BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

New Kid Catastrophes

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great funny book :)

Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking ...
Being a Thirteen year old girl living in the twenty first century is tough, but try being a living History report for two Time traveling boy's from the twenty third century. TJ trying to not make a fool of herself on the first day of a new school, finds herself talking to invisible boy's (Invisible to everyone but her). And finding the "Guy of her Dreams". And don't forget the TV star Hesper, who thinks the world revolves around her and everyone must wait one her hand and foot. TJ soon finds herself as Hespers worst enemy.





A VERY Funny, and serious book. Finding out that theirs more to people then what meets the eye :) And that isn't just talking about the so called " Lower Kids " it also applies for the " Upere class " Kids too. I also found that you should not judge a book by it's cover, ( In this case when you see a Dodge ball making a u-turn,a
flying Dictionary, and a girl talking to air, that might have some thing to with it :) also I LOVED how it talked about how not to put things or people up on a pedestal, like the kids of the school did with Hesper.

It was kinda hard to read in some part's when the 23thrd century kids said stuff like zworked ( which I still don't know what it means :)
Overall I give it a 100 out of 5 stars
Tyndale Publishers gave me this book to review Honestly
Thank You for your time :)

posted by theblondehomeschooler on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust.

TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
For entertainment value, it...
TJ has moved from Missouri to Californiaand is trying to adjust. Unfortunately that is nearly impossible when everything that could go wrong does—like when two surfer dudes from the 23rd century show up to study her and try to help her.
For entertainment value, it is a clean and funny story. Lots of crazy things happen. While this is Christian fiction it is only blatant in one short scene. But for literary value, it falls short. The overall premise and character arc are weak. It is a good idea poorly executed.
If you’re looking for clean and funny for an 8-12 year old, it works. In fact, I just handed it to my 10 year old.

posted by Jenny_Rose on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Middle grade readers will love this book. It should appeal to bo

    Middle grade readers will love this book. It should appeal to both boys and girls because it is a basic adventure book. Its primary theme is new kid on the block meets time travelers from the future. Make that bumbling time travelers on a school assignment. There are plenty of laughs to go around--good clean non-crude humor.




    Meet Herby and Tuna, traveling from the future to invisibly observe their target historical figure for a school assignment. Since their arrival, everything seems to go wrong for them from hitting the dinosaur age to crash landing in the Pacific Ocean, to major malfunctions of their equipment. Their goal: Malibu, California. Their target: Thelma Jean Finkelstein, otherwise known as TJ to her family and friends back in Missouri. But here in California? That's another matter entirely. And the piano that escaped the movers, rolled across the yard scooping up TJ in its path, crashing through the neighbor's fence making a big splash in their swimming pool in front of a dozen or so 13-year-old classmates, including TJ's new neighbor Chad Steel, was TJ's introduction into the new school year. 




    Could it get any worse than that? It could and it did, no thanks to Herby and Tuna who attempted to "help" TJ through her first days at school. With that "help" came alienation of nearly the rest of her classmates, especially those who prostrated themselves before Hesper Breakahart; she was the star in her own TV series. Somehow, in Physical Education class (TJ thought it would be better termed Physical Embarrassment), a ball hit Hesper square in the nose. Everyone blamed TJ while Hesper was dramatically wheeled out by paramedics and taken to the hospital. How could it get any worse than that? It could and it did. But you'll have to read the book to discover what happens next. 




    Besides the side-splitting humor in this short book, there are family dynamics to explore (TJ's mom died of cancer recently) and social dynamics to learn from. This book, like the many others written by this author is not just a fluff piece. There are valuable lessons taught within the humorous events, just enough to prompt young readers to think. Parents will love this. Books like this were something I searched for when my children were the age this book is written for. 




    If you are looking for a hilarious, fast-paced adventure for your children to read, this is one I highly recommend. 




    I am reading and reviewing this book for the Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. summer reading program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Fun, fun, fun! This book for kids and teens was really funny. I

    Fun, fun, fun!

