Customer Reviews for

The New Kid at School (Dragon Slayers' Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    OMGoodiness!

    I picked this book up on Saturday evening for my son who isn't into reading. On his own, he took the book up to his bed and read a couple of chapters before bed. He loved parts of it so much that he had to come share with me. Sunday morning when he woke up, he read some more. Sunday night he came to tell me that he was almost done with the book. Monday he called me at work to say he finished the book and wanted the rest of the series. This is a kid who NEVER picks up a book willingly, let alone requests to read more of a book series on his own. He only reads when he has to! This first book just opened up my child's love of reading and that makes it the best book in the world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    the best book in the world

    this was the best book and i love the silly names like wiglaf it's so funny i had to read it for my bookreport.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Smily face

    I read this when I was 7 and I loved it. Now Im giving them to my little brother and I know hes gonna love it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    WoW

    Hi to you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    It is a pretty good book.

    No one slays a dragon in present. Where the heck is dragon, you might say. Wiglaf is a young timid future dragon slayer, but he faints when he sees a blood. Wiglaf, his princess friend Erica, and goodie lover Angus make a great trio in Kate McMullan¿s new try for fantasy book, Dragon Slayers¿ Academy, which won the Best Picture Book in The New York Times. Just because his parents want him to bring the gold, Wiglaf Accidentally slays two dragons, rescues the best knight of the world, goes field trip to dungeon and even meets a ghost. With simple and kiddish, but new and fun story of McMullan can be weird. Kids¿ chants and easy story, and characters¿ antics are basically for the children. But new ideas always come up with new book is never boring. Bill Basso¿s freaky but funny illustrations greatly match the funny mood of D.S.A. Well, this book requires readers to take some sick jokes like crazy knock-knocks. Also short but thick subplots will make readers to naturally guess the next story, even they didn¿t want to. Yet there are little problems within it. Sometimes too short and fast story might not be satisfying. But in some cases, this will be helpful, like for kids who can¿t read fat books like Harry Potter. Other one is that kiddish story wouldn¿t really fit for people over 13 years old. Fun, freaky, and weird, this is a book for kid readers or readers who want to read ¿something odd¿. It might not fit to people who are fans of serious books, since D.S.A. is a book that is very far from serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Billybob-a book reader

    This book is so good that when I finished it my family was done eating supper!This is because I couldn't put it down!IT TAUGHT ME HOW TO SPEEK PIG LATIN!!!!!!!!!!!! Ello Hay is hello in pig latin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    i love this series

    the first ones i read i found at a school fair. im gonna try to order them all!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Hero

    A minstrel tells Wiglaf that he was born a hero! Wiglaf reads a post of a tree and sets off to The Dragon Slayers Academy. (DSA)Wiglaf gets paired up with eric a smart and tough boy at DSA. Will he slay a dragon Gorzil or will he fail?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    DSA Series Slays a Reluctant Reader!

    I just want to go shake this lady's hand for making such a great series of books. I have an 8 year old son, smart chap, but not usually very interested in sitting down for a read. This one hooked him, AND he's eager for the next ones... Hallelujah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Very Good Book, But A Copy Of Harry Potter

    This book is very interesting. While it is much like Harry Potter, it's still different and a good read. In the story the man character, Wiglaf, a boy who lives with his parents and eleven brothers, is very different from them. He is the third eldest son, and doesn't like to kill anything, yet his eleven other brothers do almost nothing else! When a minstrel tells him his fortune is to be a great hero, as he has always wanted to be, he goes off to the DSA (Dragon Slayers Academy)to be a knight. Like it says on the back of book 7: Here's a young hero who might as well be Harry Potter's little Brother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    A Really Funny Book

    I think this is one of the coolest books I have read recently. I started it last night and couldn't put it down until I was done with the last page. Then on to Book #2. Almost done with it too. I love this series. Easier to read than Harry Potter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1