Customer Reviews for

New Living Translation Bible

Average Rating 4.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Great navigation, fast, easy

I was disappointed with other bible versions using the typical nook navigation. They are ok for books. Not good for a bible. The navigation on this version, as an app, is great. One click brings up the table of contents by book. Click the book and get a list of chapters...
I was disappointed with other bible versions using the typical nook navigation. They are ok for books. Not good for a bible. The navigation on this version, as an app, is great. One click brings up the table of contents by book. Click the book and get a list of chapters. Click chapter and get a list of verses. Click verse and you are there. Faster than thumbing through my hard copy. I would, however, love to see a concordance added.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Needs Work

This bible should be a readable book format. When you look for a NLT the idea is you get a story format. With this version you cannot read it in this way because all you get is a chapter at a time. Each time you finish the chapter you must go back to the contents and s...
This bible should be a readable book format. When you look for a NLT the idea is you get a story format. With this version you cannot read it in this way because all you get is a chapter at a time. Each time you finish the chapter you must go back to the contents and start all over to get to the next chapter

Bad Idea

posted by 11400647 on August 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Great navigation, fast, easy

    I was disappointed with other bible versions using the typical nook navigation. They are ok for books. Not good for a bible. The navigation on this version, as an app, is great. One click brings up the table of contents by book. Click the book and get a list of chapters. Click chapter and get a list of verses. Click verse and you are there. Faster than thumbing through my hard copy. I would, however, love to see a concordance added.

    67 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    It is a great Bible app

    If you go to the corner with the NLT and are conected with wifi you can get all the versions they offer.

    40 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Needs Work

    This bible should be a readable book format. When you look for a NLT the idea is you get a story format. With this version you cannot read it in this way because all you get is a chapter at a time. Each time you finish the chapter you must go back to the contents and start all over to get to the next chapter

    Bad Idea

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    excellent app

    This installed just fine on my nookColor without an SD card. It's a really good app; navigation better by far than with a regular eBook. I really like the auto-scroll feature. What else is cool is that once you have the Tecarta app running, you have access to other translations via streaming. All this for less $ than any NLT eBook (even thought the app price just rose by $1).

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    NLT***The Bible***

    This app is truly the very best! Highlights, defines, reference, notes while scrolling back to differnt sources of Bible content. Also the NLT version of the Bible will read to you if needed. Can't say enough about how thrilled and excited I am to have this app. I do recommend to all, please try it for yourself.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I am tremendously impressed with this program. As was mentioned

    I am tremendously impressed with this program. As was mentioned previously, sometimes books in apps are difficult to navigate as I am definitely not a techie.  This product is extremely user friendly.
    Not only is the NLT easily accessible, and notes able to be taken, etc., but I also really enjoy having other translations available in the same format when I want to cross-check 
    with another translation. Probably the single best app I've ever purchased in terms of ease and joy of use. Highly recommended.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Love it.

    This is a wonderful app amd its so easu to understand and navigate through. It also has a nice selection things you can do with your binle like take notes and highlight key things. Definately a deal for two dollars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love the APP

    So much for such little money! Love it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Great app. Runs smoothly. Easy navigation.Works without internet

    Great app. Runs smoothly. Easy navigation.Works without internet. With internet, you get access to all their other versions free! Awesome! (Fyi, no cross reference, concordance or dictionary etc.But you can highlite, bookmark, and attach notes. Notes can be attached to margin,kept in a file, and or shared via email or facebook.Also has a "history option so you can easily flip back and forth between recently visited scriptures.)Totally cool.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Best app for me

    This app is my most used and very favorite. Love the speed and ease of it

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Amazing app

    This app is so useful and easy to use! You can find the exact verse you need or you can easily search the whole bible by a certain word or phrase! So much better than my NLT bible I bought for the nook! Amd the bonus is you can strem all the other translations they have if you have an internet connection! Well worth the money!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Use it all the time!

    I use it at church, work, and at home. Love the easy access to multiple versions, bookmarks, and highlighting. The search feature works as a concordance for me. I also like the ability to adjust the font size.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I love it

    Thanks for this Bible. How fortunate to have such easy access to words of truth anywhere we go!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Awesome!

    My very first color nook purhase. It was fast and easy, i was concerned about sd card issue i don't have one that i know of.Seems easy to navigate, now to learn how to use all the features.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great find!

    I am so happy with this purchase, you have access to other bible versions on line which is really handy. Couldn't ask for a better bible.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Pretty good

    This is a good app. The only problem I have is when I try to go to a new book and chapter. It takes a couple of tries to get there because the first couple of times it just shows the book and chapter I was currently reading. Other than that I like this version and it is easy to navigate.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    NIV Bible

    I have found this version easy to navigate, and I use it for both for my personal and assembly worship and study. Would recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good reading

    Everything I expected

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    ABSOLUTELY PERFECT, CAN CROSS REFERENCE VARIOUS BIBLE VERSIONS, CAN USE IF NOT CONNECTED TO THE INTERNET. PERFECT!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great Bible

    I love this bible -it is easy to use for even a beginner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7