Customer Reviews for

New Spring (Wheel of Time Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Explains important questions

The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the avera...
The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the average reader isn't going to find value in complete immersion, which is what this story requires. No, every chapter isn't overflowing with action. No, every chapter isn't world-changing and sweat- inducing. But, God is in the details and The Wheel of Time seriously needs to be read 3 or 4 times to reasonably understand most of what's going on. A large part of the story is what isn't being said, and what isn't described. That makes it tough when related details are in different chapters and different books, but that's the way it works. You can't expect to read these waiting for the bus or between classes, you almost have to take notes of some chapters. Why is Moiraine the only person to find the Green Man twice? We aren't told, but we can guess. Who is Demandred? Who killed Asmodean? If you read close enough the personal asides and narrative thoughts all makes sense. Jordan doesn't sow details haphazardly, everything has meaning...and it's up to the reader to make the details work. It's not an easy task, but this series isn't for the average reader. If you read close enough, the first three books foreshadow the whole series, and every dream, viewing, and prediction has value. To be honest, the best way to read these is in a group, because each character merits discussion. True, some of the characters are petty and predictable, and one reviewer's deux ex machina comments might have merit, but to be realistic and grand in a whole-world setting not everyone is going to agree all of the time. Most people aren't going to drop everything and go save the world, they have to buy in...or be steered to. Therein lies Jordan's lesson in politics. Study well. It isn't always pretty but most of the time people need to think things are their own ideas, and that covers books 7-10. New Spring introduces two of the most complex characters in the series, and how they came to be together. Jordan's borrowed circular-time theory and overwhelming sense of fate makes each character affect every other, in some way, and that's all part of it. History, politics, magic, religion, fantasy, it's all here, but you have to be willing to sacrifice some serious reading time. The hardest part is going to the bookstore after you read these, since nothing else seems quite as good. Good luck.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Oh where, Oh where has the LITTLE Plot Gone? Oh where, Oh where could it be?

The Wheel seems to be broken. I started this series back in 1998, and can honestly say that I found it enjoyable to start with. The world was complex and original. Robert Jordan did a good job of giving you enough detail to help you get a feel for it all. Nice hi...
The Wheel seems to be broken. I started this series back in 1998, and can honestly say that I found it enjoyable to start with. The world was complex and original. Robert Jordan did a good job of giving you enough detail to help you get a feel for it all. Nice history and some fun characters....and then everything started to change. The detail became to much, repetitive and distracted from the story, which also seemed to be falling apart. Everywhere you looked were plot holes and loose ends. I¿ve no qualm with the books being longer then a thousand pages, but apparently Jordan never learned that it was Quality and not Quantity that mattered to the reader. So as the books continued and the story grew longer so did it become confusing and nonsensical and the characters. I am not a feminist in any shape or form, but I swear I would like to strangle every female character in this book, especially Nyneave. All the character seem capable of doing in this series is check their dresses to make sure that there cleavage isn¿t popping out and whine and bicker. These are suppose to be adult and yet I¿ve witnessed better behaved children. The entire `Women are better then man¿ or `Only men know what they are talking about¿ is annoying and disgusting. In general the characters which originally seemed to be growing are now stunted and flat, completely unattractive. The majority are in no way likeable and in the end I could care less whether they lived or died. If these are the people meant to save the world, then I think the world is doomed. To me the only characters to have remained true to themselves were the Trollocs. And now we have this. A prequel which serves no purpose, except to stall for time as Jordan tries to pull together a decent ending to the series. The few remaining character that I had a shred of respect for has pretty much been squelched. New Spring is a dull repeat of the history you already know from reading the other books and not worth the buy. Borrow from a friend or check out from the library, but use your money on something worthy. For myself I will finish the series, because I hate to leave things undone, but I refuse to buy any of the last four books. For those who enjoy this series, you have more patience then I and I wish you the best of it. Cheers.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Wow, did Robert Jordan really write New Spring?

