Customer Reviews for

New Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 10673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7170)

4 Star

(1972)

3 Star

(921)

2 Star

(288)

1 Star

(322)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

great series

Enjoyed this series, loved the book. Totally awesome

posted by vickytren on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Oh my...

I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella...
I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella. I enjoyed reading about Bella and Jacob's friendship, but Bella was always so depressing. If you're okay with that, this book is still very well written and worth it. I half wish she'd just ended it with Twilight, though.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 288 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Oh my...

    I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella. I enjoyed reading about Bella and Jacob's friendship, but Bella was always so depressing. If you're okay with that, this book is still very well written and worth it. I half wish she'd just ended it with Twilight, though.

    43 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    Really? This whiny girl and her boring suitors are a literary hit?

    This is obviously a book series for people who don't generally read books. I'm amazed at how many grown-ups find it anything less than irritating. The writing is mediocre, the plots thin, and the characters - OMG! Can Bella be any whinier and clumsier? Will she ever develop a higher self-esteem? Can this girl's parents talk to her about not being so obsessed with a guy at her young age and to take school and life seriously? How many possibly ways can we describe Edward's cold, hard body? He's a stud, I get it, but he sounds like a BORE! I am not finishing the series and I don't care what happens to them all. I will create my own ending: Bella is "turned" by Edward when she is in her mid-50s, at which time she has grown some grey hairs, has gained some weight, her boobs sag, and she has developed her first wrinkles. Jake is chained to the backyard as their pet. Edward is tired of people asking if his date is his grandma, so he kills her. Jake eats him. The End.

    16 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Hated this book

    I loved Twilight and this book just reminded me why I'm so glad I'm not a teenager anymore. I'm sad because I really wanted to finish the series and if I hadn't already pre-bought the other two, I wouldn't bother. Bella's constant whining and the predictable plot twists. Her constant desire to be 'turned' yet won't get married??? How unrealistic is that?

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Fan of Twilight......this was a let down.....

    I read Twilight and was intrigued. I read New Moon and wondered what happened to Meyer's ability to keep a reader engaged. This book dragged on and on and by the time it picked up, it was 475 pages in! That is a bit much. I forced myself to finish reading it and was left disappointed. I am up in the air about reading Eclipse, because I simply cannot waste more time waiting for things to get good.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Completely overrated............

    Twilight was decent, and then this......I had to force myself to finish this, the author goes on and on and on about Edward and his pale beautiful face........enough already....poor writing style, doesn't get to the point, these books should be about 250 pages max, not 500 plus........dont waste your time on this series........

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    New Moon needs a new author!

    I don't honestly know where to start with this one... but if you haven't read this, I don't recommend reading on. I hate spoiling stuff for people. I suppose I'll start with the beginning...

    Edward is gone. Ditched Bella at the end of the last book. Bella once again violates the norm. Unlike most normal high school girls, who are bummed, eat ice cream and bash the ex with friends and move on, Bella slips into a virtually catatonic depression. So much so, that she literally misses 6 months or so of her life. This is ridiculous! She met the dude, was sleeping with him within a day or two of their first date, professing undying love right off the bat, and the world ends with his departure! Stephenie Meyer has obviously not been in high school for a VERY long time! Yes, high school girls can be a bit melodramatic, but seriously?!

    I mean, read this passage... Charlie (her dad) is talking to Alice (Edward's sister) about Bella's depression. Bella interjects a thought in the flow of the conversation for the sake of the reader:

    "It was like someone had died--like I had died. Because it had been more than just losing the truest of true loves, as if that were not enough to kill anyone. It was also losing a whole future, a whole family--the whole life that I'd chosen..."

    She's 18... most people these days don't get married until they're around 30. She has a LOT of time to find another love (ahem, Jacob), get married, have a family... Melodramatic!

    Then, Edward returns at the end of the book, swearing he was doing it for her and he had never stopped loving her and he would never leave her again. She immediately welcomes him back into her life (and her bed) without hesitation! Really?? Here sits Jacob, a sweet guy who has treated her with nothing but respect and was there for her when no one else was... he brought her out of her depression, was able to make her smile again, loved her even as the damaged goods she was... And who does she choose?!?! The prick who left her wandering in the forest! Even when Jacob was going through the most horrible and terrifying phase of his life, he managed to make time for Bella, to see her and make sure she was ok. And at the end of it all, she picks the jerk, because she's brainwashed herself into thinking she and Edward are soul mates.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for a younger audience, not much for me.

    I am a 30 year old woman so for me it was not a very good read. I believe that this books are directed to a teenage market, and if you are a teenager or a tween go ahead and read this book, I think you would like it. For a more mature audience that likes vampire books try the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Worst of the TWILIGHT Series

    Don't get me wrong, I love the Twilight Series. This book was about a 2-1/2 star for me though. Twilight left you on a major cliff-hanger, and I was excited to start New Moon, but after Bella's birthday party, the story got unbelievably uneventful. I didn't really understand the whole Italy-travel-thing. I got the main idea, but then I was lost. All in all, I think the book was not the best addition to the TWILIGHT series. I would, however, still recommend reading the rest of the series. This book did put a damper on my love of Twilight, but I still think the series are great and well worth reading.<BR/><BR/>Happy Reading,<BR/>Izzie_B

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    Really?

