BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

New Spring (Wheel of Time Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Explains important questions

The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the avera...
The Wheel of Time series has readers that span the whole spectrum of 'Hated it' to religiously 'Loved It.' If you're looking for trite James Patterson-esque fiction you have come to the wrong place. Jordan has created a world so complex and real that the average reader isn't going to find value in complete immersion, which is what this story requires. No, every chapter isn't overflowing with action. No, every chapter isn't world-changing and sweat- inducing. But, God is in the details and The Wheel of Time seriously needs to be read 3 or 4 times to reasonably understand most of what's going on. A large part of the story is what isn't being said, and what isn't described. That makes it tough when related details are in different chapters and different books, but that's the way it works. You can't expect to read these waiting for the bus or between classes, you almost have to take notes of some chapters. Why is Moiraine the only person to find the Green Man twice? We aren't told, but we can guess. Who is Demandred? Who killed Asmodean? If you read close enough the personal asides and narrative thoughts all makes sense. Jordan doesn't sow details haphazardly, everything has meaning...and it's up to the reader to make the details work. It's not an easy task, but this series isn't for the average reader. If you read close enough, the first three books foreshadow the whole series, and every dream, viewing, and prediction has value. To be honest, the best way to read these is in a group, because each character merits discussion. True, some of the characters are petty and predictable, and one reviewer's deux ex machina comments might have merit, but to be realistic and grand in a whole-world setting not everyone is going to agree all of the time. Most people aren't going to drop everything and go save the world, they have to buy in...or be steered to. Therein lies Jordan's lesson in politics. Study well. It isn't always pretty but most of the time people need to think things are their own ideas, and that covers books 7-10. New Spring introduces two of the most complex characters in the series, and how they came to be together. Jordan's borrowed circular-time theory and overwhelming sense of fate makes each character affect every other, in some way, and that's all part of it. History, politics, magic, religion, fantasy, it's all here, but you have to be willing to sacrifice some serious reading time. The hardest part is going to the bookstore after you read these, since nothing else seems quite as good. Good luck.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Stop the wheel and let me off!

I refuse to give this author any more money. This series was great, but he milked it several books longer than he had ideas for. It's a pity, it was a good story, for a while.

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    The rest of you

    Just because you get to lazy to continue reading the series doesn't mean you should try to talk others out of it. This is an exceptional series which I reccomend everyone read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Loved it, but too short

    I really enjoyed seeing Moiraine as a young woman and not an icy Aes Sedai, and the young Lan was nice to meet. Jordan can drag this out as long as he darn well wants to - I, for one, will be purchasing whatever he writes. To the naysayers, whiners and those wanting an end: who is forcing you to read these books? An irate member of the Green Ajah who wants to battle your backside for badmouthing her creator? WhatEVER! Don't like 'em anymore, don't read 'em anymore. Quit whining.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    A good place to start

    New Spring: The Novel was a good place to start off the The Wheel of Time series. Robert Jordan wrote this book as if it was meant to be the first of the series 'even though it was a prequel to the main series'. The book develops the personalities of a younger Moiraine Damodred and Lan 'the two characters the book revolves around', and their travels until meeting each other. The books does have a tendency to change characters at odd times and often times left me with many questions on what one character is doing while the book is describing the other character. New Spring is also only those with patience. The books has some unneeded filler details that last for one or chapters at a time with little exciting moments. Though these selections have almost no effect on the plot, they do dive into the true personalities of Lan and Moiraine.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    An interesting story

    The only prequel to the Wheel of Time that was completed before Robert Jordan's death. It is in his usual style, and is an enjoyable read for anyone curious about how Lan and Moraine met.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Wheel of Time prequel, New Spring, is a very good addition t

    The Wheel of Time prequel, New Spring, is a very good addition to the series written by Robert Jordan. I read New Spring after Booke 5, The Fires of Heaven, based off the recommendation of several WoT fans instead of after Crossroads of Twilight (Book 10) when the prequel was published. Considering that Moiraine and Lan are the main POV characters throught the book and that after the events of The Fires of Heaven, reading the prequel when I did made New Spring both enjoyable and bittersweet.

    Obviously New Spring helps explain the motivations of both Moiraine and Lan when we first meet them in The Eye of the World, but it also gives us a view of the "normal" workings of Aes Sedai and the White Tower before the unusual happenings already seen in the series. Politics of the world are fully in view with Lan finding himself in the midst of the "biggest" political storm. If I were to find a bad thing about New Spring is that some of the material that Jordan wrote to expand New Spring from a short story to a full novel(la) seems to be just filler making the story bog down a tad.

    Overall, New Spring is a good quality introduction to some of the "older" characters of the early Wheel of Time books and I fully recommend reading it, especially after Book 5, The Fires of Heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very good

    I rarely enjoy side stories but this one was nearly as good as the series itself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Wot

    In my love affair with wot there are many beginings, but no endings. Although i do want to know how things wrap up, it will just start the cycle again. I will continue to read and re read until i die. New spring is a wonder appetizer for the thirteen course meal that awaits you, enjoy. I have only read the version from legends, but im excited to pick up this version. More wot, yes please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Foundation

    Good foundation for the rest of the series.....still does not really provide the reader with the "Why" of the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Love it!

