism. He trivializes the precepts of Hinduism and Buddhism. Anything written by Lama Surya Dass and Parker J. Palmer will provide greater insight and true awakening.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Tolle's own Ego seems to be all over the place

    If this book were about 110 pages, and did not include such admonitions as 'Paraphrase' if the book does not make sense to you, you are not ready, I might feel differently. He also fails to avoid his OWN judgments. 'God is Love' is not entirely correct... according to whom? He also makes odd connections about HIS effect on others, as found in his revelation about the Pain-Body seeming to speak to him about Its continued existence at a restaurant. It is disturbing to see this reaching icon status through Oprah. The book is redundant and overblown. What is new here? Buddhism, the practice of Yoga, Agape--concepts that can be found through many other sources. I do not see why this book warrants such attention. Visit the website. Where is his OWN humility? There is nothing here you cannot find from the Dalai Lama, or from other spiritual leaders. If you've not read other teachings, there are wise lessons, yes. Just read this with your intellect open to the presents of TOLLE'S ego.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Open-minded in New York

    For those of you who gave this book a bad review you have totally miss the point. Mr. Tolle doesn't write about being right in his discovery, his spiritual realization of his own enlightment. Only those who are ready will feel it in their soul. I am a practicing catholic and this book has been a journey to go deeper into my faith. To dispute how many people were killed in the inquistion is pointless the point is that the church is responsibly for most of the murders which shouldn't have happening in the first place. All Mr.Tolle is doing is sharing in how he has awaken. Don't get stuck in the dogma of your faith. People have use their faith to do unthinkable acts(like the sex abuse by priests)and that is a fact just read history. Jesus did say to know ourself and I think this great book is a excellent start. If you are ready your soul will know. Peace and Love to all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great Book

    Changed my way of thinking, for a better everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    A New Earth

    Very inspiring. Its helped me see the world in a new light.... what's funny is that i found this book to be the type of book where you will read when its the time for you to truely learn something.

    This is a must read for everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    The type of learning that should be taught in schools, lol.

    His first book changed my life. So awsome!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Oh, Please....

    I bought this book and went through the Life Class with Mr. Tolle and Oprah. The book is so boring, hard-to-follow and pretty complicated. I think of myself as being pretty bright and fairly spiritual but..... i'm sorry but this nice gentleman does NOT live in the real world with spouses, kids, animals, jobs, etc. etc. It would be a great book if you lived a solitary life, a contemplative life. I can see kind of where he's going, but man, he takes forever to get there. We need a book called A NEW EARTH FOR REAL PEOPLE.

    Snore. The on-line class was pretty good although he is not the most animated speaker. Bless his heart, he does seem kind and earnest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Super Read!

    I love this book. Recommended for anyome who wants to awaken. Truly inspiring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16