Customer Reviews for

New Kid Catastrophes

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great funny book :)

Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking ...
Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking to invisible boy's (Invisible to everyone but her). And finding the "Guy of her Dreams". And don't forget the TV star Hesper, who thinks the world revolves around her and everyone must wait one her hand and foot. TJ soon finds herself as Hespers worst enemy.





A VERY Funny, and serious book. Finding out that theirs more to people then what meets the eye :) And that isn't just talking about the so called " Lower Kids " it also applies for the " Upere class " Kids too. I also found that you should not judge a book by it's cover, ( In this case when you see a Dodge ball making a u-turn,a
flying Dictionary, and a girl talking to air, that might have some thing to with it :) also I LOVED how it talked about how not to put things or people up on a pedestal, like the kids of the school did with Hesper.

It was kinda hard to read in some part's when the 23thrd century kids said stuff like zworked ( which I still don't know what it means :)
Overall I give it a 100 out of 5 stars
Tyndale Publishers gave me this book to review Honestly
Thank You for your time :)

posted by theblondehomeschooler on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust.

TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
For entertainment value, it...
TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
For entertainment value, it is a clean and funny story. Lots of crazy things happen. While this is Christian fiction it is only blatant in one short scene. But for literary value, it falls short. The overall premise and character arc are weak. It is a good idea poorly executed.
If you’re looking for clean and funny for an 8-12 year old, it works. In fact, I just handed it to my 10 year old.

posted by Jenny_Rose on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust.

    TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
    For entertainment value, it is a clean and funny story. Lots of crazy things happen. While this is Christian fiction it is only blatant in one short scene. But for literary value, it falls short. The overall premise and character arc are weak. It is a good idea poorly executed.
    If you’re looking for clean and funny for an 8-12 year old, it works. In fact, I just handed it to my 10 year old.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great funny book :)

    Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking to invisible boy's (Invisible to everyone but her). And finding the "Guy of her Dreams". And don't forget the TV star Hesper, who thinks the world revolves around her and everyone must wait one her hand and foot. TJ soon finds herself as Hespers worst enemy.





    A VERY Funny, and serious book. Finding out that theirs more to people then what meets the eye :) And that isn't just talking about the so called " Lower Kids " it also applies for the " Upere class " Kids too. I also found that you should not judge a book by it's cover, ( In this case when you see a Dodge ball making a u-turn,a
    flying Dictionary, and a girl talking to air, that might have some thing to with it :) also I LOVED how it talked about how not to put things or people up on a pedestal, like the kids of the school did with Hesper.

    It was kinda hard to read in some part's when the 23thrd century kids said stuff like zworked ( which I still don't know what it means :)
    Overall I give it a 100 out of 5 stars
    Tyndale Publishers gave me this book to review Honestly
    Thank You for your time :)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    You giys are crazy

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!AL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    I thought this book was great! I could relate to TJ as she adjus

    I thought this book was great! I could relate to TJ as she adjusted to being the "new kid" and the treacherous waters of a new school. I thought the author did a great job of incorporating futuristic teenage slang throughout the book and had many creative futuristic devices. I also enjoyed the central theme of "beauty comes from within" and friends are friends through thick and thin. Overall, a great book for kids and adults to enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you're looking for some light summer reading for your younger

    If you're looking for some light summer reading for your younger children, look no more. Bill Myers has a way of crafting goofy characters and wacky scenarios that have made him one of the most popular authors of this generation, regardless of his target audience.

    However, I found "New Kid Catastrophes" a bit too goofy for my taste. All of the 'whoosh' and 'crack Snapple pop' special print effects were distracting for me, and some of the new slang was over the top.

    Still , I found Tuna (yup, that's a character, not a sandwich) and Herby are funny, and TJ is endearing in a Lucille Ball in junior high school kind of way. And you always find good, solid values in Bill Myers fiction.

    This is a six book series, so you'll find plenty to entertain and inspire your younger ones. Just don't recommend for teens, maybe pre-teens...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Excellent Start to the Series! TJ has just moved to California

    Excellent Start to the Series!

    TJ has just moved to California and is trying to get adjusted to her surroundings and new school which is easier said then done. Two time travelers have arrived and won't leave her alone.  They are trying to help her learn to look past people's outward appearance but their help isn't always appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Island of the blue dolphins

    It was so fun to read this book on my new glowlight nook in an airplane i gave it full stars




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Awesome!