    I think that Robert Jordan is an exceptional writer. While it may be true that a few of the books are slow in parts, each contributes to the basic story line. And with ten books and counting you need a recap sometimes. I am very excited to see how the saga will end. And yes, it will end, with book 12 i believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Prequel great, but where's the rest?!?!

    I remember picking up the first book right after it was published-was hooked from page one...but now with 11 books down, I can't help but wonder if much of this couldn't have been condensed even more! Why must there be a contant re-reviewing of prior books in each subsequent book. This book was fresh-he couldn't pull anything from the future and it pulled many pieces together for me. I do hope Mr. Jordan will look at his future writings in this series without repeating so much of the past which his faithful readers are already aware of! I look forward to the next in the series but am prepared to be disappointed if he continues with his bad habit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    First time Jordan reader

    I haven't read fantasy fic before and a strong recomendation from a co-worker sent me to the bookstore. I found the story very entertaining. I've put down quite a few books recently without finishing them, but not this one. The characters, Lan, Moirainne and Siuan were interesting, well fleshed out characters and Jordans mildly sexual undertones were tantalizing yet tasteful. I have entered this never ending series, conscious of what I'm doing, that is commiting to ten or more books but it beats buying something I'll put down without finishing. I found this book to be a good mix of character and plot and agree with some of the other critics about his propensity for dress shopping. But then as every married man knows, there is a lot of that in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    A decent book

    It's a nice book but needs more action and less clothing description.Jordan needs to do more sequals instead of prequals though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    One of the Best

    I was disappointed that New Spring was not the lastest (or final) book of the series. But when I started to read, I could not put it down. I new there would be Prequels after the series conclusion. New spring was a good Appetizer unitl the series next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    superb writing makes up for meandering storyline

    I first want to say how surprised I was when i saw the New Spring title released, thinking it was the next in the series. I was then momentarily disappointed to find out it wasn't. But then elated that it was to be an explanation or precusor to events I knew much of from being an avid fan. After having read the book I felt it was a little unecessary as it did little in the way of explaining much of anything leading up to events in the series, and so I am a little disappointed. However, that being said, I have to say that no matter the amount of time it takes Mr. Jordan to finish the series, whether it ends with two more books or twenty, i dont care, as there are only a handful or two of writers in this genre who are as skilled and deft a writer. I am a huge fantasy reader, and to my chagrin find that for every excellent fantasy novel out there, there are always at least two that are so boring i never finish them. My home library is filled with the remains of those skeletal pages of refuse. I will continue to look forward to Mr. Jordans writings,as he could make the bill of rights a well written and engaging novel if he so set his mind to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Good addition but get it finished

    This series is absolutely amazing but i'm getting a little tired after 11 books now and we still are at least months, or possibly years (in the series' time), away from the last battle occuring. Robert needs to get the lead out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Pretty Good

    Another excellent novel. However, I am starting to get the impression that Robert Jordan is milking the entire series. He writes brilliantly constructed novels, but maybe he should end this series and begin a new one if he wants to write that badly. When I saw this book in a friend's hands, i was exstatic - untill I learned that it was a prequel. Another thing I must commend Jordan on is that with all of these books, he is making a killing, and it builds up suspense for the patient reader. All in all, I'd say that the book was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Not really needed....

    We, the fans, already pretty much knew Lan and Moiraine's past..and the parts we did not know, the shrowded mistery, was cool. There are some things that should not be brought into the light..it takes away from the readers own view; their imagination. However, I am a loyal Wheel of Time fan so of course I enjoyed it. I do agree, though, that he should finish the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    good, but waiting for the end of the series

    This book was very good and i am glad i read it, yet i am very impatient for the rest of the series. I think Mr. Jordan needs to focus on finishing what he has started before he adds bonuses to the series. This would be a great thing for me to find after i had finished the main books and i don't want Jordan delaying the completion of the other books due to extras. I also think that this is not a good spot for readers new to the series to start. This book gives away that rand is the dragon reborn, and that is not supposed to be revealed until late in the first book. It is much better just to start as we all did and read THE EYE OF THE WORLD first. After you finish the series read NEW SPRING and maybe even the book written on Robert Jordans world. I hope Jordan will finish his series first and then worry about adding extras on times earlier or later than the main story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    A pervious comment...

    I am writing in regards to this comment 'And Moiraine and Siuan seem like a recycled Elayne and Egwene...they act like the flat, dull, predicatable 'pillow friends' we see time and again in the still-running saga.' I am under the imperssion that Jordan used this comparison (although not stated directly) to show us that Moraine is human, despite the 'cold, uncaring' feeling we get about her in the main series. It shows that even SHE can care about frivilous things such as putting mice in someone's bed. BRAVO, Mr. Jordan! I also thought it was nice to have some of the story told from Lan's point of view; I had wanted to see his opinion on several things in books 1-10 (i.e. what he thought about the kiss, the whole wedding deal). Sometimes it is so hard to tell what he is thinking, what with him being the 'stone-faced warrior'. I enjoyed the part where they first met as well. BUT, I think that it was too much of a coincidence for Lan and Moraine to end up in the same palace. Stuff like that only happens in books. All in all, I thought it was a good book, and can't wait for book 11 to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Thanks RJ!

    While this book started off slow (which is why I gave 4 stars, not 5), the latter half made up for it. It was great to see Moiraine and Lan (and Siuan) as their younger selves. I am eagerly awaiting the second book (and still trying to make my way through the main titles!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3