BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose

Average Rating 4
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Awakening

When I first heard about A New Earth I was very skeptical the book wasn't going to say anything I hadn't already heard and as a Christian I was afraid it would mess with my faith in God. That is not what happened. The book is very intense but the webcast Oprah and Eckha...
When I first heard about A New Earth I was very skeptical the book wasn't going to say anything I hadn't already heard and as a Christian I was afraid it would mess with my faith in God. That is not what happened. The book is very intense but the webcast Oprah and Eckhart did helped me get a better grasp of what he was trying to say. You do have to be ready for it and by that I mean already seeking your purpose and why you are really here or it won't make much sense to you. My advice is to read The Power of Now first and then you will get a better grasp on A New Earth. Having discovered that the chatter that was going on in my head was not normal and the fact that I have been walking around unconscious most of my life, became my awakening moment and the chatter stopped! I now recognize the ego and the pain body for what they are not only in me but those still in unconsciousness. You really can't fight against what is. I am now conscious and have more inner peace. Things that I use to let bother me no longer do. I've had to make some adjustments in my life, let some situations and people go but it was for my greater good. It's amazing what you find out when you really pay attention.

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing !!

Having studyed 'A Course in Miracles' I found this book to be a big disapointment. Not much new here.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!!!!! A must!!!

    Amazing insights to finding out who you are and how you handle life. I've read it twice cover to cover and I still refer back to it from time to time when things are bringing me down. A MUST!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Find the gems in this book, leave what doesn't work for you.

    There are some readers will say that Tolle is rehashing and recycling teachings of Buddhism, etc, and while I wont say it isn't true, I will say...who cares? Tolle does use not only Buddhism, but Hinduism, and teachings from Christianity to convey his message. Is it a perfect book? No, but it does have some very good information that I and many others have found useful. Take what works for you and leave the rest out. If you look hard enough for negative aspects you will find them no matter what you are reading. I would say it is worth reading and it did confirm a lot of what I thought prior to reading it and did help me look at myself and my relationship to the rest of the world in a different light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awakening For Certain!

    Without question Eckhart Tolle is an author/spiritual writer that should not go without acknowledgment. Being the adult child of drug addicted/alcoholic parents, I have been trying to come to come to terms with my depression and understanding of life. Recently I have been to AA and a personal therapist without any answers to relieve the stress/anxiety I have been experiencing. Being an avid reader, I perused the shelves of B&N looking for something else to help me. I saw Tony Robbins, Joel Osteen and Eckhart Tolle. I left the shelves and returned several times. Something pulled me to "A New Earth" by Eckhart Tolle. I purchased and am now on my third time listening. With a soothing voice Mr. Tolle describes the beginning of earth and how one should be aware of and recognize the ego and how the wants and needs of the today's people take away from the recognition of what we really are. I was literally in my car listening and felt as if I had been awakened and relieved of the stress of feeling as if I was constantly in a state of needing to prove who I was and be a better version of who i was. The book helps one understand that it is not "what we have" but "what we do" to recognize our inner selves. It has helped me more than any meeting or therapist and I cannot wait to read more of his books! Thank you Mr. Tolle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Insightful and very powerful

    Eckhart Tolle is an author who, in this book, has combined the philosophies of Buddha, Freud, Jesus and others into something so simple and easy to comprehend in today's life. He shows us how to become fulfilled with being who we are. Many of us live through 2 people in our minds.Many of us live with pain, guilt, and suffering. Eckhart Tolle show us how to release ourselves from this thought process and become one. His philosophy in the book, The Power of Now, is fully explained and taught in The New Earth; he teaches you how to live in the now. That this moment is all that is; all that will ever be. He guides you in a way to live that lifts many burdens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    New Spiritual Consciousness Scale (NSCS)

    Following the teachings of Eckhart Tolle, Ferenc Margitics PhD created the New Spiritual Consciousness Scale (NSCS) and carried out its statistical analysis (Handbook of New Spiritual Consciousness: Theory and Research; New Spiritual Consciousness and the Transformation of Personality). The purpose has been developing a new measuring instrument for the recognition of spiritual consciousness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fresh approach to facing and changing negativity in our lives

    This book is for people looking to understand how their belief systems affect their behavior and make the world what it is. Not easy to face but inspirational.
    I liked it very much. Perhaps because all of us can find ourselves or someone we know somewhere in the descriptions, we are called to take a look at ourselves and make changes.
    I think that the task proposed is oversimplified but nonetheless worth trying.
    Negativity is everywhere but it starts with the individual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Our survival as a human race!

