Customer Reviews for

New Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 10663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7163)

4 Star

(1971)

3 Star

(920)

2 Star

(287)

1 Star

(322)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

great series

Enjoyed this series, loved the book. Totally awesome

posted by vickytren on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Oh my...

I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella...
I read the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed. It instantly became one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this second book was disappointing. After everything they've been through, Edward decides to leave, and we're left with a moping and suicidal Bella. I enjoyed reading about Bella and Jacob's friendship, but Bella was always so depressing. If you're okay with that, this book is still very well written and worth it. I half wish she'd just ended it with Twilight, though.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1971 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 99
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    All good things are worth waiting for.

    This is the perfect continuation to the first book in the series "Twilight". Slow to start and heart wrenching to read the book continues with impeccable force. It pulls your emotions every which way and once it gets to exactly where you want it to be - it sure doesnt disappoint.<BR/>The first book is still better but the ending to this one is absolutely gut wrenching on the edge of your seat amazing.<BR/>I'm not saying the beginning is not good because It is still excellent. It just doesnt start out with the fire it ends with.<BR/>As they say- all good things are worth waiting for.

    30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New moon..

    Its good a little slower of a read then the others but none the less a good book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Bella and Jacob

    New Moon is the 2nd book in the Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer. I have to admit, I enjoyed this book more than Twilight. Although, I'm not sure why. The story begins with Bella dreading her 18th birthday. The older she becomes, Edward will still be a '17 year old' boy. This troubles Bella and intensifies her desire to become a vampire. Much to her chagrin, she agrees to having a birthday celebration at Edward's house with his family. During the event, something happens and causes Edward to rethink their relationship. Edward and his family leave Forks, sending Bella spiraling into depression. Her father becomes so worried about her, that he considers scheduling a psych eval for her. Bella slowly starts to re-emerge and attempts to move on without Edward. Which leads her to Jacob. Bella finds herself leaning on Jacob to fill the void of Edward and Jacob's feelings for Bella continues to grow. Over the course of their relationship, we discover Jacob's secret (which isn't hard to figure out if you paid close attention to Jacob's story about the 'cold ones' in Twilight). When Bella discovers the secret, she begins to understand the hatred Jacob has for Edward and the Cullens. I won't say much more so I won't risk revealing too much of the plot. I will say that I enjoyed this book, so much so that I stayed up until 3:00 a.m. to finish it. I liked that Jacob was more prominent in this book. I thought Twilight was a good introduction to his character which led to more character development in New Moon. I'm on the fence about Bella though. I'm just not sure if I like her. She's very manipulative and selfish. It's all about her relationship with Edward and she easily disregards other people in her life. Am I on Team Edward or Team Jacob? Well, the verdict is still out on that one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    New Moon- Sarah Cardente

    This book is a hit for a reason. The second in the Twilight series, New Moon continues the luster of the first book. Bella, let by Edward falls into a slum, she quits living and is like a zombie wandering about. Bella is quit a girl, personally I think that she truly follows her heart in everything- which not many people do. Charlie, her father, who is only looking out for her best intrests, is very very worried. When Bella starts to hang out with Jacob an old family friend, she comes back to life. Jacob has grown up from the boy she used to know him as, they get along well with Jacob's humor and Bella's new found humor they immediatly become best friends. Bella takes sudden trips on the wild side,and she now lives for danger- now that shes looking for it, its not hard to find. This whole book is filled with twists and turns. You never know where Bella's danger hunting, her new (and old) friends, and her choices will take her. I would reccomend New Moon to any one, mothers and daughters, fathers and sons alike. If you like adventure, action, and romance this book is a sure fire hit for you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Well...

