BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A New Song (Mitford Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    A heartwarming continuation of the "Mitford Series"

    After reading the first four books of the Mitford Series, A NEW SONG was needed to learn about Father Tim & Cynthia's retirement on an island. So many lives were blessed through their efforts. Difficulties were numerous and knowing how the cast of characters found fulfillment in life gave me a good feeling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    If you want to read a good story with an actual plot, skip this

    If you want to read a good story with an actual plot, skip this book--the entire series for that matter.
    If you want to read a prayer book and some sermons, this is a good bet.
    The writing is disjointed and shallow. The scenes are seemingly unrelated to each other. It's like looking at someone else's photo album and trying to figure out the entire course of their lives.
    A really terrible read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    This is series of 9 or 10 books, I have loved all I have read so

    This is series of 9 or 10 books, I have loved all I have read so far, I think I am ready for 6. I don't like them to end! Interesting and sweet, well written, a good clean story, lots of characters that you can't help but love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    SB

    Seven pages of awesomness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Skylanders: A New Beginning Chapter 3

    Terrafin: As we made our way to the other side of the house, I looked around for treasure. Seeing nothing, I decided to burrow down. We walked for a few more minutes before the rumbling started. No one else heard it, but I, being underground, could hear it as clear as glass. It was pretty small, so I didn't say anything to the others. We reached a large door, but it was too dark to see what it was made of. Drobot, Drill Sargeant, and Trigger Happy all shot it; Boomer and Dino-Rang threw things; Prism Break blasted it; Bash, well, bashed into the door; then I walked up. I cracked my knuckles and thrust forward. My fist connected, broke through, and pulled back, pulling the door of its hinges. There was silence, then, "TERRAFIN! TERRAFIN!" I bowed and Drobot took the lead. We stepped into the room's eerie glow. At the far end was a mirror, emanating a silver light. It was about eight feet tall and three feet wide. Bash crept forward and placed his palm on the glass. Suddenly, a huge black monster with a mouth as big as the mirror burst out of it. All of us were knocked back, but when we stood up, Bash was gone. Stealth Elf: We climbed the creaking staircase that led up to what seemed like an attic. When we reached the top, a door blocked our way. I sliced the door to pieces and led the team through. No one had challenged my taken role of leadership, probably because I was the commander's girlfriend. I was listening for danger as we walked. Lightning Rod was in the back to prevent sneak attacks, Whirlwind and Camo to watch for ambushes, and Zook, Warnado, Stump Smash, and Sonic Boom in the middle for a fighting core. We were set. As we emerged into the attic, I heard cheering below. Probably Terrafin. I darted forward towards a treasure chest, and opened it. Nothing. Chop Chop had told me to keep watch for valuables, and as I turned, I saw Zook trying a chest. He opened it and a puff of dust appeared. I walked over and looked inside. What I saw was completely unexpected... Flameslinger: As soon as Chop Chop had given his orders, my team started off. I lead, and I was NOT happy. It wasn't because I was paired with Water. It was because I was paired with Slam Bam. That show-off gets on my nerves so bad, and guess what it was today? "Why is our captain a Fire? He can't even use his moves!" I finally turned around. "You wanna lead this team? Do you wanna have to listen for danger at every foot-step? No? I didn't think so!" I led the team forward again and into the basement. There was a shout, and as I turned, I saw Whamshell fall into the stairs. Chop Chop: I set my sword on a table and threw my shield at a dark shape in the distance. It hit a stair and came back. I picked my sword back up. "Let's go." We marched into the kitchen. It was, unlike anything else, sparkling clean. The work of pixies. I told the team to stay back and walked forward with Spyro. We searched for pixie nests, and I have to admit, food. We found some food and were about to take it to base camp when pixies attacked. Spyro started to shoot fire, but I stopped him. "You'll burn the house down!" He dipped his head. "Sorry." I nodded and slashed at the pixies. We defeated them all and heard a shout. We ran to the team. Cynder was the only one not spastic. "What happened?" "The pixies took Ghost Roaster." (Hi pplz! Plz rate and review and advertise! Thx!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Spiritual Getaway

    Jan Karon carefully weaves delight and hope into this novel. She carefully places Father Kavanaugh in a new environment which chalenges and expands his theological skills. Meet the believeable characters of a remote southern island who welcome their interim pastor with support and courage. Witness the effects of a hurricane on their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    The New Song is a Winner

