Customer Reviews for

New Markets for Artists: How to Sell, Fund Projects, and Exhibit Using Social Media, DIY Pop-Ups, eBay, Kickstarter, and Much More

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Eaglestar

    ThunderClan cats, come back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Blue Eyes

    Plus, everyone ignores the Blue Eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Rockfur

    The medicine cat watches warily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Flightstar

    She leaped from the tree and bounded away through the forest, back to her camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Featherpool

    The silver shecat came in and sat down. Grateful for the invite, she purred and watched the leaders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Lightningpaw ()TC, Windypaw (WC), Streampaw (RC) & Shadepaw (SC)

    They pad in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Dapplestar

    "We all know Eaglestar spoke aswell. Alright, the meeting is now ended. Go back to your clans." She nodded to the other leaders before leaping off the branch, padding to her clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Birchheart

    Sits and waits for the gathering to begin <p> in the futer can meetings be a little earlier because its 12:32 pm here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    BlueMoon

    He padded in and sat gaxing up at the leader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Kestralsand, Icespot, Heathermint, and Ravencreek

    Kestralsand stands, turning and padding back to ShadowClan. <p>

    Icespot tipped her head to the side, having only just arrived. Shrugging, she went back to WindClan. <p>

    Heathermint nodded, turning and darting out, tripping over a tree root. Picking herself up and glancing around to be sure nobody saw, she padded off a bit slower. <p>

    Ravencreek waited until many were gone, looking at the near empty clearing peacably before standing and padding after Eaglestar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Shiningheart

    "May I request that ThunderClan move camp to result four? I got locked out and I didnt cuss pr anything."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Birchstar

    "I have spoken."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Creation is generally a lonely activity which requires commitmen

    Creation is generally a lonely activity which requires commitment and hard work; it consumes an exhaustive amount of time! And then what? What to do with that work? It has to be promoted, shown...This for many artists is the worst part of it! You can faint just by thinking of it!
    The truth is that Brainard Carey spots on supplying to &quot;creators&quot; of all kinds, the way to refrain them from pulling their hair off their heads during that process. The most efficient tool to accomplish that goal in this present time is obviously Internet and namely social networking. The author of this book leads us by the hand in this &quot;virtual&quot; world which could look inhospitable at first sight but frankly offering to us an impressive number of pathways, often unexpected, to propose to the world, our artistic work which if not seen, does not exist. This is why, the reading of this manual is highly advisable. With it, we will have more time to create and let the &quot;machine&quot; do the rest. This is all pure fun challenge!

    Crear es generalmente una actividad solitaria que requiere compromiso y trabajo, adem&aacute;s consume una enorme cantidad de tiempo! Y despu&eacute;s, qu&eacute; se hace con la Obra? Se promueve, se ense&ntilde;a...Eso, para muchos artistas es lo peor! Da flojera nada mas pensar en ello!
    La verdad, Brainard Carey le dio al clavo al proveer a los &quot;creadores&quot; de todo tipo, la forma de evitarles jalarse el pelo en este proceso. La herramienta m&aacute;s eficiente para hacerlo en la actualidad es obviamente Internet y en particular las redes sociales. El autor de este libro, nos toma de la mano en ese mundo &quot;virtual&quot; que puede parecer un poco inh&oacute;spito al primera vista pero que francamente nos ofrece tambi&eacute;n una impresionante variedad de caminos, muchas veces inesperados, de proponer al Mundo, nuestro quehacer art&iacute;stico que si no es visto, no existe. Por lo anterior, la lectura de este manual es altamente recomendable. Con ella tendremos mas tiempo para crear y que la &quot;maquina&quot; haga el resto. Es todo un reto divertido!