    OPEN yourself up to the endless possiblilities of a new earth. It is truly up to us. I highly recommend this NECESSARY book for the survival of the human race.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Life Changing

    I do not have enough superlatives to express how meaningful this book is to me. Tolle's message has helped me continue down a path of living a more selfless and positive life. This is a book I will read over and over again and get something new each time. This is definitely in the top ten best books that I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    the present

    at sometimes a hard read but very informative and made you think and continue to think

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Eckert Tolle's Audio Book, A New Earth

    I've read the book three times, but never understood the concepts until Eckert, himself, read it to me! Now, I can live his concepts of harmony and I'm much happier in my life....Highly recommend the work. Oprah and 7 million other readers aren't wrong!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Don't Waste Your Time if Your Not a Harvard Graduate!

    This book was obviously not written for the average person. I heard and read good reviews about it so thought I would give it a try...big mistake! None of it made any sense at all, it's extremely complicated and not easy to relate to, at all! Do not waste your money on this book, go to a library first and attempt the first chapter or so then decide if it's something you'd like to own. Good luck to whoever attempts to read this one.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Too Much of a Textbook!

    I found this book to be too...scientific and complicated. I'm a college student, and I felt like this should have one of the Philosophy textbooks I had. I can't speak for anyone else, but when I am going through something and I feel I need something to help me along the way, I am NOT looking for complicated scientific methods to read about. I missed the point with this book. Because of all the hype, I do want to try to read it again. I guess I'll just have to get out my notebook, pencils, pens, dictionary, reference tables, etc.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I would have given this a 5 of 5 if it read easier. I found that I was reading and re-reading chapters just to get a full grasp of the message. But, in the end, I really like the message..much like I did with The Power Of Now. This is mind-expanding, and if you are ready for that...I highly recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Simple

    For those having difficulty with this book. Skip the first chapter. After that it is much easier to read. Review this book with Oprah and Tolle at her site in the video or mp3 downloads. Very insightful and add to the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    This book reminds me who I really am

    I have read a lot of good books in the past, but this is the best one. It's definitely changed my life. It answered the qustions I have been longing for, and now I'm clear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    It seems to me 'Oops, here goes that ego thing'those finding revelations in this book needed to find them. Living well, being well is far easier than Tolle let's on. Sharing, caring, helping others as you travel life's journey is something most of us do without a book like this. Take care of your 'Formed' body be kind and helpful to others. And it's okay if your 'Form' or ego feels good. Don't spend too much time on the Formless. Live well now.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Reading this book was a wonderful experience

    This book has resonated with me from the moment I start reading it. It is written so clearly that I was able to understand myself and others with much more compassion. I do believe that we are beings having a human experience and this has put everything into perspective. I now look at the world and this universe so differently and appreciate the smallest of things. It was a wonderful experience. I will never be the same after reading it. Now, I love to be still.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    THIS BOOK WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!

    I was drawn to this book at just the right point in my spiritual journey. It answered so many questions for me about life, humans, God, and where I need to go from here. I love that he used examples from Buddhism, Zen, Jesus, etc. to help further explain his views. It was very clear and easy to understand. And it absolutely will change my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Oh my Gosh!

    This book is outstanding! As an example of a bunch of words piled together that collectively mean absolutely nothing. Regardless of whether or not you appreciate his viewpoint, the book itself is practically unreadable. Were I depressed 'like the author once was', suicidal 'like the author once was', and lost in my search for my direction in life 'as the author once was', I might pick this book up. After giving it a go, however, I would be in exactly the same place that I started. Because I put it down and recycled at the local library. Save your time and money.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose

    Thanks to Oprah and Eckhart Tolle you guys are charging this world with positive energy! I don't understand some negative reviews. If you think is boring that's a personally p.o.v, . This book is about love and try to spread love now and forever. Thanks again Oprah and Eckhart!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16