BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

New Markets for Artists: How to Sell, Fund Projects, and Exhibit Using Social Media, DIY Pop-Ups, eBay, Kickstarter, and Much More

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Eaglestar

    ThunderClan cats, come back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Rockfur

    The medicine cat watches warily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Lightningpaw ()TC, Windypaw (WC), Streampaw (RC) & Shadepaw (SC)

    They pad in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Birchheart

    Sits and waits for the gathering to begin <p> in the futer can meetings be a little earlier because its 12:32 pm here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    BlueMoon

    He padded in and sat gaxing up at the leader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Shiningheart

    "May I request that ThunderClan move camp to result four? I got locked out and I didnt cuss pr anything."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Birchstar

    "I have spoken."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Creation is generally a lonely activity which requires commitmen

    Creation is generally a lonely activity which requires commitment and hard work; it consumes an exhaustive amount of time! And then what? What to do with that work? It has to be promoted, shown...This for many artists is the worst part of it! You can faint just by thinking of it!
    The truth is that Brainard Carey spots on supplying to &quot;creators&quot; of all kinds, the way to refrain them from pulling their hair off their heads during that process. The most efficient tool to accomplish that goal in this present time is obviously Internet and namely social networking. The author of this book leads us by the hand in this &quot;virtual&quot; world which could look inhospitable at first sight but frankly offering to us an impressive number of pathways, often unexpected, to propose to the world, our artistic work which if not seen, does not exist. This is why, the reading of this manual is highly advisable. With it, we will have more time to create and let the &quot;machine&quot; do the rest. This is all pure fun challenge!

    Crear es generalmente una actividad solitaria que requiere compromiso y trabajo, adem&aacute;s consume una enorme cantidad de tiempo! Y despu&eacute;s, qu&eacute; se hace con la Obra? Se promueve, se ense&ntilde;a...Eso, para muchos artistas es lo peor! Da flojera nada mas pensar en ello!
    La verdad, Brainard Carey le dio al clavo al proveer a los &quot;creadores&quot; de todo tipo, la forma de evitarles jalarse el pelo en este proceso. La herramienta m&aacute;s eficiente para hacerlo en la actualidad es obviamente Internet y en particular las redes sociales. El autor de este libro, nos toma de la mano en ese mundo &quot;virtual&quot; que puede parecer un poco inh&oacute;spito al primera vista pero que francamente nos ofrece tambi&eacute;n una impresionante variedad de caminos, muchas veces inesperados, de proponer al Mundo, nuestro quehacer art&iacute;stico que si no es visto, no existe. Por lo anterior, la lectura de este manual es altamente recomendable. Con ella tendremos mas tiempo para crear y que la &quot;maquina&quot; haga el resto. Es todo un reto divertido!

    Cr&eacute;er est g&eacute;n&eacute;ralement une activit&eacute; solitaire qui requiert autant engagement que travail, de plus celle-ci prend un temps fou! Et apr&egrave;s tout &ccedil;&agrave;, que fait-on de l&acute;oeuvre produite? On la promu, on la montre...Ceci, pour beaucoup d&acute;artistes c&acute;est la partie la plus d&eacute;sagr&eacute;able! Rien que d&acute;y penser nous donne le tournis! &Agrave; vrai dire, Brainard Carey a vis&eacute; juste en fournissant aux &quot;cr&eacute;ateurs&quot; de tous poils, le moyen de leur &eacute;viter de se tirailler les cheveux &agrave; ce sujet. L&acute;outil le plus efficace de nos jours est &eacute;videment l&acute;internet et en particulier les r&eacute;seaux sociaux. L&acute;auteur de ce livre, nous prend par la main dans ce monde &quot;virtuel&quot; qui nous semble quelque peu aride &agrave; premi&egrave;re vue mais qui franchement nous offre aussi une impressionnante diversit&eacute; de voies, bien souvent inattendues, pour proposer au Monde, notre production artistique qui si elle n&acute;est pas vue, n&acute;existe pas. Pour tout cela, la lecture de ce manuel est hautement recommand&eacute;e. Gr&acirc;ce &agrave; elle, nous aurons plus de temps &agrave; d&eacute;dier &agrave; cr&eacute;er et que la &quot;machine&quot; fasse le reste. C&acute;est un bien amusant d&eacute;fi que voil&agrave;!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    I think this is an excellent book - very informative and interes

    I think this is an excellent book - very informative and interesting. It answered many of my questions regarding selling art and understanding the art world. I recommend it to all artists..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    This book is a great compliment to "Making it in the Art Wo

    This book is a great compliment to &quot;Making it in the Art World&quot; with wonderful new ways to being an artist in the 21st century and how to take advantage of all the new and exciting technology and social media the world has to offer. If you own the &quot;Making it in the Art World&quot; you need this up-to-date book as a tool for using social media and if not you need to get both. The way that the world has changed and the way that artist sell their works has changed making it imperative to change with it or go by the way of the dinosaurs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Brainard Carey has written a comprehensive and thoughtful book o

    Brainard Carey has written a comprehensive and thoughtful book on how to sell one's artwork on the internet. There is excellent information about how to navigate through the internet securely and successfully, as well as educational information about Facebook, Google and Twitter. Mr. Carey certainly has done his homework! &quot;New Markets For Artists&quot; is a lively book that will guide the artist from the initial creation of one's artwork, to the final process of placing the artwork online. A valuable book to own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Wading into the world of new media has been a challenge despite

