BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

New Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 10697 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7186)

4 Star

(1976)

3 Star

(923)

2 Star

(288)

1 Star

(324)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

great series

Enjoyed this series, loved the book. Totally awesome

posted by vickytren on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Oh my...

I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella...
I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella. I enjoyed reading about Bella and Jacob's friendship, but Bella was always so depressing. If you're okay with that, this book is still very well written and worth it. I half wish she'd just ended it with Twilight, though.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 10735 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 537
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great series

    Enjoyed this series, loved the book. Totally awesome

    53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Oh my...

    I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella. I enjoyed reading about Bella and Jacob's friendship, but Bella was always so depressing. If you're okay with that, this book is still very well written and worth it. I half wish she'd just ended it with Twilight, though.

    44 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    All good things are worth waiting for.

    This is the perfect continuation to the first book in the series "Twilight". Slow to start and heart wrenching to read the book continues with impeccable force. It pulls your emotions every which way and once it gets to exactly where you want it to be - it sure doesnt disappoint.<BR/>The first book is still better but the ending to this one is absolutely gut wrenching on the edge of your seat amazing.<BR/>I'm not saying the beginning is not good because It is still excellent. It just doesnt start out with the fire it ends with.<BR/>As they say- all good things are worth waiting for.

    31 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book!

    Although skeptical at the beginning being an adult reading young adult novels, I totally fell in love with this series. This book pulled me in just as much as the first - I could not put it down. If only good vampires like the Cullens actually existed! ;-)

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Great book!!!!!!!!

    I have never been much of a reader but I sat down and read this entire Twilight series in less than a week!! I was hooked. You feel a real connection with the characters. You care about them. I would highly recommend this book to anyone out there!!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Murder me instead of her...

    When I first finished reading this I thought "For an author to make the readers hate the the main character so much is such an accomplishment." But then I started realizing that she didn't do it on purpose. And I thought "Holy Merlin, kill her now!"

    In New Moon poor Bella becomes all emotional and depressed because the "love of her life" Edward has left her. But oh no she's starting to like someone else called Jacob. "How is this possible?" she thinks. "I am just but a 17-so year old girl. That's not normal!" (I never really got how old she was in this thing) I was seriously starting to hate this character, this book, and this author. I mean reading 300+ pages of her whining and whining and whining can drive someone crazy. And I only read this book to see what happens at the end because I hate unfinished stories.

    But the point is that, this story basically has no plot, it doesn't have that excitment to keep you going, unless you count Bella jumping off a cliff exciting to the max. The characters have no personality at all. I mean it would have been a thousand times better if Bella started standing up for herself saying that she didn't need a man because that's what we call character progression. Something that this series lacked.
    All we learned was that Bella loves Edward even more than she did before, is that even possible? And that if he wasn't with her she would die.

    It also lacks what some of these novels lack today. She had the perfect chance to show how women are capable to care for themselves and don't need a backbone to always be there. But yet it didn't. Bella is the PERFECT character to say, "Hey ladies you're nothing without a man! Get one today at half price!" And that's pretty pathetic.
    Way to show off female power and independence SMeyer. You're a right old cup of brandy.

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Wow!

    In "Twilight" you fall in love with Edward. New Moom makes you fall in love with Jacob! Fantastic book!

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Losing Everything

    Bella has everything going well for her. Her boyfriend is perfect, she and her dad are actually talking, and she has no one wanting to kill her. Or so she thinks. In New Moon by Stephanie Meyer, Bella has finally been able to settle down with Edward after having some problems in the past. Stephanie still gives the vampire thing a whole new meaning, and she also makes you think differently about your family. Edward has to go through some tough situations with leaving and everything and his family is always there to help him. <BR/>Bella and Edward are doing really well together, until Jasper accidentally tries to attack her. Now Edward feels he needs to leave her because he is always putting her in danger. She is completely broken hearted by this all, and not to mention, now Victoria wants to kill her. In the hurt of all this, she meets a new boy, Jacob Black. He becomes her best friend and they are inseparable. He helps her through all her tough times, but then all of a sudden he stops talking to her and everything goes down hill from there. He doesn¿t talk to her for weeks, and when he finally does he is rude. He has turned into something completely different from her Jacob. She goes to do something crazy, and Alice thinks she¿s trying to kill herself. She comes back to Bella to find that she is alive. Now everyone in Edwards¿s family thinks that Bella is dead so Edward wants to kill himself. She goes through a lot to get to him and finally does. They all move back to Forks, and Bella gets her life back. Except for her life with Jacob who now won¿t talk to her at all because Jacob and Edward are enemies. <BR/>Your family will always be willing to help you with your problems, just like Carlisle (Edward¿s Father) and Esme (Edward¿s Mother) help Edward with his life. This is a wonderful book and you won¿t be disappointed.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    Really? This whiny girl and her boring suitors are a literary hit?

    This is obviously a book series for people who don't generally read books. I'm amazed at how many grown-ups find it anything less than irritating. The writing is mediocre, the plots thin, and the characters - OMG! Can Bella be any whinier and clumsier? Will she ever develop a higher self-esteem? Can this girl's parents talk to her about not being so obsessed with a guy at her young age and to take school and life seriously? How many possibly ways can we describe Edward's cold, hard body? He's a stud, I get it, but he sounds like a BORE! I am not finishing the series and I don't care what happens to them all. I will create my own ending: Bella is "turned" by Edward when she is in her mid-50s, at which time she has grown some grey hairs, has gained some weight, her boobs sag, and she has developed her first wrinkles. Jake is chained to the backyard as their pet. Edward is tired of people asking if his date is his grandma, so he kills her. Jake eats him. The End.