    New Moon Is A GREAT BOOK. i was kinda fillery between the other two. And i finished it in like like a day. But it was hard. Bella kinda ruined it, she was too WHINY for my taste. Her constant wanting for attention and 'flinging herself off a cliff to hear Edwards voice' was annoying. If anything she's the problem. I think that she needs to be a stronger character, b/c all she did for me was make me hate her. Bella is too Selfish.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    New moon

    I love x300 this book



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    enjoyable

    good story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    More like 4.5 stars, actually! New Moon was an amazing sequel to

    More like 4.5 stars, actually! New Moon was an amazing sequel to Twilight. While the lack of Edward in this one was the real cause for me to give the book only 4.5 stars (I hate it when a major character is cut out of a book for so long, especially when he's part of the romance angle of the story), I really enjoyed how the author brought Jacob more fully into the picture. I enjoyed how she developed his character, not only as Bella's best friend, someone she comes to love dearly, but also in his development as a werewolf (something else I knew was going to happen before I read the books. I guess I caught too many of the trailers in theaters when the movies were coming out ;) ). Stephenie Meyer didn't disappoint where style and quality was concerned either. I felt Bella's heartbreak deeply in this book and thought that, being written in the first person, it was very well portrayed to the reader. Edward was her first love, her Romeo, and when he left her thinking he didn't love her after all, it tore a hole in her chest that would never be healed.
    Once again, I was completely hooked like I was when I read Twilight. New Moon was excellently written and kept me reading. Only slightly slow at times before it would pick up again. I missed Edward and the Cullens a lot in this story. While I've come to really, really like Jacob's character, no one could replace the Cullens. ;) When I first picked up the Twilight series, I never dreamed that I would eat them up so quickly! These are definitely the kind of books that can only go two ways. You can either love them so much you don't want the series to end, or you can hate them so much you want to tear the book apart. I am among those who don't want the series to end. Surprising considering all the different opinions of my friends (and the fact that I normally don't care for the 'human falling for vampire' thing). :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Anoynous

    This a really good book. The first part if the book is depressing because she is moping around, but the end makes up for it. I recommend it to ages 11-20

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New Moon Turns New Emotional Corners

    In Stephanie Meyers book, New Moon, many emotions are shared as well as many different themes. This book starts off where Twilight left off, Bella's (the main character) birthday, where more danger is found than you would think. Bella is inches away from death. The Cullens (Vampires) realize that the only way for Bella to be completely safe is for them to leave her. Bella is soon faced in the hardest position, having to say goodbye to her vampire boyfriend forever-or is it really forever? Depressed and emotionless, she must find a new way to occupy her time. But, was leaving Bella really the best way to keep her safe? Bella soon realizes there is a part of Edward still left in her and she will go as far as almost killing herself to get to it. But how far "Edward" will let her venture is soon to be discovered. Bella soon finds herself rushing to save Edward, because of her selfishness. Find out what happens in the sequel to the heart throbbing Twilight book, New Moon.

    There were many things that I really liked and then some other things that Meyers could have left out. The sensory details were amazing! I could picture every scene and picture every character as she described. I personally like shorter chapters, and these ones tended to drone on and on. So, if long chapters make you impatient or bored this might not be the best book for you. Also, I noticed that Meyers tended to wander off topic or stayed on a topic too long, which made the book less enjoyable. I also didn't like the ending as well as the ending in Twilight. It was unpredictable and kind of rushed. She didn't take enough time, in my opinion to really stretch out the ending, make more sense of it. One thing, however that I really liked was that Meyers brought Jacob Black back into the story. She takes a good portion of the book to expand Jacob and Billy's characters. And you get to see how Jacob and Bella's relationship grows as friends while Edward is gone.

    If you saw the movie as well, don't expect to know what the book contains, the movie leaves out more and has you questioning the end. You will understand more of the relationship between the Cullens and the Quileutes. Plus, the book focuses more on the background of Carlisle and his work with one of the most honored and dangerous vampires, the Volturi. Another part that I found really interesting was when Carlisle explained Edward's past and why Edward was changed into a vampire. I highly recommend this book, whether you're reading for pleasure, a book report, or whatever else the reason may be, you won't be disappointed, just keep reading on and trust me, it gets immensely better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the 1st was better

    headline says it all. Feels like the 2nd book was drug out way too far

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    Twilight was better; but this one was still fun.