    Wading into the world of new media has been a challenge despite the fact that I've worked with digital media since 1983. Brainard Carey's book provides useful information and encouragement and best of all it works! Sometimes we all need reforcement with new media to feel that we can reach out in virtual space and actually move our careers forward. His book provides the processes and tools to accomplish as little or as much as the user feels comfortable with. This book empowers the artist to feel comfortable throughout the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Yo creo que en este mundo hay 2 tipos de personas las que dan y

    Yo creo que en este mundo hay 2 tipos de personas las que dan y las que reciben, siendo los que dan personas con mucha sensibilidad para poder captar la falta de lo que necesitan los dem&aacute;s. Creia tambien que era la unica persona apasionada por la pintura,pero muy lejos de hacerlo como medio para ganar plata. En mi b&uacute;squeda encontre a Brainard Carey con su gran generosidad de compartir sus conocimientos y experiencias que aportan un gran equipaje para tomar otro viaje asia el &eacute;xito y valoraci&oacute;n del extracto de esencia que sacamos con cada manifestaci&oacute;n de arte. Muchas Gracias Mr. Brainard Carey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    As a professional artist, I struggled trying to adapt to all the

    As a professional artist, I struggled trying to adapt to all the new media as I returned to the Art World and discovered the immense changes that had been happening so rapidly since my days in Art School _ Until I found Brainard Carey! His new book, New Markets for Artists: How to Sell, Fund Projects, and Exhibit Using Social Media, DIY Pop-Ups, eBay, Kickstarter, and Much More availed me of useful information to begin to promote my work online. It was written in an artist to artist conversational manner which I found enjoying to read. The material is easier to understand that any I have come across in all my searches. I will be recommending this book to my artist friends who are befuddled and don't believe they can learn how to integrate these tools into their professional lives. I now consider him to be a trusted new friend and I am looking forward with excitement to utilizing all details of this well written book of instruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    This is an informative and inspiring book for artists, written i

    This is an informative and inspiring book for artists, written in a friendly, accessible voice. It takes the mystery and fear out of using social media and the Internet to bolster one's career. Of particular help were the real life examples Brainard Carey gives. After reading just a few chapters I was eager to start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Brainard Carey is a gift to all professional artists struggling

    Brainard Carey is a gift to all professional artists struggling to make a mark on this vast and fast ever-changing Internet world. His writing is clear and logical as he guides you through the social media networks of Facebook, Twitter, etc., and how they relate to getting your work out to a larger audience. You, the reader and artist, are left feeling that you can be in control of all this once you understand their relative importance in creating an audience for your work. We all know that we have to embrace this brave new world or we will be left feeling more and more isolated. Mr. Carey helps us navigate the endless routes and options that are out there without ever dumbing-down or condescending. And because he is an original thinker and writer, he does this in an unique way. For example, Mr. Carey gives real-life examples that you can relate to your own circumstances. He never stereotypes and his message is simple without ever being glib: Make the Internet work for you and broaden your art world.
    In this book and his previous one- Making It in the Art World- Mr. Carey reveals his down-to-earth personality and genuine warmth for artists, audience, and business. He makes it clear that anything worth cultivating takes time in small and DAILY amounts: you must be patient but persistent. His message is real and honest and wholistic: Getting your work out to the world is just a necessary extension of being an artist. Thank you Mr. Carey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    What was the use of opening a Facebook page and a Twitter accoun

    What was the use of opening a Facebook page and a Twitter account for me before reading the first 62 pages of New Markets for Artists? Next to none. Thanks to its concise and down-to-earth approach, this is a marvel of a DIY guide to turning IT into a practical and realistic tool, indispensable for artists and probably for many other professionals as well. Jairo &ldquo;Jay&rdquo; G&oacute;mez

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Having been out of the field for the last two decades, I got bac

    Having been out of the field for the last two decades, I got back in reading four books and endless articles that discuss modern strategies. Despite dropping names and providing an overabundance of links, they didn't quite clarify how to use the new opportunities. This book seems the missing link. As an artist, I want to see a beautiful result and not get caught up in discussions that leave me ungrounded in actually knowing how to make things happen. Learning on one's own takes a lot of time and can leave many gaps in what's assembled. Here is a book that'll lay down much of the path for me, saving my energy for doing the actual art. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    I haven't even gotten through this book and I know it's going to

    I haven't even gotten through this book and I know it's going to become an awesome resource for me. I have been an artist for many years mostly just selling to locals or friends across the country but I've seen what a great tool social media can be. I do have a fulltime job so the time I can spare from artwork to spend on marketing my artwork is limited. Unfortunately I wasn't really sure which way to turn. I had tried a few outlets with limited or no success. Just the first chapter of New Markets for Artists has opened my eyes to uses and possible avenues that I hadn't even considered. I've already looked into some of them and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the book to really get my artwork out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Brainard Carey is wonderful person who gave us possibility to ha

    Brainard Carey is wonderful person who gave us possibility to have different view being an artist or not.
    He always gives us support to open ourselves and our minds, not to be ashamed and closed to much for another experience and contacts. His book showed us and gave us courage to see ourselves from different point of view and also to promote our qualities and to change some bad habits like shames and living in a past condition. His new book is the best !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2