Customer Reviews for

The New New Rules: A Funny Look at How Everybody but Me Has Their Head Up Their Ass

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is by far one of the funniest things I've ever read. So muc

This is by far one of the funniest things I've ever read. So much so, in fact, that I finished it in less that 2 days. I am an incredibly slow reader with a tiny attention span, so that's kind of a record for me. If it could hold my interest, maybe it could hold yours t...
This is by far one of the funniest things I've ever read. So much so, in fact, that I finished it in less that 2 days. I am an incredibly slow reader with a tiny attention span, so that's kind of a record for me. If it could hold my interest, maybe it could hold yours too! That is... if you're not an easily offended conservative reader. If you are, I wouldn't recommend it. Not because it's not good, but because the voice of reason doesn't usually work on your type anyway.

posted by DuelCitizen on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time....

Rantings of a spoiled little boy..

posted by 10746906 on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    This is by far one of the funniest things I've ever read. So muc

    This is by far one of the funniest things I've ever read. So much so, in fact, that I finished it in less that 2 days. I am an incredibly slow reader with a tiny attention span, so that's kind of a record for me. If it could hold my interest, maybe it could hold yours too! That is... if you're not an easily offended conservative reader. If you are, I wouldn't recommend it. Not because it's not good, but because the voice of reason doesn't usually work on your type anyway.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Best ever a must have

    Please check it out it makes a lot of sence

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Waste of time....

    Rantings of a spoiled little boy..

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Disappointing

    I like
    Maher and his work, but this book is a disappointment. After the first 50 pages,this book turns into a sad effort to finish the book for profit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Fantastic funny and true

    Bring problems to light and shows the ignorance of the majority of modern society today

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Bill Maher has done it again

    Bill Maher is at it again with has crazy but truthful way of thinking . A quick easy read thay wil have you in stitches i recommend this book to all Maher followers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    At the top of his game.

    Long a fan of the author, on tv or books and this one is certainly telling it like it is. Not much to complain about as a reader as long as you share his thoughts and beliefs. Sometimes his positions make one angry that the rest of the world does not see it his way but everyone has opinions. Too bad all the opinions are not his as the world would assuredly be a better place in which to live, as long as you follow the "New New Rules".

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Maher

    Maher has his head up his ass

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Funny Commentary of Our Society

    Love Bill Maher and his sense of humor! Only complaint... the book is too short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Maher evolved from a monkey!

    Normaly, I don't believe that humans evolved from monkeys, but in Mahers case I think I may have to make an exception...:)
    A man to be pitied for his life and what he contributes to the human experience.

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Hilarious

    Hilarious and way too real.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Lmao

    Funny

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bill is the New George Carlin!

    If George Carlin were still around and took a political affiliation, then he would be Bill Maher! Bill uses George's same brand of humor and spins it to his his left-wing point of view. Most of the material here is from his Real-Time New Rules segments but some of it is new. He says things that if there real ghosts they would have to be naked. This is because the person died and their soul is wandering the earth. Their pants are souless so why would they also be doomed to wander the earth?

    Bill is very strong on saying that anyone not believing in climate change is living a fantasy, that the conservative Republican pundits have repeated certain untrue messages over and over that they are now accepted as being true (especially with things invovlving universal healthcare).

    Though Bill is a comedian, he seems to be one of the few "liberal" voices that backs up what he says with cogent arguments (unlike the zannies at MSNBC). Nobody is immune to his ironic barbs including Democrats, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert. Though the bulk of his complaints are against the most conservative Republicans and pundits like Hannity and Limbaugh.

    Bill has a funny preface which he even attacks the reader for being silly for reading the book's preface. In it he also states that this book is the second of a trilogy so another one will be coming in a few years (he needs time to build up more material).

    If you can put all political predjudices aside and just read the book you will find it hilarious. I know I have seen several of the most Conservative of guests (Ann Coulter, Dan Issa ) laughing out loud at his New Rules segment on his HBO Real Time show.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    If you like Bill's show, you will love this book!

    Interesting insight into the politics of yesterday & today. He is right on!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Bill Maher

    No one has their head up their deeper than Bill Maher....except maybe Chris Mathews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Classic Bill Maher

    Enjoyable and very funny. Try to read it over several days to avoid Bill Maher overload.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The King Of Snark

    Feeling a lack of snarkiness in your life? Have no fear, Bill Maher is here. The NEW New Rules is a compilation of Maher's observations on politics, education, American culture, food, sex, sports, the economy, history--you name it, Bill's got an opinion on it and it will probably make you laugh.

    The book is arranged alphabetically. In each chapter, observations having to do with a subject starting with that letter are arrayed. Photographs are used to illustrate various points. Most of the material comes from various prior writings but some material is written new for this book and each new observation is marked as such.

    Love him or hate him, Maher will make you laugh. The material is R-rated so this book is not recommended for children, but adults will be hard-pressed not to find something to make them smile, if not outright chortle. This book is recommended for adult readers ready for some fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    A lot of truth in a funny way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great book for the liberals

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great book

    This book is both funny and true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3