Customer Reviews for

New Spring (Wheel of Time Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Explains important questions

The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the avera...
The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the average reader isn't going to find value in complete immersion, which is what this story requires. No, every chapter isn't overflowing with action. No, every chapter isn't world-changing and sweat- inducing. But, God is in the details and The Wheel of Time seriously needs to be read 3 or 4 times to reasonably understand most of what's going on. A large part of the story is what isn't being said, and what isn't described. That makes it tough when related details are in different chapters and different books, but that's the way it works. You can't expect to read these waiting for the bus or between classes, you almost have to take notes of some chapters. Why is Moiraine the only person to find the Green Man twice? We aren't told, but we can guess. Who is Demandred? Who killed Asmodean? If you read close enough the personal asides and narrative thoughts all makes sense. Jordan doesn't sow details haphazardly, everything has meaning...and it's up to the reader to make the details work. It's not an easy task, but this series isn't for the average reader. If you read close enough, the first three books foreshadow the whole series, and every dream, viewing, and prediction has value. To be honest, the best way to read these is in a group, because each character merits discussion. True, some of the characters are petty and predictable, and one reviewer's deux ex machina comments might have merit, but to be realistic and grand in a whole-world setting not everyone is going to agree all of the time. Most people aren't going to drop everything and go save the world, they have to buy in...or be steered to. Therein lies Jordan's lesson in politics. Study well. It isn't always pretty but most of the time people need to think things are their own ideas, and that covers books 7-10. New Spring introduces two of the most complex characters in the series, and how they came to be together. Jordan's borrowed circular-time theory and overwhelming sense of fate makes each character affect every other, in some way, and that's all part of it. History, politics, magic, religion, fantasy, it's all here, but you have to be willing to sacrifice some serious reading time. The hardest part is going to the bookstore after you read these, since nothing else seems quite as good. Good luck.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Stop the wheel and let me off!

I refuse to give this author any more money. This series was great, but he milked it several books longer than he had ideas for. It's a pity, it was a good story, for a while.

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    Explains important questions

    The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the average reader isn't going to find value in complete immersion, which is what this story requires. No, every chapter isn't overflowing with action. No, every chapter isn't world-changing and sweat- inducing. But, God is in the details and The Wheel of Time seriously needs to be read 3 or 4 times to reasonably understand most of what's going on. A large part of the story is what isn't being said, and what isn't described. That makes it tough when related details are in different chapters and different books, but that's the way it works. You can't expect to read these waiting for the bus or between classes, you almost have to take notes of some chapters. Why is Moiraine the only person to find the Green Man twice? We aren't told, but we can guess. Who is Demandred? Who killed Asmodean? If you read close enough the personal asides and narrative thoughts all makes sense. Jordan doesn't sow details haphazardly, everything has meaning...and it's up to the reader to make the details work. It's not an easy task, but this series isn't for the average reader. If you read close enough, the first three books foreshadow the whole series, and every dream, viewing, and prediction has value. To be honest, the best way to read these is in a group, because each character merits discussion. True, some of the characters are petty and predictable, and one reviewer's deux ex machina comments might have merit, but to be realistic and grand in a whole-world setting not everyone is going to agree all of the time. Most people aren't going to drop everything and go save the world, they have to buy in...or be steered to. Therein lies Jordan's lesson in politics. Study well. It isn't always pretty but most of the time people need to think things are their own ideas, and that covers books 7-10. New Spring introduces two of the most complex characters in the series, and how they came to be together. Jordan's borrowed circular-time theory and overwhelming sense of fate makes each character affect every other, in some way, and that's all part of it. History, politics, magic, religion, fantasy, it's all here, but you have to be willing to sacrifice some serious reading time. The hardest part is going to the bookstore after you read these, since nothing else seems quite as good. Good luck.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    The rest of you

    Just because you get to lazy to continue reading the series doesn't mean you should try to talk others out of it. This is an exceptional series which I reccomend everyone read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Loved it, but too short

