Customer Reviews for

New York Dead (Stone Barrington Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Will Keep You Coming Back...

I've read all the books in the Stone Barrington series completely out of order. So, when I picked this one up knowing it was the first, I read with the mindset of having no idea who this particular character was. It was interesting to actually read about the incident th...
I've read all the books in the Stone Barrington series completely out of order. So, when I picked this one up knowing it was the first, I read with the mindset of having no idea who this particular character was. It was interesting to actually read about the incident that retired Stone and to get a bit of a history on the relationship between Stone and Dino.

I can honestly say if I had never read any of the other books in the Barrington series, this one would for sure have me coming back to read the others.

Interesting story line with a few twists and turns that I never saw coming, of which, only Stuart Woods can bring about. I'm close to finishing all his books and eagerly anticipating the new ones yet to come.

He is by far, my fost favorite author to date!!

posted by Justine-the-Bean on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good and Easy read...

Althought it seemed as if it was a slow starter ...it picked up and wound up with a surprise ending that I enjoyed... He is a great author and this was a good one for his first book

posted by emsphatgyrl on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excelent Reading

    From reading the initial review,I expexted to find much more sex in this book and am glad to say it was not there.
    I thought the charaters were very believable.
    This is the first of Stuart Woods books I have read and I Will be reading more.

    Good Job

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good Read From The Stuart Woods Factory

    What can you say about the Stone Barrington series? The characters are the same, there's always Elaine's and Stone can't keep the same girlfriend from book to book. But these are all qualities that endear readers to this series. Although Woods produces these books at a high clip he somehow manages to throw enough in each one to keep us coming back for the sequel. Like all the books in the series, this one is an easy read and a great book to take on vacation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Good read

    Decided to try a new author, glad I did, looking forward to more reads from this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    Great character and writing

    Loved it! I'm hooked on Stone Barrington...now I have some catching up to do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Deathheart to blizzard

    Hi Drkstar might want to talk to you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Highly Recommend

    First Stuart Woods I read. Wanted to start series with first book loved it. Great entertaining mystery. Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Recommen

    I completely enjoyed this book. I will be reading more Stuart Woods books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Recommended

    This is the first book I have read by Stuart Woods and I really liked it. It did keep me wanting to go back to the book and finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    A Pretty Good Read

    Was looking for a new author at the time. Tried this one out. The book was overall good. Never a dull moment, was a constant read. Would recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Stuart Woods another hit!!!

    Stuart Woods was a new author to me and again I am hooked. The character of Stone Barrington is terrific. Stone begins his career as a policeman but becomes a New York State lawyer. Clients draw him into one breathless mystery after another. The twists and turns keeps the reader turning page after page. His partner on the force, Dino, appears as his constant sidekick and reminder to stay inside the law when solving cases. Some clients appear in a second book but don't let that stop you from reading. Each book is a completed case filled with murder, intrigue, sex and excitement. The following is the list of how the Stone Barrington books were released: New York Dead: Dirt, Dead In The Water, Swimming On Catalina, Worst Fears Realized, LA Dead, Cold Paradise, The Short Forever and Dirty Work. Be sure and search out the other books written by Stuart Wood and his other stars of fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3