Customer Reviews for

New Kid Catastrophes

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great funny book :)

Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking ...
Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking to invisible boy's (Invisible to everyone but her). And finding the "Guy of her Dreams". And don't forget the TV star Hesper, who thinks the world revolves around her and everyone must wait one her hand and foot. TJ soon finds herself as Hespers worst enemy.





A VERY Funny, and serious book. Finding out that theirs more to people then what meets the eye :) And that isn't just talking about the so called " Lower Kids " it also applies for the " Upere class " Kids too. I also found that you should not judge a book by it's cover, ( In this case when you see a Dodge ball making a u-turn,a
flying Dictionary, and a girl talking to air, that might have some thing to with it :) also I LOVED how it talked about how not to put things or people up on a pedestal, like the kids of the school did with Hesper.

It was kinda hard to read in some part's when the 23thrd century kids said stuff like zworked ( which I still don't know what it means :)
Overall I give it a 100 out of 5 stars
Tyndale Publishers gave me this book to review Honestly
Thank You for your time :)

posted by theblondehomeschooler on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust.

TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
For entertainment value, it...
TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
For entertainment value, it is a clean and funny story. Lots of crazy things happen. While this is Christian fiction it is only blatant in one short scene. But for literary value, it falls short. The overall premise and character arc are weak. It is a good idea poorly executed.
If you’re looking for clean and funny for an 8-12 year old, it works. In fact, I just handed it to my 10 year old.

posted by Jenny_Rose on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust.

    TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
    For entertainment value, it is a clean and funny story. Lots of crazy things happen. While this is Christian fiction it is only blatant in one short scene. But for literary value, it falls short. The overall premise and character arc are weak. It is a good idea poorly executed.
    If you’re looking for clean and funny for an 8-12 year old, it works. In fact, I just handed it to my 10 year old.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great funny book :)

    Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking to invisible boy's (Invisible to everyone but her). And finding the "Guy of her Dreams". And don't forget the TV star Hesper, who thinks the world revolves around her and everyone must wait one her hand and foot. TJ soon finds herself as Hespers worst enemy.





    A VERY Funny, and serious book. Finding out that theirs more to people then what meets the eye :) And that isn't just talking about the so called " Lower Kids " it also applies for the " Upere class " Kids too. I also found that you should not judge a book by it's cover, ( In this case when you see a Dodge ball making a u-turn,a
    flying Dictionary, and a girl talking to air, that might have some thing to with it :) also I LOVED how it talked about how not to put things or people up on a pedestal, like the kids of the school did with Hesper.

    It was kinda hard to read in some part's when the 23thrd century kids said stuff like zworked ( which I still don't know what it means :)
    Overall I give it a 100 out of 5 stars
    Tyndale Publishers gave me this book to review Honestly
    Thank You for your time :)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    You giys are crazy

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!AL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    I thought this book was great! I could relate to TJ as she adjus

    I thought this book was great! I could relate to TJ as she adjusted to being the "new kid" and the treacherous waters of a new school. I thought the author did a great job of incorporating futuristic teenage slang throughout the book and had many creative futuristic devices. I also enjoyed the central theme of "beauty comes from within" and friends are friends through thick and thin. Overall, a great book for kids and adults to enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Middle grade readers will love this book. It should appeal to bo

    Middle grade readers will love this book. It should appeal to both boys and girls because it is a basic adventure book. Its primary theme is new kid on the block meets time travelers from the future. Make that bumbling time travelers on a school assignment. There are plenty of laughs to go around--good clean non-crude humor.




    Meet Herby and Tuna, traveling from the future to invisibly observe their target historical figure for a school assignment. Since their arrival, everything seems to go wrong for them from hitting the dinosaur age to crash landing in the Pacific Ocean, to major malfunctions of their equipment. Their goal: Malibu, California. Their target: Thelma Jean Finkelstein, otherwise known as TJ to her family and friends back in Missouri. But here in California? That's another matter entirely. And the piano that escaped the movers, rolled across the yard scooping up TJ in its path, crashing through the neighbor's fence making a big splash in their swimming pool in front of a dozen or so 13-year-old classmates, including TJ's new neighbor Chad Steel, was TJ's introduction into the new school year. 




    Could it get any worse than that? It could and it did, no thanks to Herby and Tuna who attempted to "help" TJ through her first days at school. With that "help" came alienation of nearly the rest of her classmates, especially those who prostrated themselves before Hesper Breakahart; she was the star in her own TV series. Somehow, in Physical Education class (TJ thought it would be better termed Physical Embarrassment), a ball hit Hesper square in the nose. Everyone blamed TJ while Hesper was dramatically wheeled out by paramedics and taken to the hospital. How could it get any worse than that? It could and it did. But you'll have to read the book to discover what happens next. 




    Besides the side-splitting humor in this short book, there are family dynamics to explore (TJ's mom died of cancer recently) and social dynamics to learn from. This book, like the many others written by this author is not just a fluff piece. There are valuable lessons taught within the humorous events, just enough to prompt young readers to think. Parents will love this. Books like this were something I searched for when my children were the age this book is written for. 




    If you are looking for a hilarious, fast-paced adventure for your children to read, this is one I highly recommend. 




    I am reading and reviewing this book for the Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. summer reading program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Fun, fun, fun! This book for kids and teens was really funny. I

    Fun, fun, fun!

