Customer Reviews for

The New Food Lover's Companion

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Everyone in the food business should own this book.

    Working in the F&B business this book is a must. <BR/>Any term regarding cooking or an ingredient is listed in this edition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A Must Have!

    Good resource for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Websters Dictionary of culinary terms!

    Even just a word, this book will help you understand terms, cooking origin, and techniques sometimes only known by professionals!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Fascinating

    I learned about this book in a cooking class and bought it as a gift for a someone who likes to cook and bake. Although I am not a cooking enthusiast, I may keep this copy and buy another one for the gift because it is great fun to peruse - a wonderful source of information about food and the origin of many food and drink names. People who are interested in words and writing will also like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    A Fascinating Find

    My husband and I found a copy of an earlier edition of the FLC at a shop on the campus of the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park NY. Our fascination with dictionaries led us to take a good look at the book, and to buying a copy. It turned out to be one of the most useful and fascinating purchase we made! I bought 2 copies of a newer edition recently to give as gifts to friends. They were very interested and have continued to thank me for their gifts. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Don't watch cooking shows without it!

    This by far the most helpful book in my collection. It's worth every penny and I use it when I'm watching the some Food Network shows and the real masters on PBS.

    I recommend this inexpensive tool for your kitchen tool box. You will refer to it often and use the comprehensive charts in the back of the book.

    I borrowed it from my local library first, then I decided to get my own copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Can't live without it!

    No kitchen worth its salt should be without it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    A Must Have!

    Any Chef, Chef-in-training or natural foodie should have this book on hand at all time! There's really no term or word the book is missing. It's a hand's on food dictionary-an investment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitchen Essential

    Every cook should have a copy of this book. My daughter bought copies for herself, her brother & me. I have since bought several as gifts for wedding showers & birthdays.I have recently started to cook more local & organic meals. Some recipes had ingredients listed that I had never heard of. This book has helped me make sense of it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Can't Live Without It!

    I'm in the hospitality catering business and this book is a Bible for creating and developing dishes and menus. I love it so much I bought one for my associate and we try to out-do each other with new words! Worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1