    Tales of teenaged vampires and their hormonal, mortal high school sweethearts is the tripe that passes for modern fiction? It is amazing how books for young readers become more boorish and fantastical with each new trend; more amazingly still is how popular these books have become for adults. Meyer's writing abilities notwithstanding, the subject matter neither is new or twists on classic vampire fiction, but is more of the typical perceptions of the fanged undead, only wrapped in a pretty box with a bow, which does little to appeal to mature readers. Meyer's novel is cute at best and insufferable at worst.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    I love twilight but new moon was very disappointing

    I am 15 years old and from New York, but I read twilight and loved it. I did not like new moon because of Bella. the whole book is focused on her moping and whining it was repetitive and painful to keep reading. I lost total faith in Bella as a person i think she demeans teenagers, we are not this mopey or weak. Her boyfriend left her she should get over it already or at least try. Iam very upset that Bella chose to act like a 5 year old throughout the whole book because i think the bella in twilight was so much stronger and a better person. I think that Jacob was a redeeming quality in this book. I really liked his character I felt that he was a real person and I love how Stephenie put life into his character.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Two Stars for Effort

    I went into New Moon wanting to like it, and in certain sections I will admit that I did. Naturally I am a fan of Meyer¿s previous book, Twilight, and was expecting to see at least a hearty attempt to recreate the magic that Twilight spun in excess. New Moon revolves like a flat tire the story was trying to get somewhere, but the going was rough, uncomfortable, and by the ending all I could think of was the word ¿unsatisfactory¿. In New Moon we are tossed into a story of separated lovers, and the book makes no attempt to tone down the obvious allusions to Shakespeare. This is Romeo and Juliet, Edward and Bella style. It gets so heavy handed that in more than a few places Bella is actively casting herself, Edward and Jacob into prominent roles in the play, and Edward takes the suicide plot and runs with it far beyond necessary. I appreciate the attempts by the author to explain just how deep the connection is between Bella and Edward, but the Romeo and Juliet plotline is a recycled one at best, and it quickly grows sour when layered so thickly over the narrative. Besides Bella and Edward¿s love `til death or suicide drama, Jacob Black is a revitalizing breath of fresh air. The newly inherited ability to turn into a werewolf adds Jacob in as an interesting dynamic to Bella¿s life (and love life) that I sincerely hope Meyer continues to play with the meaning of what Jacob is to Bella besides a second option to Edward. It would be unfair to cast Jacob as a plainly obvious second fiddle to Edward when he has so much potential. As far as Bella, while at first her clumsy antics were amusing they also fall flat in New Moon. Bella¿s accidental ability to injure herself flies off the chart in New Moon, so much so that I found myself skimming past her new and not so ingenious ways of torturing herself for the fleeting seconds when her subconscious summons up Edward¿s voice in order to tell her how to not act like a clumsy fool. There had to be a better way of passing her time without Edward. For one: growing up would have suited Bella nicely. She¿s 18, yet everyone in New Moon manages to treat her as either an invalid or an infant, either saving her from herself or actively carting, hauling, or carrying her around. The moment Bella stands up for herself and takes care of herself will be a landmark in this book series, because she spends so much time mourning Edward¿s loss and so much time trying to patch Jacob into the holes Edward previously filled you must wonder when Bella can fix herself rather than relying on her male friends to figure it out for her. By the end of the book, the nature of Bella and Edward¿s relationship changes little. Edward comes back, scolds Bella for having acted so insane in his presence because of course he loves her, Bella is shocked that he does indeed love her (although I thought that was already established, and if not why was he trying to commit suicide if he didn¿t love her?) and Edward¿s still immaturely gung ho on suicide, no matter Bella¿s say in it. Overall, a New Moon is a disappointing follow-up. Things felt rushed and ultimately pointless, not to mention the numerous typos found in a first edition copy. Twilight is still a wonderful story, but I can¿t say that I¿m liking where the story is going.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    So sorry

    This book was not nearly as good as the first. It was nice to read about a male character besides Edward for once. But the lack of control Bella has over her life/emotions in this book is just plain frustrating. I actually liked this book a lot until Edward returned, afterwards I found the book to be just a lesser version of book 1 - and even more infuriating. Plot is still not developed as much as the reader would want and you pretty much finish the book just to do so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Team Edward all the way down with New Moon

    I hated New Moon.
    But as my title says I like Edward. New Moon was not bad but it wasn't my favorite of the books. I didn't like it but you can find 40 thousand people say they hate adn 40 thousand say the love .,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fine, call me crazy...

