Customer Reviews for

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.. everyone should read this book!!!!!!

this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to und...
this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to undercaste in today's society. It starts a bit slow as I was wondering how she was going to prove her claims, but once you get a little farther in you're hooked! The evidence is APPALLING! It felt like I was reading about the USSR's justice system rather than America's! If white Americans were treated in this insane way, these policies would've been reversed years ago. It is an eye-opening read, especially for someone who is white and not intimately knowledgeable about the US criminal justice system. Highly recommended!!!

posted by quarisphere on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I think the most important part that she left out was parental g

I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in cr...
I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in criminal activity. If you do the crime you are going to do the time!

posted by 19581 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    This book confirmed what we suspected for a long time

    finally,, Proof!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Think our criminal justice system is fair?

    Read this book and find out what's really happening out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Strongly recommended

    Required reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Terrific book that opened up my eyes on how the justice system d

    Terrific book that opened up my eyes on how the justice system delivers anything but justice, especially when it comes to race. As someone who knows little about the criminal justice system (the most I know of it comes from a three month stint of being a Grand Jury Foreman) but knows and cares a lot about a socially just world, I was shocked at how the war on drugs was an extention of Jim Crow. Ms. Alexander does an exceptional job in telling a story of injustice without whinning or exaggerating. She provides compelling facts without being boring due to her incredible writing. It's a must read for anyone who cares about racial justice.

    Glad that Ms. Alexander is a Buckeye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    This is a wake up call for every citizen of these United States!

    This is a wake up call for every citizen of these United States!!! Alexander clearly outlines in factual detail the horrific truth of the "justice system" and its intentions towards Africans in these United States. Excellent job Michelle Alexander! I applaud you for your courage to tell the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Thought Provoking

    We see what we want to see. This books shows us a different view. I'm not sure I buy into all of her concepts but it is definitely food for thought. This would be a great book for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Well researched, thought provoking novel. Great reminder to us a

    Well researched, thought provoking novel. Great reminder to us all that the racial control system is still alive today. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Such an important book in the study of race relations & the

    Such an important book in the study of race relations & the prison industrial complex in the US right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Recommend Barnes&Noble

    The 3 last books which I have purchased were not for me that is why I could not review them. I will say I am always happy with the speedy shipment and delivery that Barnes & Noble has. I always enjoy ordering from you.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An Informative and Good Read

    This book by Michelle Alexander is an informative and good read about an often neglected subject in the larger realms of social discourse, the large incarceration rates of minority men, most notably those of African heritage. It is particularly helpful for those who wish to learn more about the intersection of the criminal justice system and social justice. For example, how does such an issue affect family life in the Black community? How does the stigma of having a criminal record affect the person when he (or she) is released from prison? This book helps to address these kinds of concerns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    It's a cycle

    It could be broken...

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A must read for anyone who cares about the future of our country and justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great book

    Outlines where we need racial justice to go from here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Dffy

    Hggghh

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5