    A New Song by Jan Karon is a wonderfully comforting tale of the simple pleasures in life as well as the not-so-simple hardships.  This was certainly not Karon's first time writing about this idea, nor about Father Timothy and his lovely wife Cynthia.  As faithful readers of the series know, one always feels a little more at peace after finishing a tale of these two.  However, the reader also experiences the inevitable disappointment of having to exit their world and come back to this one.     Readers should not be disappointed that A New Song does not take place in Mitford.  There is much reference to it throughout the book, as both Timothy and Cynthia are extremely homesick.  Besides, Father Tim has always been at keeping up with his correspondants.  All the favorites from Mitford are not forgotten in the fifth book of the Mitford series.  But the Kavanaghs are in a new town, Whitecap, where Timothy is serving as interim priest but surely to return to Mitford when he is finished.  The homey feeling and gentle spirits always portrayed in the characters of the Mitford books are found in Whitecap as well.  Father Tim finds many friends and more than enough challenges to keep him busy.     Karon seems to get it right every time with her gentle fiction. So far, each one has been an absolute pleasure to get lost in.  They are comforting touching, and incredibly witty.  I lost count of how many times I was so lost in this book that I would be laughing out loud when it might not have been the best thing to do.  For example, the chapter that had me cracking up was when Timothy went on a fishing trip that Cynthia had insisted that he go on.  He spent the entire trip leaning over the rail, turning an "odd color."  Karon has this incredible ability to make even the simplest events seem funny. For example, this advice from Emma, Timothy's old secretary; "Don't let worry kill you; let the church help." Or when Timothy was musing on his birthday, and all the other ones that would follow. He would be 60, then 70, then 80, and then, "dead I suppose. Oh well." I love the dialect in these books. I love the "dadgummits," and the broken English spoken by most of Timothy's friends. And then in contrast, the Wordsworth was commonly quoted by Timothy. It all comes together to form an enjoyable and uplifting story. While I myself found absolutely nothing wrong with this book, I would not recommend it to someone who enjoys an abundance of action. Because while there are many intriguing events in the story, they are small town events nonetheless. And for a reader who is not at all interested in the normal events of a humble life, this book might seem (I hate to say it) boring. I cannot end on this note, however, so I must point out that Karon takes these "mundane" occurences, and portrays them for what they really are. Amazing, moving, and often funny moments that are experienced by us all. In Jan Karon's A New Song, it is not just a new beginning for Timothjy and Cynthia, but also a new story of love, faith, endurance, and friendship for the readers to indulge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    A Wonderful Song!!

    Another wonderful story from Jan Karon. Sweeps you into another world, upward ever higher til you see the face of heaven. So refreshing to read uplifting,wholesome works full of grace and redemption. Very reminiscent of Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin. Can't wait for the next one from Jan Karon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    ENJOY A MINI-VACATION!

    I love spending time in Whitecap or Mitford. I love these people. I feel like Father Tim and Cynthia are real friends of mine. These books from Jan Karon are pure magic. I feel as if I had been on a mini-vacation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    What's Next - Can't Wait!

    I have been totally absorbed into the Mitford culture - I feel like I am right there when I read - I can see Barnabas running along the beach, hear Cythnia's laughter and have been nurtured by the warm spirituality of these books. I felt very deeply moved by Father Tim's sermon at the end of A NEW SONG. I am anxious for other books to continue the saga - I hope Jan won't leave us yet - there's much more to come and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    Started with the last first

    When people push me too hard to read a book, my stubborn streak takes over and I sometimes cut off my nose to spite my face. This happened here. I didn't read this series because everyone told me I had to and now I'm sorry I didn't meet these people sooner. I started with a New Song first, not knowing it was the latest in a series. I am now reading At Home in Mitford and have the other three on order. What a wonderful writer. How heartwarming her characters. I'm a voracious mystery reader and figured these books had nothing to offer me but was I wrong. There are enough little 'mysteries' to interest this reader. The island I create for myself while reading these books is peaceful and quiet and far removed from all of the ugliness I see on TV. Haven't read anything this heartwarming since the James Herriott series. Don't let your stubborn streak get in the way - read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Jan Karon touches the heart.

    Yet another great book in the Mitford series. Karon makes me smile and weep. I love this woman's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    THE BEST

    Real people, real life, laughter, tears, makes you want to know these people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    GREAT stuff

    The characters, the setting, the writing!! I REALLY appreciate authors who take the time to give their readers their best and Jan does. A new Christian writer on the scene (book is called A Force of Habit) has many similar talents although in the spiritual mystery genre. Support authors who produce quality--thank you Jan Karon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    Keeps Getting Better

    This exciting series keeps you anxiously waiting for your next adventure with Father Tim and Cynthia. Karon know how to grab your attention and makes you want to stay up all night reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    Waiting Impaitently!!!!!!!!

    I can't wait for the next installment from Mitford. I am addicted to reading these books! At first, I wasn't sure about this one, because of the upcoming changes in Father Tim's life. However, I soon got caught up in the story and loved every minute of it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2000

    Even Better the 2nd (& 3rd, and ...) Time

    I read A New Song when it was first published last year. It was a jolt out of my 'comfort zone' to be introduced to so many new characters; I truly missed those from Mitford. However, this summer I am reading it (for the 3rd time?) again. NOW I get it! I understand the new characters more fully, and have gained a deeper understanding of how God works in their (and our) lives. For those who didn't like it as much as the first four, give it some time and re-read it later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Can't wait for the next one!

    These books are great. I savor everyone, more so than any other series. If everybody would just read one of these delightful books, the world might be a better place. Heartwarming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    Most Refreshing series I've ever read!

    I highly recommend this book to all who need a real look at the way life should be approached. All the characters are so real and refreshing. People helping people and and caring about others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    The Mitford Series take my breath away!

    I have read all of the Mitford Series and can't wait for the others to come out. I will not even let anyone borrow them because I read them over and over again. If the others don't hurry and come out I am going to wear them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3