    I really enjoyed seeing Moiraine as a young woman and not an icy Aes Sedai, and the young Lan was nice to meet. Jordan can drag this out as long as he darn well wants to - I, for one, will be purchasing whatever he writes. To the naysayers, whiners and those wanting an end: who is forcing you to read these books? An irate member of the Green Ajah who wants to battle your backside for badmouthing her creator? WhatEVER! Don't like 'em anymore, don't read 'em anymore. Quit whining.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    A good place to start

    New Spring: The Novel was a good place to start off the The Wheel of Time series. Robert Jordan wrote this book as if it was meant to be the first of the series 'even though it was a prequel to the main series'. The book develops the personalities of a younger Moiraine Damodred and Lan 'the two characters the book revolves around', and their travels until meeting each other. The books does have a tendency to change characters at odd times and often times left me with many questions on what one character is doing while the book is describing the other character. New Spring is also only those with patience. The books has some unneeded filler details that last for one or chapters at a time with little exciting moments. Though these selections have almost no effect on the plot, they do dive into the true personalities of Lan and Moiraine.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Stop the wheel and let me off!

    I refuse to give this author any more money. This series was great, but he milked it several books longer than he had ideas for. It's a pity, it was a good story, for a while.

    4 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Don't be ugly folks

    Did all you demanding impatient cynics screaming "finish the series!" realize that the author had a fatal illness? Pathetic. Grow up already.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    Oh where, Oh where has the LITTLE Plot Gone? Oh where, Oh where could it be?

    The Wheel seems to be broken. I started this series back in 1998, and can honestly say that I found it enjoyable to start with. The world was complex and original. Robert Jordan did a good job of giving you enough detail to help you get a feel for it all. Nice history and some fun characters....and then everything started to change. The detail became to much, repetitive and distracted from the story, which also seemed to be falling apart. Everywhere you looked were plot holes and loose ends. I¿ve no qualm with the books being longer then a thousand pages, but apparently Jordan never learned that it was Quality and not Quantity that mattered to the reader. So as the books continued and the story grew longer so did it become confusing and nonsensical and the characters. I am not a feminist in any shape or form, but I swear I would like to strangle every female character in this book, especially Nyneave. All the character seem capable of doing in this series is check their dresses to make sure that there cleavage isn¿t popping out and whine and bicker. These are suppose to be adult and yet I¿ve witnessed better behaved children. The entire `Women are better then man¿ or `Only men know what they are talking about¿ is annoying and disgusting. In general the characters which originally seemed to be growing are now stunted and flat, completely unattractive. The majority are in no way likeable and in the end I could care less whether they lived or died. If these are the people meant to save the world, then I think the world is doomed. To me the only characters to have remained true to themselves were the Trollocs. And now we have this. A prequel which serves no purpose, except to stall for time as Jordan tries to pull together a decent ending to the series. The few remaining character that I had a shred of respect for has pretty much been squelched. New Spring is a dull repeat of the history you already know from reading the other books and not worth the buy. Borrow from a friend or check out from the library, but use your money on something worthy. For myself I will finish the series, because I hate to leave things undone, but I refuse to buy any of the last four books. For those who enjoy this series, you have more patience then I and I wish you the best of it. Cheers.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    An interesting story

    The only prequel to the Wheel of Time that was completed before Robert Jordan's death. It is in his usual style, and is an enjoyable read for anyone curious about how Lan and Moraine met.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I didn't find out about this series until New Spring (the preque

    I didn't find out about this series until New Spring (the prequel) came out. I read it before any of the others, before I knew how many books were in the series and how many were yet to be written. I was devastated to learn that Robert Jordan had a fatal illness; what a talented man and such a loss. I am so thankful that Mr. Jordan decided to entrust his notes for the final books to Brandon Sanderson so that he could prepare them for the fans. I have read and re-read the books as they came out and I will re-read them for years to come. Remember that New Spring is a prequel... there is no need for it to be a monster novel. Just make sure you have "Eye of the World" ready to pick up when you are done. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    STARTING ANEW

    Now that the final installment for the WoT series is out, I've decided to re-start reading the whole series. To be honest, I only reached book 5 on my first attempt at reading the series. I stopped not because it's not worth reading. I stopped because, I could not accomplish getting any schoolwork done. With WoT, reading became an addiction. The story was just that riveting. It's an understatement to say that I was a fan of the series.

