Customer Reviews for

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.. everyone should read this book!!!!!!

this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to und...
this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to undercaste in today's society. It starts a bit slow as I was wondering how she was going to prove her claims, but once you get a little farther in you're hooked! The evidence is APPALLING! It felt like I was reading about the USSR's justice system rather than America's! If white Americans were treated in this insane way, these policies would've been reversed years ago. It is an eye-opening read, especially for someone who is white and not intimately knowledgeable about the US criminal justice system. Highly recommended!!!

posted by quarisphere on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I think the most important part that she left out was parental g

I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in cr...
I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in criminal activity. If you do the crime you are going to do the time!

posted by 19581 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    AMAZING.. everyone should read this book!!!!!!

    this book is absolutely brilliant. Alexander writes very well, so it's an easy read despite its heavy content. This book provides a compelling case for her assertion that the criminal justice system's overtly discriminatory practices have successfully contributed to undercaste in today's society. It starts a bit slow as I was wondering how she was going to prove her claims, but once you get a little farther in you're hooked! The evidence is APPALLING! It felt like I was reading about the USSR's justice system rather than America's! If white Americans were treated in this insane way, these policies would've been reversed years ago. It is an eye-opening read, especially for someone who is white and not intimately knowledgeable about the US criminal justice system. Highly recommended!!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I think the most important part that she left out was parental g

    I think the most important part that she left out was parental guidance. If you know how the criminal justice system operates toward our black males, then as a parent, no matter what your financial background is it important that our youth is taught not to engage in criminal activity. If you do the crime you are going to do the time!

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Physical, Mental, & Emotional Lock-down.

    The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander (2010)
    *Thought provoking.
    *Informative.
    *Well-developed.
    *Enlightening & educational.
    *Well researched with plenty of references.
    *Gives the reader a history of the "criminal justice system" as a way to control certain ethnic and cultural groups. *The 4th amendment right is explained.
    *Offers insight to a system that affects and effects each and every person living in America.
    *Well worth reading to make you knowledgeable about the topic discussed.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    While any thoughtful person will admit that racism exists in the

    While any thoughtful person will admit that racism exists in the USA, most still will be shocked by the extent that it's supported, spread and encouraged by government agencies at all levels. This is primarily through the official justice system and enhanced by federal funding and the media, over the past few decades manipulated and fused to a non-issue made into a bugaboo for political ends, the War on Drugs. The author has thoroughly researched and makes a titanium-strength case about this indefensible condition, supported at nearly every turn by the legal system and ignored by our elected and appointed officials. This book should serve as a call to arms for all people who despise the waste of human skills and potential or who have a repugnance against injustice.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    The New Jim Crow

    I can't believe someone was brave enough to write this. The only problem is with the title. The word Genoicide should be in there somewhere. Call it what it REALLY is.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Very interesting, a little repetitive

    Alexander makes a great argument here about the criminal justice system perpetuating a new caste system with criminals at the bottom. She does make repeat some points over and again, could have been shorter. Overall recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    A New Paradigm

    Alexander does a masterful job at taking the reader through the history of caste in the US. She then offers a plausible solution, although certanly not an easy one, to the problem. This book should be read by anyone currently affected by drugs and incarceration and by politicans seeking a solution to the problem of exploding deficits and the expense of mass incarceration.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books that I've read in over a decade. This book

    One of the best books that I've read in over a decade. This book tells it like it is and the "is" ain't pretty. Michelle does a wonderful job explaining in layman's terms how racial control systems are still very much a part of our society today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    This one of the most important books to be published in the last decade.

    Everyone should read this book. She did the hard work to understand the reasons why so many people of color are incarcerated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Awesome!

    Michelle is a great person. I am her neighbor, and I see her almost every day when she is home. I entertain her kids. This is a great look on the subject, and I will hope that she will one day make another book. She deserves the respect that she will get through the book. Here is a shout out to Nicole, Jono, and Cori!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Fantastic. Powerful. A must-read.

    I wish this book were required reading in every high school, college, and university across the country. Only by educating the American public about the way its criminal justice system has been weaponized against people of color will we be able to bring about change. Mass incarceration is just the latest method of perpetuating our country's long and sordid history of racial segregation, exclusion, subjugation, and brutality. Thank you to Michelle Alexander for her cogent analysis of this insidious perversion of "justice" that for far too long has been hidden in plain sight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Life Changing Read

    Thought provoking read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    An incredibly important and incredible book

    Michelle Alexander delivers a scathing critique and fascinating untold history of mass incarceration. This book makes a strong case for massive reformation to the US criminal justice system and an end to (or, at a minimum, a redirection of) the war on drugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    MUST READ!!

    I read this book when the Trayvon Martin incident happened and it was emotionally and thematically intense. Talk about a read for the times....MUST READ!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Well written and researched and never repetitive

    It is hard to believe that this great injustice has been and is being purpetrated, unseen and silently in the home of the worlds most vibrant democracy.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    The new jim crow

    I just finished reading the sample offered, and am going to buy the book. Very interesting.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    HATS OFF TO MICHELLE ALEXANDER

    Michelle's book tells it like it is and what it REALLY happening to the majority of our sons. I wish the President would try to do something too help this issue and stop it .I do not know what they expect for men to do that fall under this NEW JIM CROW ISSUE .(oh I know ,they expect for them to go back in the system ...What can we do as mothers of these men to help ?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Great Book! It's a call to action!

    I was moved to tears and called to act. Thanks Michelle for uncovering what's been a devastating truth. Justice isn't just!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Inspiring and enlightening book!

    I am a member of a group of clery and laity who are working for judtice in the "Justice. System". This book brings out many of the problems in our jails and gives practical solutions if we are willing to make the effort.

    Sr. Mary Joseph

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    What do you people expect? Although the book is compelling, and

    What do you people expect? Although the book is compelling, and tries to hook up with a "Jim Crow" mentality, It lacks a deep study
    into the origin of the people that are running the company. The Encyclopedia Britannica can open one's eyes to the start of the problem, and the Party that started it all. In United States history, the Democratic-Republican Party, the Republican Party or the Jeffersonian Republicans was a political party organized by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison in 1791-93, which opposed the Federalist Party and controlled the Presidency and Congress, and most states, from 1801 to 1825, during the First Party System.The party selected its presidential candidates in a caucus of members of Congress. They included Thomas Jefferson (nominated 1796; elected 1800-1, 1804), James Madison (1808, 1812), James Monroe (1816, 1820). By 1824 the caucus system had practically collapsed. After 1800, the party dominated Congress and most state governments outside New England. By 1824 the party was split 4 ways and lacked a center. One remnant followed Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren into the new Democratic Party by 1828. That party still exists. Another remnant led by John Quincy Adams and Henry Clay formed the National Republicans in 1828; It held its first convention in late 1831 in Baltimore. It morphed into the Whig Party by 1835. The Whig Party fell apart in the mid-1850s because it could not bridge North-South differences on slavery, while the Democrats held together by taking positions favored by the South.



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5