    16 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Hated this book

    I loved Twilight and this book just reminded me why I'm so glad I'm not a teenager anymore. I'm sad because I really wanted to finish the series and if I hadn't already pre-bought the other two, I wouldn't bother. Bella's constant whining and the predictable plot twists. Her constant desire to be 'turned' yet won't get married??? How unrealistic is that?

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Fan of Twilight......this was a let down.....

    I read Twilight and was intrigued. I read New Moon and wondered what happened to Meyer's ability to keep a reader engaged. This book dragged on and on and by the time it picked up, it was 475 pages in! That is a bit much. I forced myself to finish reading it and was left disappointed. I am up in the air about reading Eclipse, because I simply cannot waste more time waiting for things to get good.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my favorite

    I think new moon was a very fun and exciting book. The authour stephenie meyer writes this series in first person perspective. when you read the book from bella's perspective you get to feel her emotions. I think that this book is the best book of the because it introduces you to charecters that were minor charecters and makes them very important to the series. It lets you create your own opinion about what the books next turn should be, and make you want to read the other two books. This turn in the story is something very unexpected, thats why its such a good story. It's almost the complete opisite of the first and it complicates bella's life and if i would probably say that when you read the books you fall in love with the series and it'll probably become your favorite book series. I would recomend this book to anybody who's looking for some thing fun and exciting to read. it is my favorite book series.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to let go

    I read this book in a day. I just felt sucked in by the damn plot. I was so angry that Edward left Bella...but I still couldn't let the book go. I had to find out more. It's like a drug. I'm already on Eclipse. it's and awesome series. Definitely a must read.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    New Moon!

    This second book in the twilight series has brought even more depth to the series and allows you to see more of the Quileute tribe. At first I was hesitant about Jacob and didn't quite know if I liked him or not. He eventually won me over as he did with Bella in the story. Many of my friends who love the series think the character Jacob in the story is annoying and gets in the way but I think he adds even more to the storyline. He is an example of a possible life Bella could have if she lets Edward go and tries to live a somewhat of a normal life. It makes her see that life doesn't always have to revolve around Edward and that someone else can have meaning in her life. I think that this book is excellent as are all the books in the twilight series and keeps you on the edge of your seat!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    New Moon Review

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: New Moon, Stephanie Meyer
    Title of review: New Moon
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5


    New Moon is definitely a New York Time's Best Seller Novel. This action packed book includes: Suspense, action, violence, and not to mention romance.


    Almost one year after meeting the love of her 'existence' and vampire, Edward Cullen, Bella is faced with the obstacles that come with true love. To protect Bella, Edward leaves her broken and alone. The only person who can make her feel somewhat whole again is her best friend, Jacob Black, but like Edward he has a secret. Bella learns that one simple mistake that she made may now cost her, her loves existence. Bella must now go out and save Edward, fix Jacob's broken heart, and survive the chase of an old predator, but is love exactly enough?


    New Moon really shows how creative Stephanie Meyer is when it comes to her writing. I was hooked from the very first page and could not put it down for more than fifteen minutes. This could be an incredible bibliotherapy for young teens or anyone who is trying to overcome a tough break up. This book would be great for teenage girls thirteen and above. Mythical creatures, suspense, blood, sadness, and true love; what more could you ask for in a novel?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    WAY Too Repetitive

    Seriously, I LOVE the Twilight Series but this book just doesn't cut it. Besides the fact that the author makes her look like she needs a guy, it is also very perplexing. Read if you like repetitious and boring books. Personally, I'm just reading to get to Eclipse. I was hoping it would be as great as the first but... eh. I guess not.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Completely overrated............

    Twilight was decent, and then this......I had to force myself to finish this, the author goes on and on and on about Edward and his pale beautiful face........enough already....poor writing style, doesn't get to the point, these books should be about 250 pages max, not 500 plus........dont waste your time on this series........

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Best out of Twilight series

    I have read all of the Twilight books so far 'not including Breaking Dawn' and New Moon was by far the best out of all of them. I would recommend reading Twilight first however, since then this book will be easier to understand. But if u love tragic love stories, this book will definitely satisfy you. This book is amazing. and so is Jacob Black.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    A Predictable Sequel to Twilight

    To be fair, I only read Twilight because a friend of mine wanted somebody to discuss its popularity in light of what he called 'Awful' writing. After Twilight I leaned toward his negative perspective of her writing. However, being a committed reader I decided to continue on with the series. To its credit, New Moon was precisely what I expected of a sequel to Twilight. I found it just as nominally written and also painfully predictable. I always struggle with maintaining interest in a book when I can see every plot 'twist' in the story line. Furthermore, listening to Bella's endless, repetative heartache became tedious at times, not because it was not believable but instead because Bella voiced the feelings in the same manner over and over again. That is not to say that some elements in the book were not enjoyable and heartfelt. I found Jacob to be a fun character in the begining, before his feverous transformation. On a side note, it always frustrated me that Bella could not see that she treated him much the same way that Edward treated Bella in the begining of Twilight. Unfortunately I often found myself reading quickly just to get past parts I was bored with so I could get to the parts I cared about. Thus, I cannot advise reading it unless you love melodramatic writing and are willing to read several pages of excess writing in order to get to an unimaginative finale. On the whole, overrated but decent.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I enjoyed reading this book. It's an amazing series.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 10735 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 537