    I did NOT like this book!! and call me weird is was partly because of JACOB! Jacob is so annyoing and boring in new moon. And him and bella is a no no! the rest of the books were great, but new moon... So heres the thing the only good parts about this book is the begining and whe alice comes, but when edward leaves.. teh story trns to blah! all she does is whine and cry over the fact that edward left her. And you want to know the TRUTH i bought the book read up to when she got into depression and didnt read the books for 2 months, then i went back to just finish it and move on! and jacobs a werewolf, come one who didnt know that! well it was OBVIOUS but COMON, you should at least have a feeling! People like this book, but i certenly didnt! I dont reccomend this book, but if you like twilight READ THIS BOOK LIKE I DID, so you can undersand the rest of the 2 books!
    ~signed yours the bookworm

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meyers' disappointing sequel.

    I read Twilight and thoroughly enjoyed and (yes I'm a guy)it but New Moon didn't have the same effect on me. Probably New Moons' biggest fault is that Edward and his family are absent through most of the book, being replaced by Jacob Black who had a small role in Twilight and is Bellas' new lover in NM. While Jacob is pretty likable he just doesn't reach that level of chemistry between Bella and Edward. The bottom line is that New Moon just isn't nearly as good as Twilight and doesn't really move the narrative any further along.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    GIVE ME BUFFY ANY TIME

    When it comes to teenage girls hopelessly smitten by the undead, I'll take Buffy Summers over Bella Swan any day. Bella's whiny, "woe is me", passive teen is a throwback to a pre-feminist time. Her mom is less mature than Bella, her Dad is a TV sports addict paralyzed by the slightest demonstration of emotion and Bella is just lame. I had to read the first novel, just to see what the fuss was about - it wasn't too bad, but the second one is just a nauseating wallow of relentless self-pity. There is no humor, no lightness, just relentless gloom. At least the titles accurately describe the atmosphere.

    It is hardly surprising that Bella wants to be undead - reading this dreck made me want to slit my own wrists and invite the Cullens over for a snack.

    What is up with this generation? They simply seem to sit around "Waiting on the World to Change" bemoaning their lives as if they were filled with misery and strife, expecting something outside themselves to make it better. Bella epitomizes this - reveling in her victimhood - she's a klutz, a child of a broken home, a loner and of course, wildly in love with a Vampire. She is reactive, not proactive. The other characters range from stereotypical to vaporous, with no real depth to any of them.

    Meyer writes with a banal triteness (only so redundant a phrase will suffice to demonstrate this) that rivals a tween's diary. Her plot devices are so clearly telegraphed that anyone with an IQ higher than a sponge can figure out what will happen next. For instance, Bella's best friend is a werewolf, but who would have guessed?- except, that is, for the fact that the whole thing was set up in 'Twilight' when we learned about the mysterious pact between the humans and the Cullens; hints that were dropped with all the subtlety and intrigue of a Mardi Gras float.

    It scares me that so many young women are deeply enamoured of Bella - she is everything they need to eschew in order to succeed - except for the fact that Bella seems to be an exceptionally responsible person with regard to school and home life. If they want to emulate a high school girl who loves a monster, I recommend joining Netflix and watching the entire "Buffy, the Vampire Slayer" series - which is a romantic, clever, funny, moving, well-written saga about the subject, with finely drawn characters and a far more believable picture of high school - even though this one sits on the mouth of Hell - and a heroine who is independent, smart and strong, with a fierce sense of justice and duty and who knows she can survive if her undead honey takes a hike. "Buffy" is everything that "The Twilight Saga" and Bella Swan are not.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    Pathetic, a Disgrace to Literature

    New Moon is horrendous, it makes a fool out of women. What person is as PATHETIC as bella? To show that bella is so dependant on edward is sad, and shows that bella has about no will power. To every person who finds this book ground breaking, fantastic, or even good needs a realitiy check. Also stephenie meyer's writings are in no possible way in leage with Anne Rice. One diffrence is although both deal with the supernatural Anne Rice makes the characters realistic and deep while stephenie meyers are unbelievable and really are fantasy. New Moon does not deserve the reviews it receives. Pathetic, Disgraceful, not worth the time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    The only redeeming part of New Moon was Jacob Black. Whiny Bella

    The only redeeming part of New Moon was Jacob Black. Whiny Bella becomes even whinier. Instead of trying to face her problems and move on from them, she decides to mope around instead. This book is a bad example of how girls should react to relationship problems. If girls followed Bella Swan as a remodel, society would be forced to deal with a bunch of whiny, pathetic teenagers who can't handle their own problems and aren't ready for anything as serious as love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    idk if i should choose edward or jup February 16,2013 Id

    Idk if i should choose edward or jacob.Help me anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Honestly

    Harry Potter- the boy who lived, Katniss Everdeen- the girl on fire, Bella Swan- the girl who did nothig

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 288 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15