    Now that I have grown accustomed to a reading schedule, I've decided to re-read the series again. And this time, I intend to finish it. It was difficult for me to decide where to start reading. Do I read from Book 1: The Eye of the World? Or do I start from this prequel New Spring. I ended up re-starting the series with New Spring. Reading the first chapter made me think that I've made the wrong choice. Since, I've read Book 1-5 more than 10 years ago, it was a little bit difficult remembering the characters and concepts. This prequel made a lot of references to concepts introduced in the other books. Anyone, who have not read at least one of books written before New Spring would not understand the references made in the first few chapters of New Spring. This I feel is a major fault of this prequel. Those new to WoT who decide to start the series with New Spring, might be turned off from reading the whole series.

    Reading this book made me fall in love with Moraine and Lan. And after much musings, I think it was a good decision to re-start reading WoT with New Spring. I don't really mind the initial confusion I went through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Boo to all waiting for an ending

    I say boo to anyone tired of a great series. As long as Jordan makes a good book, why end it. I haven't found but a handful of authors I slobber for their next book, but Jordan is one of them. Who cares about an ending, it just means the story is over, and you have to read some hack's work until you stumble on someone else you like. Crank 'em out, I'll read 'em.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Best fantasy in a long time

    After writing most of his "Wheel of Time" series, Robert Jordan went back and penned this prequel. It exhibits all of his talent and skill (honed by the 11 preceding books in the series). New Spring is the work of an experienced author--an absorbing plot, interesting characters, adept world-building, and an involved magic system. There's so much to love here, and after multiple readings, New Spring has become my favorite fantasy book in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Wheel of Time prequel, New Spring, is a very good addition t

    The Wheel of Time prequel, New Spring, is a very good addition to the series written by Robert Jordan. I read New Spring after Booke 5, The Fires of Heaven, based off the recommendation of several WoT fans instead of after Crossroads of Twilight (Book 10) when the prequel was published. Considering that Moiraine and Lan are the main POV characters throught the book and that after the events of The Fires of Heaven, reading the prequel when I did made New Spring both enjoyable and bittersweet.

    Obviously New Spring helps explain the motivations of both Moiraine and Lan when we first meet them in The Eye of the World, but it also gives us a view of the "normal" workings of Aes Sedai and the White Tower before the unusual happenings already seen in the series. Politics of the world are fully in view with Lan finding himself in the midst of the "biggest" political storm. If I were to find a bad thing about New Spring is that some of the material that Jordan wrote to expand New Spring from a short story to a full novel(la) seems to be just filler making the story bog down a tad.

    Overall, New Spring is a good quality introduction to some of the "older" characters of the early Wheel of Time books and I fully recommend reading it, especially after Book 5, The Fires of Heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    D

    Patience is a virtue

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    JOHNNAS ROOM

    Welcome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very good

    I rarely enjoy side stories but this one was nearly as good as the series itself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I'm new to the wheel of time books, and i found this one for che

    I'm new to the wheel of time books, and i found this one for cheap and decided id start there.
    While reading this i kept waiting and expecting for something exciting to happen, But for the most part this book was sort of slow, The story revolves around 2 girls for the majority of the book, And came off that it was written for a woman audience. (Was kind of hard to get into from a guys point of view, no offense).
    It started to get interesting towards the end. I'm hoping the main series of books is better then this, will still give them a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Way to Re-Read Series

    Now that WOT has finally ended, I've started re-reading the series, and the ebooks make this projects much more user friendly. Waiting anxiously for the ebook version of AMoL ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Great work of fantasy from a master writer.

    Great work of fantasy from a master writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Great Introductory Story!

    I read this many years ago, and had to buy it to prepare for my re-read witht he 14th book coming out in January next year. It gives great background information about Moiraine and Lan and is a perfect introduction to the Eye of the World.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12