    I was stunned by how poorly it was written. Is RJ okay? Honestly, there is a story that is about 50 pages long - the other 275 pages are mind numbing fluff. It looks like he tried to stretch the content the way I used to pad essays in high school. Don't buy it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    WoT fans, you don't have to read this one...

    Remember those movies that were suppose to be the first chapter in a television series? Remember how most of these were never followed by a television series because the book sucked so bad? That's New Spring folks. Starting out, you have a dangerous siege of Aiel...who just get up and leave without any battles of any kind, and the actual plot of this story is almost non-existant and is most certainly unnesesary to read in the gran scheme of the Wheel of Time series. The only value that this book gives us is a look into Aes Sedai society...whoopidy-do.... I know Robert Jordan says he never reads customer reviews, but he doesn't need to read any kind of review to know that this book sucks.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Take this Series and Shove It...

    I can't this dribble no more.. What happened to the greatness of Wheel of Time? I was through with this series at book 8, took a gander at book 10 and was shocked to see more dresses, more 'lets tell the story of the past books' and more introductions of major nations. It's too much, it goes nowhere. I lost interest in the characters a long time ago and the Trollocs can have the rest. Please Mr. Jordan, do yourself a favor. Stop writing the Wheel of Time. It's not ageless anymore, its just ongoing and leads nowhere.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    writers block and joke telling

    Any joke, no matter how entertaining and fresh, loses impact when the delivery outlasts the attention span of the audience. Jordan was a brilliant star shining over the tepid fantasy landscape when Rand and his fellow travellers appeared. Since book five Jordan has drifted further away from the story. Today he merely dabbles in plot. His current output is an affront to the legion of readers who embraced his vision of the age old battle between good and evil. I am tired of paying money for sequels that pander to new readers-(covering old ground ad naseum) while ingnoring the faithful fans requierment for true new insight. If I want to spend the rest of my life with the same characters, making no progress, I will begin watching All My Children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Make something interesting

    I originally enjoyed the series because I thought it had originallity. Now all I see is a guy trying to milk an entire genre by constantly describing what the woman where...there is an argument about dresses that goes on for two pages. Enough. Have your characters do something interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Will it end?

    How long can this series be carried out? When i started reading this series, it was intriguing and well written. Now it seems they are just being made to drag out what could have(and should have)been an excellent series. The characters have lost their appeal. I don't want a prequel I want an ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Not His White Hot Best.

    I guess you reach a point as a writer where you're really bored with your own topic, losing interest and creative energy. I think there's still a lot of possibility with the story, but I don't think Robert Jordon sees it anymore. This is like the 'Dune' series, after 'Dune.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Nice information, but...

    Robert Jordan is starting to get on my nerves. The information this book adds to what we already know from the Wheel of Time series is nice. But I'm really getting tired of way too detailed descriptions of clothes and curtsies and tapestries and carpets and every thing but meat! When I finished Crossroads of Twilight (WARNING: if you haven't read that yet, stop reading now) I asked myself, 'for all the pages in this book how far along has the story actually moved?' The only answer I could come up with was, 'Not far enough.' It's been about a year since I read C of T, but from what I remember, we barely saw Rand at all (the fact that most of these events were taking place WHILE Rand was cleansing the Source notwithstanding), Eqwene's headaches continued and she was captured by SOMEONE, Faile is STILL a captive of the rogue Aiel group, Mat is still traveling with the Daughter of the Nine Moons, who still thinks he's ridiculous, and that's about it. Maybe I'll never learn my lesson, but if Jordan doesn't give me some meat soon I may just have to put down this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Worthless #2

    This book gives zero clue into the 'beginnings' Since it was already 90 %published in another book, what was the point? How about some insite into the rest of the characters? Rand Al'Thor's parents or the gleeman Thom Merrlilin? The whole book could have been less than 100 pages if he took out the endless drival that has filled his last four books of the series. And what about finishing the series first?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    mr. Jordan, pick up the pace! come on! PLEASE!

