Customer Reviews for

A New World: Taken

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLANT READING!!!!

FAST EXCELLANT READING. NOT MY USUAL GENRE BUT COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN AND CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT. LOVED IT LOVED IT

posted by GPDC on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good read, mini ripoff of the movie I am Legend.

A good read, mini ripoff of the movie I am Legend.

posted by bww1 on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    EXCELLANT READING!!!!

    FAST EXCELLANT READING. NOT MY USUAL GENRE BUT COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN AND CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT. LOVED IT LOVED IT

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Zombie Story with something different. This was a very int

    Great Zombie Story with something different.
    This was a very interesting and exciting zombie apocalypse story. The characters were well-written and multifaceted. I can't wait for the next one in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    I really wish I could say that this series is terrible and the w

    I really wish I could say that this series is terrible and the writing is horrific, but I can't!! The 2nd book was even better than the first. John O'Brien does a great job of interweaving his past military knowledge with humor and suspense through this book. I found myself laughing at the banter between Jack and Lynn, but even more so when reading Jack's inner dialogue to himself. It sounds just like things I would be saying to myself-minus all the combat/zombie issues.

    This really is a great series that is completely different than any "zombie" books I have read. I really like the fact that Jack has him family around him, he has a big heart tempered with a take no bs from anyone attitude, and the story line focuses on a bigger picture than just lots of fight scenes with "night runners" as Jack and his group now call them.

    I like the test message that popped up on his open phone lying in his hands, "Are you alive? I need help."

    Excellent series. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Dotcincan reread this again

    Great read even the second time around

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Loved it!

    I've read tons of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic and dystopian type books, but this series is one of my absolute favorites. The suspense, adventure, horror and intrigue kept me glued to the story. I usually like my stories to have a wrapped up ending, but hope this one keeps going. I've read each a couple times which says a lot since once through with a book I usually don't re-read them. So if you like apocalyptic stories then definitely check out John O'Brien's series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Awesome!

    I've read tons of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic and dystopian type books, but this series is one of my absolute favorites. The suspense, adventure, horror and intrigue kept me glued to the story. I usually like my stories to have a wrapped up ending, but hope this one keeps going. I've read each a couple times which says a lot since once through with a book I usually don't re-read them. So if you like apocalyptic stories then definitely check out John O'Brien's series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Loved it!

    I've read tons of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic and dystopian type books, but this series is one of my absolute favorites. The suspense, adventure, horror and intrigue kept me glued to the story. I usually like my stories to have a wrapped up ending, but hope this one keeps going. I've read each a couple times which says a lot since once through with a book I usually don't re-read them. So if you like apocalyptic stories then definitely check out John O'Brien's series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Loved it!

    I've read tons of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic and dystopian type books, but this series is one of my absolute favorites. The suspense, adventure, horror and intrigue kept me glued to the story. I usually like my stories to have a wrapped up ending, but hope this one keeps going. I've read each a couple times which says a lot since once through with a book I usually don't re-read them. So if you like apocalyptic stories then definitely check out John O'Brien's series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Third in series

    So fast paced you can not put it down. Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    500 plus pages

    Second in the series. Could not put it down. It will not disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    One of the best !

    One of the best series I have had the pleasure of reading. It is worth your time to read. However, be prepared. You will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    4th in series

    It is like you are there feeling everything that Jack feels. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    VERY good read

    as a long time fan of the classic Romero zombie I am always wary of the new apocalypse. Most of the characters are hokey or the story is just a waste of time, not so with this series. This entire series is top notch, good charachters, tons of action and a story that sucks you in and holds you until you realize you should have gone to sleep several hours earlier. This series is far, far better than most and is just plain fun to read. The only drawback is you really should read the series in order so you get the most from the charachter and story development. Have fun with this series, I sure did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    A New Must Read series

    I loved it cover to cover and will not purchase the rest of the series!! A new twist were the "zombies" can smell humans and have some ability to rationale thought!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Excellent series.

    Highly recommend. Great read, likable characters, fast moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Excellent.

    Well written, fast moving. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Excellent series.

    A great read. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Very easy to read and get completely engrossed in. This has to b

    Very easy to read and get completely engrossed in. This has to be my favorite series to date. These books captures many of the things I would try and do without being ridiculous, things that you never see in other zombie books. I have read all 5 and I'm very much looking forward to the next one, hopefully it's not too long a wait. Doesn't hurt that the writer has based it in my neck of the woods, allows me to visualize the things taking place far quicker and with more realism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2