Customer Reviews for

New Year Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy

Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy, intense ride!   Read this book, but plan on not getting anything else done until you finish it.

posted by Savmom on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad but too many characters

Good story just a little hard to follow and remember all the characters even with the back story.

posted by Kymc323 on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy

    Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy, intense ride!  

    Read this book, but plan on not getting anything else done until you finish it.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Good read.  Fast paced.  A bit like Stephen King, wiythout the s

    Good read.  Fast paced.  A bit like Stephen King, wiythout the supernatural.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great Read

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Anon

    I can't remember the last time I read a book I couldn't put down...Until Now. To say this is a satisfying read would be a massive understatement. This story has it all...suspense, mystery, thrills, chills and the best part is you can't figure out what's going to happen next. Loosely based on the original story Ten Little Indians this updated version is a psychological thriller that is so well written you feel like you are part of the story. Make sure you start your read on Friday night and leave your weekend free otherwise you'll have to take P.T.O. from work. This book is a 1500 page turner. Glad to have a new writer who knows what suspense is all about. Jp

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Loved it

    It's was rather long, but I found it engrossing enough to not want to put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Fun book

    This was a fun book with a great plot. It was a bit wordy and could have been written in 500 pages as compared to the 1600 pages it contains but was entertaining none the less.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    I love this book. It has all the elements of a good thriller, s

    I love this book. It has all the elements of a good thriller, suspense, and horror novel rolled into one. Every time you think you have the story figured out it takes you on a rollercoaster ride to the unexpected. This is one book I would love to see made into a TV series because the big screen couldn't do it justice.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    A lttle too gory

    Excellent story. Original but graphic

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Wow

    What an amazing story.......loved it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Every time I thought I had things figured out, I was proven wrong. This is one of the best thrillers that I have read in a very ling time. Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    A REMARKABLE BOOK

    I enthusiastically recommend New Year Island! It was an exciting book to read! The author, Paul Draker, developed the characters in detail and made you care about them! Also, the book was full of surprises and very easy to read, and I could just picture everything as it was happening!

    I think this book would make a very exciting movie! I hope one day that the book IS made into a movie, because I am sure it would be successful! I enjoyed the book so much that I emailed Paul Draker and told him so and I have never written to an author before!

    Read this book! You will not be sorry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Very good

    Great idea..exciting page turner. Not crazy about the ending. Hard to believe someone could take that kind of punishment and still be able to walk around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great Ride!!

    Paul Drake did a fabulous job with this book. What a great thriller. Very well written and unpredictable twists and turns kept me glued to the story until the very last page. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great read!

    Caught my attention from page one. Great plot, with excellent character development. The book reminds me of Michael Starks "The Island", which i enjoyed as well. Keep up the good work Draker, i look forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    New Year Island

    EXCELLANT GGRRATE Must read fast pace intrigue suspence and horror Over 700 pages read it 2 days

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    this was an excellent read. Hated for it to end. Exciting,lots o

    this was an excellent read. Hated for it to end. Exciting,lots of twists and turns, kept you guessing until the end. Kudos  to Mr Draker

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    This book was face pace. I couldn't put it down. So many twists

    This book was face pace. I couldn't put it down. So many twists and turns. Cant wait to read his next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    A great ride!

    This is an enjoyable, fast-paced, thriller. It's spooky and ferocious. One of the best books I've read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Wow! Amazingly creepy. Couldn't put it down!

    Wow! Amazingly creepy. Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    The best book I have read in a real long time.  This book is abs

    The best book I have read in a real long time.  This book is absolutely worth buying.  I believe this book would make an excellent movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5