BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The New Kid on the Block

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Very Very Funny.

    This book is great. I love Shel Sliverstein but this book is great. At school we don't do book reports we do book reviews. I did one on this book and read one of the peoms and everyone liked it. Now I hardly see the book in the school library. When I do see it I grab it. It is a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    I am a grade 8 student

    I really loved the poems in this book, they a funny and stand out against other poems. Really a unique book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Cutest Audiobook EVER!

    I have a kid with disabilities and he loves this CD! The author reads some poems from the book and he makes the charaters come alive... He makes funny noises and sounds. My kid laughs and laughs when he listens to this book. It's heartwarming!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    A Childhood Favorite

    A fabulous book. Great poems that made me laugh as a kid. I like it so much that I find the need to buy one for my daughter because the one I had as a kid was read until it fell apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    The Funniest Book

    Extra! Extra! Read all about the book The New Kid on the Block. It is an extraordinary book with many deep down funny poems! It has poems to put a smile on anyone's face. His books are so funny that they will lift you up when you're down. It is a great bedtime reading. I recomend this book to anyone who loves poetry, and a good laugh! You will have a lot of fun reading these poems. If you feel sad or lonely, pick up one of Jack Prelutsky's books. This book was like a roller coaster, because you really didn't know what was comming next. It seemed to me that some of his poems were about situations that you really might have to go through. Such as the poems The New Kid on the Block, An Irritating Creature, and Bulgy Bunne. Once I read this book, I had to read it again, because it was just so funny. I still laugh at the poems, it's just one of those things that just don't get old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    The New Kid On The Block

    ¿The New Kid On The Block¿ is a great book. It has funny poems that just might make you laugh in it. This book seems to have just about anything in it. Usually there¿s a twist at the end of his poems. Like in the poem called ¿Super Samson Simpson¿ where there is this guy who is really strong. At the end, his grandmother is stronger than him. I must say that was somewhat funny. The ending is what usually what makes Jack Prelutsky¿s poems enjoyable. Sometimes he¿ll have an illustration to go with his poem. Which is the case with ¿An Alley Cat With One Life Left.¿ There is a picture of a scraggly looking cat. When I first looked at the poem, I saw the cat and found it amusing. This is all before I read the poem. I think the illustration was a lot better than the actual poem. In this book, I found a poem I found most enjoyable. Like a lot of Jack¿s poems, the ending was the funniest part. It was called ¿Super Samson Simpson.¿ I mentioned it earlier. Samson Simpson was really strong. He could pick up elephants. When he did this, though, his Grandma picked him up. The part where Grandma picks him up is at the end. It was very amusing that his Grandmother could pick more weight up than her Grandson. This book was enjoyable for me to read. Jack Prelutsky has a great sense of humor and writes comical poems about just about anything. I would definitely recommend this book to people who can appreciate the good sense that Mr. Prelutsky has. That is why I gave this book, five new kids on the block.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    An outstanding book for children of all ages!

    I think that this book is the is one of the best poetry books every read. I think that every body should read this book. It deserved award.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Very well written!

    He's the best poet for kids!! I have the CD-rom for The New Kid on the Block and it is very very cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1