Customer Reviews for

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose

Average Rating 4
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Life Opening

This is a must read for anyone that is looking for why we are here on the Earth. I am a Christian and I was skeptical as well that this was new age stuff that was gonna trick people into some kind of cult. This book is the opposite!! It freed me to really get what Chr...
This is a must read for anyone that is looking for why we are here on the Earth. I am a Christian and I was skeptical as well that this was new age stuff that was gonna trick people into some kind of cult. This book is the opposite!! It freed me to really get what Christ was trying to say to all the World 2,000+ years ago....and I have more peace!! I will read this again. And again.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Interpertations

Although the book is very insightful, I walked away feeling that if you were not spiritually evolved enough to understand what the author was trying to convey, you could absolve yourself from any past wrong doing, and not be held accountable or responsible for your acti...
Although the book is very insightful, I walked away feeling that if you were not spiritually evolved enough to understand what the author was trying to convey, you could absolve yourself from any past wrong doing, and not be held accountable or responsible for your actions, because after-all being in the presence of now is all that really exists anyway. There were many things I found myself nodding 'yes' to and other viewpoints I found myself saying out loud 'no that doesn't seem right'. Will have to read the book again in a year or two.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Life Opening

    This is a must read for anyone that is looking for why we are here on the Earth. I am a Christian and I was skeptical as well that this was new age stuff that was gonna trick people into some kind of cult. This book is the opposite!! It freed me to really get what Christ was trying to say to all the World 2,000+ years ago....and I have more peace!! I will read this again. And again.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "A New Earth" by Eckhart Tolle

    A wonderful spiritual trip. Let the past stay where it needs to; in the past. If you loved "the power of now" you must read this book or listen to the cds. What a Gem Tolle has given us. I hope that I can help other people like his books have helped me. I must say that because of reading it I have found my outer and inner purpose . . . and when they are in-line you will find true happiness of being . . . the essence of being.

    Loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Change Your Mind

    Tolle's follow-up to the equally insightful "Power of Now" gives readers plenty to think about. Don't continue to let your pain-body (ego) rule you. Learn how to stay in the present moment, which I'm finding is the true path to peace.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    A book that can make you change the way you behave and live differently. All in Great New ways

    This book was given to be by my mother. I purchased the CD's so that I can read and listen at the same time. It has changed how I act and react in many different situations. It is leading me to a great change that I welcome. I would recommend this to anyone in any situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A new earth has changed my life!!!

    After reading the book, I found myself living in a new earth. It has opened my eyes to the world for the first time!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    FANTASTIC - Life Changing!

    I'm not someone who is easily swayed by religion or philosophical writings and ideas, but this book just blew me away and initiated a spiritual awakening that I'm so thankful for. I listened to audio format first and then went out and bought the book to read because it was that good! My first introduction to Tolle's writing came in the form of the Power of NOW practical guide, so when I saw this book, I figured I'd give it a quick read. Turns out I was captivated by the message and ideas he presents and I've since listened to the audio book about 4 times. I've even turned my wife onto this book and find myself applying the material all the time in every day life. It's just good - trust me. It will change your life!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Transformative

    As a non-Christian and a long time student of many of the World's great religions I can say this book is one of the most transformative I have ever read. Many of the concepts are at the core very Zen Buddhist but Eckhard Tolle does an amazing job of explaining and decoding some of its most seemingly complicated and esoteric teachings while respectfully embracing many religions and philosophies. The book is not just philosophical musing but is eminently practical, giving concrete and current examples of dysfunctional egoic thinking as well as providing practical exercises on how to respond when you encounter it within yourself and in others. Ekhart Tolle writes from the most humble and compassionate point of view with nothing other than the desire to inspire others and ease the suffering of each reader. Whether you are Atheist, Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Muslim or Other this book will give you peace of mind, understanding, and compassion that is so undervalued in much of today's society. It is equally applicable to people of any age and at any stage of their lives, irregardless of ones circumstances. This is one of those very rare books which you will finish a different person than your were when you began. I have read hundreds of books and if I could only have one to be "stranded on a deserted island with" this would undoubtedly be the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Eckert Tolle's A New Beginning

    I have the book...but the Audio tape is wonderful! I think I understood it all better when Eckert actually read it to me! A life-changing book/audio tape! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    Enlightening

    The audio book was so soft. easy to listen to Tolle's voice. It is a very uplifting, informative, correct audio book. It would be highly recommended for those who are cut off from knowing the truth by religion, religion is often a huge barrier into finding true peace, and udnerstanding to this life's purpose.. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2