    This book for kids and teens was really funny. I admit that at first I thought I was too grown-up for it, but before long, I got into the goofy humour in the writing. I enjoyed both the story and the way it was written. I’ll have to remember to find Book #2 when I need a fun quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    This is a ridiculous story about TJ Finkelstein who discovers so

    This is a ridiculous story about TJ Finkelstein who discovers some time travelers from the 23rd century, who in their quest to make her first day of school better, cause bizarre things to occur such as dictionaries flying off shelves, dudes turning into other people, and Chad becoming a goldfish. Unfortunately, this does not endear her to the other students so 9207 marbles end up in TJ’s locker. When TJ is handed a giant fire extinguisher, the pin is pulled, she shoots down the hall, bounces down steps, and has a bone-jarring ride. Children who love the absurd will adore this book as it teaches truth of what to look for in a friend. It is so ridiculous you can’t help but laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    TJ Findlestein is the new kid at her school. The night before s

    TJ Findlestein is the new kid at her school. The night before she starts there she has some time travelers from the 23rd century come visit her and “help” her. But, their help makes her the outcast of the entire school. They are trying to show her to look beyond outward appearances – that the best friends might not be the most popular kids and to instead look at inner qualities. Very funny book for tweens. I don’t think a first day could be worse than this so it is encouraging for a tween beginning at a new school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An adorable, fun book.                 New Kid Catastrophes: 1

    An adorable, fun book.                

    New Kid Catastrophes: 1 (TJ and the Time Stumblers) is adorable. This goof-troop of time-traveling kids kept me engaged and amused. Kids will easily relate to these silly, charming, magical characters (TJ, Tuna, and Herby) and the dilemmas they face (being the new kid/outsider.) I do have to say though—I feel this book should be geared toward grade school readers rather than teens. 

    Everything about this book is original. I, as an adult, enjoyed this first Time Stumblers tale and recommend it for young readers. A good, clean, fun, engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    The first book in the series TJ and the Time Stumblers, "Ne

    The first book in the series TJ and the Time Stumblers, "New Kid Catastrophes" focuses on 13 year old TJ Finkelstein and her recent move to Malibu, California.  She moves in, starts a new school, and quickly (through mostly no fault of her own) makes an enemy of the most popular girl in school, Hester Breakahart.  She is being studied by two characters from the future (23rd century!), who have chosen her as a case-study for their history project.  Time 'stumblers' Tuna and Herby cause many of her troubles, however, they are also instrumental in TJ's growth to begin to look past the superficial surfaces and see what people are really like on the inside.  As she is ignored by most at her new school, but pursued by two "class nerds", Naomi Simpletwirp and Doug Claudlooper....will she pursue popularity? Or determine that character matters?




    I enjoyed the quirkiness of this book and think that the 8-12 year old set will enjoy it greatly!  I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all)

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.

    New Kid Catastrophes: Though TJ is destined to become a great world leader, she is still relatively unpopular at her middle school. This reality is made more real to her when she inadvertently makes an enemy of the teen celebrity who attends her school, Hesper Breakaheart. Plenty of hijinks ensue when Tuna and Herby try to help, and TJ ultimately learns that conduct and character are more important than appearance and popularity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Wrote by anonomous psuedonym

    I luv this boook!!!!!! Omigosh im saving up to buy arghhhh!! It is great all im wondering is y hesper is soooo vicious.....i mean 4 reeal?????? Also tj is wayyyyy to much of a klutz!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Comical..

    This is a great book for tweens. TJ's family have moved to California and she has started a new school which has your usual nerdy kids and of course celebrity kids. She is able to see two kids who are invisible to others. These two get her into all kinds of crazy situations.

    The book is entertaining, the situations are comical, and the characters are loveable. TJ does learn about friendship and having patience with others. However, there was very little in the book that signifies christian.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Catastrophes and time stumblers

    If you thought that your Jr. High experience was bad, than obviously you haven't met TJ. Aka- Thelma Jean Finkelstein, the main character in Bill Myers newest tween series 'TJ and the Time Stumblers'. In the first book New Kid Catastrophes, seventh-grader TJ has just moved with her Dad and two younger sisters from Missouri to sunny Malibu, California. Unfortunately for her, her first day at her new school doesn't go too well when she almost automatically becomes mortal enemies with Hesper Breakahart- the most popular girl in school, who just so happens to also be a star on the Dizzy Channel.
    Not only that, but now she has two goofball guys, Tuna and Herby, following her around from the 23rd-century. Which would be fine if they weren't constantly trying to "help" her, which ultimately leads to more mayhem and even more embarrassment for the new kid at school.
    So what do you do when nothing seems to go your way, and navigating your way through Jr. High seems like a perilous journey? You make the best of it and hopefully learn some important lessons, such as honesty and kindness, along the way.
    This is a great little book for tweens. It's wacky, fun, full of off-beat humor, and will leave them laughing and entertained at the end. Not only that, but the content is clean, and Myers has even sprinkled in some valuable messages about how we should treat others, no matter how hard that may seem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1