    Great book series for kiddos! Love this author. Quote from my kiddo. "I think he has a unique writing style and the books are funny!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Sets tone for the series Not my favorite book (or series) - I l

    Sets tone for the series

    Not my favorite book (or series) - I love imagination, but its just a little over-the-top for my taste. I do appreciate the values the book (and series) highlight, but the book(s) (should be) for elementary aged kids - not middle schoolers. If this is what appeals to adolescents then we're worse off than I suspected. The book (and series) aren't bad, but they aren't fantastic either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Ggg

    Bbbbnn

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I read the sample. Its a thousamd laughs. The cover image is weird though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An adorable, fun book.                 New Kid Catastrophes: 1

    An adorable, fun book.                

    New Kid Catastrophes: 1 (TJ and the Time Stumblers) is adorable. This goof-troop of time-traveling kids kept me engaged and amused. Kids will easily relate to these silly, charming, magical characters (TJ, Tuna, and Herby) and the dilemmas they face (being the new kid/outsider.) I do have to say though—I feel this book should be geared toward grade school readers rather than teens. 

    Everything about this book is original. I, as an adult, enjoyed this first Time Stumblers tale and recommend it for young readers. A good, clean, fun, engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    TJ has just moved from Missouri to Malibu, California, where she

    TJ has just moved from Missouri to Malibu, California, where she has to make new friends. A pair of time travelers from the 23rd century arrive and follow her around, sometimes causing trouble for her.

    I thought this was a cute story that middle school children might enjoy. The story was rather wacky and the change in font got annoying, but overall, not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    I've been a bit torn about this book since finishing it. The boo

    I've been a bit torn about this book since finishing it. The book was funny but a little all over the place. I read that the author was also the writer for the Magee and Me video series ... the book reads a lot like one of those old videos. There was a decent amount of "cheese" factor, but I could look past a lot of it because the story was cute.

    My main "issue" is that I'm not really sure who the target audience for this series is. The main characters are in middle school and some of the issues (crushes on boys, dealing with the death of a parent, etc.) seemed geared more for middle schoolers. However, the book is really written in a style that seems more appropriate for younger elementary ages (1st-4th graders). I'm just not sure who will read this book and love it.

    Overall, a cute story. It would be worth giving it a shot with your kids if they enjoy funny, outlandish stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    The first book in the series TJ and the Time Stumblers, "Ne

    The first book in the series TJ and the Time Stumblers, "New Kid Catastrophes" focuses on 13 year old TJ Finkelstein and her recent move to Malibu, California.  She moves in, starts a new school, and quickly (through mostly no fault of her own) makes an enemy of the most popular girl in school, Hester Breakahart.  She is being studied by two characters from the future (23rd century!), who have chosen her as a case-study for their history project.  Time 'stumblers' Tuna and Herby cause many of her troubles, however, they are also instrumental in TJ's growth to begin to look past the superficial surfaces and see what people are really like on the inside.  As she is ignored by most at her new school, but pursued by two "class nerds", Naomi Simpletwirp and Doug Claudlooper....will she pursue popularity? Or determine that character matters?




    I enjoyed the quirkiness of this book and think that the 8-12 year old set will enjoy it greatly!  I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    Very entertaining, lots of silliness. This is a really fun serie

    Very entertaining, lots of silliness. This is a really fun series with an unusual concept and likeable bumbling time travellers. I'm over-qualified for the stories for YA and kids but I enjoy them, so I read them anyway. This author writes extremely well and makes me laugh. This has creativity, action, and futuristic technology that malfunctions frequently. The main characters are mostly believable, with some exaggeration, which makes a point in an amusing way. I am planning to read the rest of the series to find out what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all)

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.

    New Kid Catastrophes: Though TJ is destined to become a great world leader, she is still relatively unpopular at her middle school. This reality is made more real to her when she inadvertently makes an enemy of the teen celebrity who attends her school, Hesper Breakaheart. Plenty of hijinks ensue when Tuna and Herby try to help, and TJ ultimately learns that conduct and character are more important than appearance and popularity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Wrote by anonomous psuedonym

    I luv this boook!!!!!! Omigosh im saving up to buy arghhhh!! It is great all im wondering is y hesper is soooo vicious.....i mean 4 reeal?????? Also tj is wayyyyy to much of a klutz!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Totally Awesome!!! you must check it out!! Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! Awesome!

    Tells the tales of a new kid getting friends and going on adventures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Bookworm 28

    Sounds good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2