    Liked Twilight better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romeo and Juliet monster style

    The follow-up to "Twilight" has its sweet and tender spots but overall there's a lot of aching and misery that surrounds Bella. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and as usual it left me craving more but overall I can't say there's one theme to it, a lot is going on and most of it revolves around Bella's new relationship with her new best friend Jacob Black, the tale spreads out and tries to deal with everything at once but is still very enjoyable and impossible to put down. An incident that foolishly convinces Edward to leave Bella alone and to move on leaves her with an aching heart as she becomes a shadow of her former self. Only though Jacob and his warm, sunny personality she comes out a bit but feels a bit shocked that she can indeed feel things again. He rescues her mentally and also helps her out when she's lost in the forest with something that is ready to pounce on her. Jacob really grew on me, it actually made me forget all about Edward, which was kinda funny, and even though he's still dealing with growing up and stuff that has to do with his family he's a great character that's easy to like, at least in this book, who knows what will happen next since he hates Edward with all his might and the poor vampire isn't' really a bad guy, even if he is a vampire.

    I adored reading about Bella and Jacob's relationship, their sweet and cute friendship that seemed to border on romance even though she made it clear that her heart is still taken, that was the best part of the book and it was exceptionally well written. The love between Bella and Edward was still there but it wasn't as hot and frantic as in book one. New Moon brings in a lot of new exciting characters, the werewolves and Italian vampires add a lot of drama and danger only to further complicate Bella's world. Who knew that moving would put her in midst of a primordial battle between forces that have always hated each other? Her desires to be turned into a vampire is as strong as every, but one little problem is pestering her, if she's bitten then the truce between the wolves and vampires will be broken, and neither side wants to lose.

    - Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    luv it

    luv it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Good book, but not as good as the first

    Of course I liked reading New Moon, it's an amazing series. This one didn't capture me as quickly as Twilight did but it was still a good read. It took me until about half way through the book to get pulled in to the point where I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    A fun read

    I enjoyed this series and found myself very eager to start each new book to find out what was going to happen. Feels like Meyer set it up for another series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meet Jacob!

    New Moon is usually a little slower to read if you're obsessed with Edward Cullen, because he's not in it as much as Twilight or the other 2 books of the saga. This book builds on the relationship between Bella & Jacob. Jacob becomes a real important character later on in the saga and this book seems to be leading up to that point. For me it was a sad for what Bella was going through and missing Edward because he's only in the beginning and the end... which is a great ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    :D D:

    UGH!<BR/>to me this book is good but suckish in a way<BR/>Edward leaves! D:<BR/>and then Jacob starts all being lovey duby with Bella and i hate it!<BR/>UGH! but the end is amazing :D<BR/><BR/>its good. but not great. like the other ones.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I had to keep reading!

    After reading the first book, Twilight, I knew I had to continue through the next three books. Once again I really enjoyed the book, but more of the relationship side of the story rather than the strange creature side of the story. In the beginning, however, I kind of got annoyed with how Stephenie Meyer continually repeated things from the first book. Seems to me like she would know almost everyone who read the second book would have already the first book. I hated what Edward did in the beginning of the story, but was glad for the great new friendship Bella had with Jacob. I respected Alice¿s allegiance to her family and thought less of Edward due to his slightly apathetic and careless choices that not only endangered him but also everyone around him. I felt bad for Bella during the time period where she made herself numb to everything around her to keep away the pain. I did however feel that she was slightly insane for some of the things she did just so she could retrieve the good memories. She should have known she could not always be saved. It bothers me how she rarely thinks about the people she¿s hurting when she makes her decisions, which is probably part of the reason she feels that she cannot connect to humans. Though the story was not always going the route I would have hoped for, it was always easy to follow and kept me intrigued which I not only enjoyed but appreciated. Of course I will go on to read the third and fourth books now, and I am eager to see the relationships and decisions that will carry on in to the next books from the first books and the new relationships and decisions to be made.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    New Moon review

    Wow, this one was a heart killer! Meyer did a great job at making the reader go, "Oh...my...gosh! NOOOO!!" <BR/><BR/>Although not as good as Twilight, New Moon still managed to be an enjoyable read. You got to see some new sides to characters, (Jacob for one). New Moon had more of a dark depressing tone rather than a light hearted, sensual one. <BR/><BR/>On a negative note, it does take a while for the story to go ANYWHERE. I felt like I was going to continue reading forever and get to no end or point.<BR/><BR/>I hope you continue on with the series! Enjoy!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1971 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 99