    Cr&eacute;er est g&eacute;n&eacute;ralement une activit&eacute; solitaire qui requiert autant engagement que travail, de plus celle-ci prend un temps fou! Et apr&egrave;s tout &ccedil;&agrave;, que fait-on de l&acute;oeuvre produite? On la promu, on la montre...Ceci, pour beaucoup d&acute;artistes c&acute;est la partie la plus d&eacute;sagr&eacute;able! Rien que d&acute;y penser nous donne le tournis! &Agrave; vrai dire, Brainard Carey a vis&eacute; juste en fournissant aux &quot;cr&eacute;ateurs&quot; de tous poils, le moyen de leur &eacute;viter de se tirailler les cheveux &agrave; ce sujet. L&acute;outil le plus efficace de nos jours est &eacute;videment l&acute;internet et en particulier les r&eacute;seaux sociaux. L&acute;auteur de ce livre, nous prend par la main dans ce monde &quot;virtuel&quot; qui nous semble quelque peu aride &agrave; premi&egrave;re vue mais qui franchement nous offre aussi une impressionnante diversit&eacute; de voies, bien souvent inattendues, pour proposer au Monde, notre production artistique qui si elle n&acute;est pas vue, n&acute;existe pas. Pour tout cela, la lecture de ce manuel est hautement recommand&eacute;e. Gr&acirc;ce &agrave; elle, nous aurons plus de temps &agrave; d&eacute;dier &agrave; cr&eacute;er et que la &quot;machine&quot; fasse le reste. C&acute;est un bien amusant d&eacute;fi que voil&agrave;!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    I think this is an excellent book - very informative and interes

    I think this is an excellent book - very informative and interesting. It answered many of my questions regarding selling art and understanding the art world. I recommend it to all artists..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    This book is a great compliment to "Making it in the Art Wo

    This book is a great compliment to &quot;Making it in the Art World&quot; with wonderful new ways to being an artist in the 21st century and how to take advantage of all the new and exciting technology and social media the world has to offer. If you own the &quot;Making it in the Art World&quot; you need this up-to-date book as a tool for using social media and if not you need to get both. The way that the world has changed and the way that artist sell their works has changed making it imperative to change with it or go by the way of the dinosaurs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Brainard Carey has written a comprehensive and thoughtful book o

    Brainard Carey has written a comprehensive and thoughtful book on how to sell one's artwork on the internet. There is excellent information about how to navigate through the internet securely and successfully, as well as educational information about Facebook, Google and Twitter. Mr. Carey certainly has done his homework! &quot;New Markets For Artists&quot; is a lively book that will guide the artist from the initial creation of one's artwork, to the final process of placing the artwork online. A valuable book to own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Wading into the world of new media has been a challenge despite

    Wading into the world of new media has been a challenge despite the fact that I've worked with digital media since 1983. Brainard Carey's book provides useful information and encouragement and best of all it works! Sometimes we all need reforcement with new media to feel that we can reach out in virtual space and actually move our careers forward. His book provides the processes and tools to accomplish as little or as much as the user feels comfortable with. This book empowers the artist to feel comfortable throughout the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Yo creo que en este mundo hay 2 tipos de personas las que dan y

    Yo creo que en este mundo hay 2 tipos de personas las que dan y las que reciben, siendo los que dan personas con mucha sensibilidad para poder captar la falta de lo que necesitan los dem&aacute;s. Creia tambien que era la unica persona apasionada por la pintura,pero muy lejos de hacerlo como medio para ganar plata. En mi b&uacute;squeda encontre a Brainard Carey con su gran generosidad de compartir sus conocimientos y experiencias que aportan un gran equipaje para tomar otro viaje asia el &eacute;xito y valoraci&oacute;n del extracto de esencia que sacamos con cada manifestaci&oacute;n de arte. Muchas Gracias Mr. Brainard Carey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I live in Ecuador. Brainard Carey`s book ; New markets for art

    I live in Ecuador. Brainard Carey`s book ; New markets for artists gives me sooo much new information on how to sell my art using these great new media. Ebay and many available markets. Here in Ecuador it is really hard to get your art out to other countries and let people see it. I thank him soo much for all the information he is letting artist know and teaching us how they work . Great tools for all artists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2