Customer Reviews for

New Year Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy

Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy, intense ride!   Read this book, but plan on not getting anything else done until you finish it.

posted by Savmom on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad but too many characters

Good story just a little hard to follow and remember all the characters even with the back story.

posted by Kymc323 on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy

    Just finished this book and HOLY FREAKIN' WOW! this is one crazy, intense ride!  

    Read this book, but plan on not getting anything else done until you finish it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great Read

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Every time I thought I had things figured out, I was proven wrong. This is one of the best thrillers that I have read in a very ling time. Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    I love this book. It has all the elements of a good thriller, s

    I love this book. It has all the elements of a good thriller, suspense, and horror novel rolled into one. Every time you think you have the story figured out it takes you on a rollercoaster ride to the unexpected. This is one book I would love to see made into a TV series because the big screen couldn't do it justice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Anon

    I can't remember the last time I read a book I couldn't put down...Until Now. To say this is a satisfying read would be a massive understatement. This story has it all...suspense, mystery, thrills, chills and the best part is you can't figure out what's going to happen next. Loosely based on the original story Ten Little Indians this updated version is a psychological thriller that is so well written you feel like you are part of the story. Make sure you start your read on Friday night and leave your weekend free otherwise you'll have to take P.T.O. from work. This book is a 1500 page turner. Glad to have a new writer who knows what suspense is all about. Jp

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Wow

    What an amazing story.......loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great Ride!!

    Paul Drake did a fabulous job with this book. What a great thriller. Very well written and unpredictable twists and turns kept me glued to the story until the very last page. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great read!

    Caught my attention from page one. Great plot, with excellent character development. The book reminds me of Michael Starks "The Island", which i enjoyed as well. Keep up the good work Draker, i look forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Really good read

    I was very intrigued by the characters and loved the atmosphere of this book. Even though it was long, I inhaled it, and found myself not wanting it to end. I'm definitely checking out the next one by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Im not an editor review but this was a really great read. Loved

    Im not an editor review but this was a really great read. Loved the characters and the story kept my interest til
    l the last page and then wishing for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    A book you can really get lost in!

    I'm not the best at writing reviews, but I have to say I absolutely loved this book. It's very long at 1600ish pages, but the story keeps you captivated the entire time. I was actually bummed when I finished it because I was enjoying it so much and didn't want it to end. I love a good, long story. I won't go into any details of the story itself so I don't spoil any surprises, but at only 99 cents it's worth a shot to try it out for yourself.

    This one was an absolute gem and I am thrilled I stumbled upon it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Great up all night read.

    This book has multi-faceted characters, a superb story line and suspense, suspense, suspense. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Excellent Read

    Enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Great plot, terrific believable characters. Cant wait to start the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Great

    Loved reading this book! Many different turns and twists in this story that keep me turning page after page! Looking forward to reading his next masterpiece of fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    New Year Island

    Just finished this book. I really enjoyed it. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Excellent

    I can see why so many great reviews are listed for New Year Island, let me add mine. As others have compared it to Agatha Christies Ten Little Indians, I also felt this way (our high school play was Ten Little Indians, back in 1967, so I am very familiar with this great mystery). I rank.New Year Island top shelf, five star, and one of my new favorites, right up there with Moby Dick (the Whale). Read and enjoy !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    &hearts

    &hearts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is well worth reading. It is engaging and I could not put it down. Best book I have read in a long time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Riviting, intense and a must read if you like suspense! I stayed

    Riviting, intense and a must read if you like suspense! I stayed awake late every night reading this book, I loved it! More, please? 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Very Long but Quite Gripping!

    At first I thought--good grief, over 1500 pages, but then as I got into this suspenseful book, I was glad to have the time to spend with the various characters. Ten people are chosen to undergo a sort of Survivor television show format. Can they rise to the occasion and get along so they all can live? Dumped on an island with just elephant seals, seals, and sharks surrounding them, they are monitored constantly by cameras. Who will make it? Yes, I think I might like to read another Paul Draker book, but this may be too long for the average book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3