    This book for kids and teens was really funny. I admit that at first I thought I was too grown-up for it, but before long, I got into the goofy humour in the writing. I enjoyed both the story and the way it was written. I’ll have to remember to find Book #2 when I need a fun quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Overall I really liked this book. At first I didn't really think

    Overall I really liked this book. At first I didn't really think I'd be that interested since I'm 15 but it was a good book nonetheless. While I would not recommend it to a teen, I think the age range is right on with 8-12. The main goal of Bill Myers' book was to take someone else's bad experience and turn into a funny, confidence boosting book for starting middle school or moving to a new school. I give Bill Five stars in accomplishing that. TJ has just moved almost across the country and in very little time she has already made enemies with the most popular kid in school. Not a great way to start out, especially with two invisble surfer looking kids trailing her for a history project. Will TJ ever learn the real joy in friendship or will she be too caught up in being with the popular crowd? Find out in this great story filled with fun, adventure, and a whole lot of trouble! Great read for kids and a thumbs up for Bill Meyers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    I decided to check out the e-book version of this series for my

    I decided to check out the e-book version of this series for my kiddos before purchasing paperback versions... and I loved them! I was laughing out loud and totally impressed with the wittiness of the series (not something I've seen much in this age group). I'm not sure about the reviewer who thought this book wouldn't appeal to middle schoolers---I'm a widely-read 35 year old and I got some GREAT entertainment value out of this book! The main character is cute, has a crush like any other middle schooler, faces problems like other kids her age (and then some--I mean who hangs out with time travelers?!), and she's always thinking and saying hilarious and witty things that make me giggle. The boy characters in this book are a couple of silly nuts. I loved the book from the start and knew I had to purchase the entire paperback series for my kids. I really, really like that this book is so entertaining and I can't wait to read the rest of the series... not to mention give them to my kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    New Kid Catastrophes is hilarious. I literally laughed out loud

    New Kid Catastrophes is hilarious. I literally laughed out loud during the lunch table scene. Poor TJ! This book completely silly and wacky. But, oh so fun.
    5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    This is a ridiculous story about TJ Finkelstein who discovers so

    This is a ridiculous story about TJ Finkelstein who discovers some time travelers from the 23rd century, who in their quest to make her first day of school better, cause bizarre things to occur such as dictionaries flying off shelves, dudes turning into other people, and Chad becoming a goldfish. Unfortunately, this does not endear her to the other students so 9207 marbles end up in TJ’s locker. When TJ is handed a giant fire extinguisher, the pin is pulled, she shoots down the hall, bounces down steps, and has a bone-jarring ride. Children who love the absurd will adore this book as it teaches truth of what to look for in a friend. It is so ridiculous you can’t help but laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    TJ Findlestein is the new kid at her school. The night before s

    TJ Findlestein is the new kid at her school. The night before she starts there she has some time travelers from the 23rd century come visit her and “help” her. But, their help makes her the outcast of the entire school. They are trying to show her to look beyond outward appearances – that the best friends might not be the most popular kids and to instead look at inner qualities. Very funny book for tweens. I don’t think a first day could be worse than this so it is encouraging for a tween beginning at a new school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you're looking for some light summer reading for your younger

    If you're looking for some light summer reading for your younger children, look no more. Bill Myers has a way of crafting goofy characters and wacky scenarios that have made him one of the most popular authors of this generation, regardless of his target audience.

    However, I found "New Kid Catastrophes" a bit too goofy for my taste. All of the 'whoosh' and 'crack Snapple pop' special print effects were distracting for me, and some of the new slang was over the top.

    Still , I found Tuna (yup, that's a character, not a sandwich) and Herby are funny, and TJ is endearing in a Lucille Ball in junior high school kind of way. And you always find good, solid values in Bill Myers fiction.

    This is a six book series, so you'll find plenty to entertain and inspire your younger ones. Just don't recommend for teens, maybe pre-teens...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Excellent Start to the Series! TJ has just moved to California

    Excellent Start to the Series!

    TJ has just moved to California and is trying to get adjusted to her surroundings and new school which is easier said then done. Two time travelers have arrived and won't leave her alone.  They are trying to help her learn to look past people's outward appearance but their help isn't always appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Island of the blue dolphins

    It was so fun to read this book on my new glowlight nook in an airplane i gave it full stars




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Awesome!

    Great book series for kiddos! Love this author. Quote from my kiddo. "I think he has a unique writing style and the books are funny!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Sets tone for the series Not my favorite book (or series) - I l

    Sets tone for the series

    Not my favorite book (or series) - I love imagination, but its just a little over-the-top for my taste. I do appreciate the values the book (and series) highlight, but the book(s) (should be) for elementary aged kids - not middle schoolers. If this is what appeals to adolescents then we're worse off than I suspected. The book (and series) aren't bad, but they aren't fantastic either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Ggg

    Bbbbnn

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I read the sample. Its a thousamd laughs. The cover image is weird though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An adorable, fun book.                 New Kid Catastrophes: 1

    An adorable, fun book.                

    New Kid Catastrophes: 1 (TJ and the Time Stumblers) is adorable. This goof-troop of time-traveling kids kept me engaged and amused. Kids will easily relate to these silly, charming, magical characters (TJ, Tuna, and Herby) and the dilemmas they face (being the new kid/outsider.) I do have to say though—I feel this book should be geared toward grade school readers rather than teens. 

    Everything about this book is original. I, as an adult, enjoyed this first Time Stumblers tale and recommend it for young readers. A good, clean, fun, engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    TJ has just moved from Missouri to Malibu, California, where she

    TJ has just moved from Missouri to Malibu, California, where she has to make new friends. A pair of time travelers from the 23rd century arrive and follow her around, sometimes causing trouble for her.

    I thought this was a cute story that middle school children might enjoy. The story was rather wacky and the change in font got annoying, but overall, not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2