Customer Reviews for

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.. everyone should read this book!!!!!!

this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to und...
this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to undercaste in today's society. It starts a bit slow as I was wondering how she was going to prove her claims, but once you get a little farther in you're hooked! The evidence is APPALLING! It felt like I was reading about the USSR's justice system rather than America's! If white Americans were treated in this insane way, these policies would've been reversed years ago. It is an eye-opening read, especially for someone who is white and not intimately knowledgeable about the US criminal justice system. Highly recommended!!!

posted by quarisphere on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

I think the most important part that she left out was parental g

I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in cr...
I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in criminal activity. If you do the crime you are going to do the time!

posted by 19581 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    An Urgent Read for Right Now!

    Bursting with intelligence and insight, and utterly compelling, this book should be required for every US citizen so they can truly understand the history of race relations in this country and what is going on with race right now. When you read it, you have the sense of a blindfold being pulled off your eyes. It is painful and heartbreaking to read because it all makes so much sense. I would highly recommend reading it in conjunction with The Warmth of Other Suns, Isabelle Wilkerson's Pulitzer Prize winning account of The Old Jim Crow. The terrible, shocking news of both books is that nothing has really changed much since the days of slavery in the way our systems of government control the lives of most African Americans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    I repeat - have the courage to read this book.

    A lucid take on the criminal justice system. Michelle clearly shows the tactics, behaviour and collusion taking place. Very frightening and very informational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Inspiring and enlightening book!

    I am a member of a group of clery and laity who are working for judtice in the "Justice. System". This book brings out many of the problems in our jails and gives practical solutions if we are willing to make the effort.

    Sr. Mary Joseph

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    What do you people expect? Although the book is compelling, and

    What do you people expect? Although the book is compelling, and tries to hook up with a "Jim Crow" mentality, It lacks a deep study
    into the origin of the people that are running the company. The Encyclopedia Britannica can open one's eyes to the start of the problem, and the Party that started it all. In United States history, the Democratic-Republican Party, the Republican Party or the Jeffersonian Republicans was a political party organized by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison in 1791-93, which opposed the Federalist Party and controlled the Presidency and Congress, and most states, from 1801 to 1825, during the First Party System.The party selected its presidential candidates in a caucus of members of Congress. They included Thomas Jefferson (nominated 1796; elected 1800-1, 1804), James Madison (1808, 1812), James Monroe (1816, 1820). By 1824 the caucus system had practically collapsed. After 1800, the party dominated Congress and most state governments outside New England. By 1824 the party was split 4 ways and lacked a center. One remnant followed Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren into the new Democratic Party by 1828. That party still exists. Another remnant led by John Quincy Adams and Henry Clay formed the National Republicans in 1828; It held its first convention in late 1831 in Baltimore. It morphed into the Whig Party by 1835. The Whig Party fell apart in the mid-1850s because it could not bridge North-South differences on slavery, while the Democrats held together by taking positions favored by the South.



    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    This book confirmed what we suspected for a long time

    finally,, Proof!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Think our criminal justice system is fair?

    Read this book and find out what's really happening out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Strongly recommended

    Required reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Terrific book that opened up my eyes on how the justice system d

    Terrific book that opened up my eyes on how the justice system delivers anything but justice, especially when it comes to race. As someone who knows little about the criminal justice system (the most I know of it comes from a three month stint of being a Grand Jury Foreman) but knows and cares a lot about a socially just world, I was shocked at how the war on drugs was an extention of Jim Crow. Ms. Alexander does an exceptional job in telling a story of injustice without whinning or exaggerating. She provides compelling facts without being boring due to her incredible writing. It's a must read for anyone who cares about racial justice.

    Glad that Ms. Alexander is a Buckeye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    This is a wake up call for every citizen of these United States!

    This is a wake up call for every citizen of these United States!!! Alexander clearly outlines in factual detail the horrific truth of the "justice system" and its intentions towards Africans in these United States. Excellent job Michelle Alexander! I applaud you for your courage to tell the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Thought Provoking

    We see what we want to see. This books shows us a different view. I'm not sure I buy into all of her concepts but it is definitely food for thought. This would be a great book for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Well researched, thought provoking novel. Great reminder to us a

    Well researched, thought provoking novel. Great reminder to us all that the racial control system is still alive today. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Such an important book in the study of race relations & the

    Such an important book in the study of race relations & the prison industrial complex in the US right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Recommend Barnes&Noble

    The 3 last books which I have purchased were not for me that is why I could not review them. I will say I am always happy with the speedy shipment and delivery that Barnes & Noble has. I always enjoy ordering from you.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    It's a cycle

    It could be broken...

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A must read for anyone who cares about the future of our country and justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great book

    Outlines where we need racial justice to go from here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Dffy

    Hggghh

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5