    Mr. Jordan, i love your books! a lot of my friends and family read them. but, please you must continue the series to book 11! Book 10, Crossroads of Twilight was, i hate to say it to such a great author, but such a bore! i think it was one of the most drawn out and boring books i have ever read! please, i love your books and what i don't think i'll be able to live with is waiting for three more books to come out before book 11 comes along! all the books in Jordan's series are fabulous except for the glacial pace of book 10. i want to here more about Rand, Mat, and Perrin, so please finish the prequels quickly and move onto book 11! the two stars are for the glacial pace it takes for book 10 to actually get to book 11. it's hard to be an obessesive fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Interesting

    I have read the reviews for this release, and like the majority of the reviewers I am disappointed. This is taking entirely to long. The last book was a drawn out short story, and this book is a prequel to an unfinished series. Someone has stated that it is not Mr. Jordan's fault, but a publishers decision. I will let my money talk, by not purchasing this book. If sales do not reach the expected goal, maybe satisfying the customer will be a priority.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    Sad, But True

    Unfortunately while I am very upset with Jordan for doing this (and he must know that all or at least most of his fans are upset) I, like many others, will be buying and reading this book, even though I already read the novella form in Legends and even though I was extremely disappointed in Crossroads of Twilight. I'm addicted and he knows it. If he and his publisher didn't think this would make money they wouldn't do it. Still, I think it is kind-of rude to ignore so many of his fans that are turning away because they are disillusioned. Please, Mr. Jordan. Pay attention to your fans. We know you have real genius, now please remind us why we fell in love with your books in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    A very disappointed fan.

    I was tempted to just give this a ONE star but the truth is that it was more of a disappointment. Hear, hear from other readers of the WoT series, we really don't need a prequel when the actual series is not even complete. Book 10 (Crossroads of Twilight) was already quite a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    put a fork in it please!

    The first eight or nine were fantastic, but it has been downhill from there. With all the characters scattered, is it going to take eight or nine more novels to wrap this up? Lets not beat a dead horse to death. This series should finish strong and not suffer a slow agonizing death. Why in the world do we need a prequel now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    PREQUELS NEED A COMPLETE STORY FIRST

    PREQUELS NEED A BEGINNING, MIDDLE, AND END TO A STORY FIRST. I WOULD HAVE ENJOYED THIS INFORMATION WITHIN THE FIRST TWO OR THREE NOVELS. THIS SEEMS LIKE SIMPLE BATING FOR CASH ACCORDING TO THE JACKET TEASER. NO THANKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    I will get it BUT COME ON

    Mr. Lordan should you ever happen upon this page. please, please, please, please. write these prequals after you finish teh origanal seris. dont just up and interupt teh series that is already way long to write about something that happens before everything to this point. not to mention what was told int eh books about rands birth amd moiraine an dlan is suffecent. really/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    Will await the end

    I plan to not buy another book in this series until it is finished. This is huge for me because I really don't like paperback, but I'd rather KNOW it's done and then buy the books at once, than buy one every year or so and wonder if this is finally it. Stories are supposed to have a beginning, a middle, and an END! The thing is, that last 3 books could easily have fit into ONE novel of 600 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    I love ya man, but come on!

    I have convinced a couple of friends to read your books, and three have given up out of frastration. You are a great author, but end it! I was so excited when I got on the internet and saw a new book on BN's site, until I realized it was a start, not the next book! I love ya man, but come on! I have forgotten so much of your other books, that it is very hard to read the new ones! I cant remember names and such, so put the books out and dont be one of those authors who takes a good story and ruins it! I love ya, but please, for heavens sake finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Lets look forward instead of backward

    it's a sad day when you finally realize that your favorite writer is suffering from writers block. Will Robert Jordan ever finish his series or will we be forced to read a story that is a prequal to this one two years from now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    So is this one Book 1/2? Or 1 of 30?

    This is a personal note of frustration. Okay, I've bought the first 10 on the first day they came out, and I'll get this one too. But, come on Robert, this is getting a little, no scratch that, a lot frustrating. Please, I don't believe you can finish WoT in less than 3 more books so go forward with the story to its conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2