Customer Reviews for

New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer

Average Rating 3
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Laugh Out Loud Funny

One of the funnier books I've read in a long time. I recommend it to anyone who has ever laughed because I can almost be certain beyond doubt that you will laugh out loud at least a few times while reading this book. Whether you are left-wing, right-wing, or niether.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hang em high

Don't know what the fuss is all about,we don't think the rules aplly here in Misisipi.I think Fox News is grate and any liberal Yankkee that comes here is going to get lynched.Did not like the book, but then, hoo can read or think for that matter. He hee hee.

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Right wingers should be ready to pray !! LOL!!!

    Im so glad that bill maher's career has reached such heights. It is really refreshing to have a liberal who isn't scared of telling the religious nuts and hypocritical republicans the truth. I just read the other reviews from typical RUSH and O'reilly fans. The fact that they were all offended by this book makes me cheer for more. These same people probably love Ann coulter's republican slander, but are all pissy that someone finally punched back. I love it. Cant wait for his movie called religulous. I cant wait to see how many christian groups go crazy and protest. I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Political Reflections from a Comedic Connoisseur

    Knee-slapping commentary delivered in a condenced and pithy way. Maher's witty take on issues are ironic, scathing, yet very sensible. A must read for anyone who ever finds themselves up in arms with the status quo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Hysterical

    I met Bill Maher at a book signing. Shook his hand. I'm the youngest published sci fi novelist in America, Ken Eng, and I can honestly say that this is the best book I've read in like ten years. I am a very opinionated person, and this is the first time I've ever read a book that had opinions identical to mine. In fact, I only disagreed with two of the jokes. Man this was only 2000 words and is almost as great as my book Dragons: Lexicon Triumvirate. And Paris hilton does only have one facial expression, I've noticed that for a while.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    One of the funnier books I've read in a long time. I recommend it to anyone who has ever laughed because I can almost be certain beyond doubt that you will laugh out loud at least a few times while reading this book. Whether you are left-wing, right-wing, or niether.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Laughed and Laughed

    this is a quick read but really funny and insightful novel. I just could not put it down. This guy says what he thinks....You have to love that! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    FUNNY & A QUICK READ

    Being somewhat right of center myself,I don't always agree with bill's obvious left of center bias. But 'NEW RULES' is a one sitting read and bound to make all but the staunchest right winger laugh outloud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Hilarious...couldn't put it down

    Such a great compilation of things that everyone always thinks, but no one ever says. It was hilarious...read it all in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    TOOOOO Funny!

    I haven't laughed so hard in months. I loved this guy on his HBO special, and now I don't get to watch him. It was great to read his book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Hilarious

    I loved it! The observations are simply hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Poor

    I believe in reading all kinds of books...although im a Conservative Republican I still read it... wouldnt buy it though....I was given it...

    I personally think he is honestly messed up...he is funny...
    but an idiot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    So True and So Politically Incorrect

    If I didn't feel like going out on a Friday night, I was watching 'Real Time with Bill Maher.' When I did feel like going out on a Friday night, I set the timer for 'Real Time with Bill Maher.' I love this dude, and I'm tapping my fingers now that his show is off for the season! He and I agree on so many issues, including legalizing same-sex marriage, the Bush administration, religion, Republicans being busybodies, and the injustice in the prison system. It's almost like I never have to open my mouth again when it comes to politics. I can just tell folks to watch 'Real Time with Bill Maher' and get all my thoughts out. This is the ONE political host who would talk about the truth of the Jena 6. As much as I support Obama, Bill Maher spoke louder and prouder about it. In addition to that, he always has guests that I'm interested in learning more about as well as some of my favorite people (ex. Mos Def and Cornell West). While there are times when I disagree with him (MySpace fight, all black folks loving gin and juice [that's so mean!], all Democrats being spineless), I can respect his views even if I (very seldomly) don't agree with him. At the end of his show, the New Rules always make me laugh. I have yet to watch his show and not leaned over laughing so hard that I didn't have to wipe my eyes. If you want to know the truth about the justice system, please check out his show on HBO or his website. And if you want to peek into this book, look in the Y section under 'Hard Cell.' That one is the most onpoint of all of his rules! Note: I did not know that the photo on page 176 was a young girl burned. Thank you to the reviewers who told me that. Although I still loved the book, I can add that to the small list of things I don't agree with Bill on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    No class, little humor

    The writing in this book is adolescent and crude. As others have mentioned, it also has a few sickening photos. The person who gave me this book knew that I didn't agree with Maher's politics, but assured me that I'd find it funny anyway. I didn't. Even Bill's politically neutral topics were not that funny. I even agreed with some his rules, I just didn't care for the punch lines.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    Where does that boy think he is?

    We conservatives don't take kindly to all that jibber jabbing about George W. Bush. President Bush is the reason why this country is in the shape it is in now. Only a great thinker would approve anti-terrorism checkpoints along the Mississippi Coast, and reduce restrictions at the Mexican/Texas border.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    Very negative outlook

    Some of the entries were clever and funny. Others were just griping and negative blah blah!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Just OK

    Read it and then wondered why. Go see a movie, it is cheaper.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    A Joke. Typical Liberal Regurgitation.

    If you are a liberal and enjoy the mindless point of view popularized by Air America, Michael Moore and Barbara Streisand, this book's for you! It simply regurgitates the views of the far left wing, devoid of any opinion in the mainstream (just like his really, really pathetic show on HBO). If you find yourself in the mainstream of American politics, you will find this book to be mindless and pointless. If you are a liberal, stick to the New York Times and Time Magazine. You will find them much more capable to support your point of view.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer

    I thought Maher's material was funny until I got to page 176. Maher has stooped to an all-time low by using a widely-publicized photo of a Vietnamese girl badly burned by napalm to depict Laura Flynn Boyle's childhood photo. Maher, either you are too young to know the meaning of this photo, or you are too arogant to care.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer

    Maher has a 'sick' sense of humor and the photo on page 176 proves it. He should walk a few steps in the body of a burn victim. I give it 'zero' stars for sick profiteering.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2