Customer Reviews for

The New Space Opera

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    OK, not great

    Good anthology. Enjoy most of the stories. Skipped 3 or 4 after a couple of pages. None really seemed to stand out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A wonderful read

    Every story was good. That in itself says all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Stories / Great Authors

    This all star line up of authors includes many of my favorites and some of the best currently working in the field including: Robert Silverberg,Ian MacDonald, Greg Egan, Peter F. Hamilton, Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter, Gregory Benford, and Dan Simmons.

    I've only recently started reading collections of short science fiction stories instead of entire novels and I've been disappointed in the overall quality I've found. This was the first collection were I enjoyed every story. It also helped introduce me to new authors whose works I'll now seek out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    18 Stories they way I remember them.

    Today, Sci-Fi extends over a lot of different genres: Cyberspace, psychological, fantasy, etc. These stories bring back to mind the type of writing that I remember when I first started reading Sci-Fi in the 60s. They all take place in space (or at least extra-terrestrial), and involve relationships with aliens, quite often confrontational. Above all, they point out distinct human failings, which, I think, is their main point. BTW, my favorite was "Muse of Fire" by Dan Simmons, followed closely by "Glory" by Greg Egan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    rare gem of sci-fi anthology

    This is one of the greatest anthologies I've read. Each stories are memorable, each authors are showing off their writing styles, plots, characters. I've enjoyed this book from the first story to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Well written and true to the genre

    The title "The New Space Opera" sold itself...then the list of authors in the collection caught my eye (I would have bought it just for an Alastair Reynolds 'Revelation Space' story). Almost to a fault, these stories made technology and location secondary to the characters' situations and responses. But even in a supporting role, the settings in space and time were executed very well...no O. Henry scientific end-of-story plot resolutions. This was a collection I hated to see end...I hope an follow-up anahtology is in the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great space opera anthology

    In the Introduction to this anthology consisting of eighteen original contributions, the definition of the space opera subplot is discussed with various sources like the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, the New Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (Jack Williamson contribution), and Locus (Paul McAuley article) defining it. Each has similarities yet differences, but this strong anthology summarizes space operas as ¿romantic adventure set in space and told on a grand scale¿. Thus there is plenty of room for a myriad of tales with the vastness of space and the subjective definition of grand. This is exactly what the audience receives in this superb compilation as the authors using their own personal definition of space opera to provide excellent tales differing in locale, scope, and supporting scientific theory. Even the tones are dissimilar as some are life and death struggles to survive a dying system (¿Verthandi¿s Ring¿ by Ian McDonald) or a war (Greg Egan¿s ¿Glory¿) vs. an amusing Poe play on Mars (¿Maelstrom¿ by Kage Baker). The role of earthlings also varies from the conquered to the conqueror. The bottom line is editors Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan and their eighteen authors provide the grand tour of space with strong characterizations starring in short stories written on a grand scale. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1