Customer Reviews for

The New Yorkers

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    The Dogs of New York

    At first I was not sure if I would like the book,but as I read more I got caught up in these crazy dog loving New Yorkers. It made me feel like I wanted to move to new york and get a dog'which I don't like dogs'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Recommend

    A light read, sometimes difficult to keep the characters sorted, but overall enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    A Delightful Read!

    A light, enjoyable, easy read about strangers living on the same block in a small area in NYC who meet mostly through their dogs and interact in interesting ways. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    a very enjoyable read!

    This was a light, easy book to read, and anyone who loves dogs, romance, and NYC will enjoy it. It was a great vacation book - - you could lose yourselves in the characters and intertwining stories of their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Recommended

    This was my first but definitely not last Cathleen Shine book. Her writing flows so effortlessly just as another favorite author---Maeve Binchy---As one who walks dogs and has made so many acquaintances through our mutual past time, it's simple to relate to many of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    A very enjoyable read!

    I picked this up because it talked about a dog named Buster on the back cover (my dog is a Buster). There is no 'Buster' in the book but it is a delightful story of an odd group of people who live in the same New York neighborhood -- it is the story of how their lives intermingle and how sometimes it is the 'dog' that brings out the best in people. If you are a dog owner, you'll truly enjoy this book. I don't fall in love with an author on just one read, but I'm going to read another Cathleen Schine book. She may become one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story!

    I absolutely loved this story. It was, for the most part, upbeat and funny. The characters were well-rounded and thought out and could have been many of the people living in my own neighborhood.
    Admittedly I am a dog lover. The fact that the story was centered around how the characters interacted with their dogs and how much they loved them was very enjoyable. You don't have to love animals to appreciate the story but my guess is that you will by the time you're done reading or listening to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Great light hearted read

    This is a great light hearted story.It is interesting how true that dogs introduce one to so many differant people.I lived in a fantastic dog neighborhood in Sf and it kept me laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    Great Summer Read

    Nothing makes me happier than a new novel from Cathleen Schine. Her books remind me of my favorite French movies, though this one is set in New York and called The New Yorkers. It captures the city with affection and sly humor and a cast of memorable humans and even more memorable dogs-- the perfect book to linger over in a sidewalk café. And Schine can sum up the complications of life with a marvelous light comic touch. One character¿s ¿wrathful daze¿ is attributed to the fact that ¿[s]he had pushed away the only man she had almost wanted to marry.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    INVENTIVE, SOPHISTICATED, WITTY

    'New York, New York, It's a wonderful town!' Composers sing New York's praises, poets rhyme its virtues, diarists trace adventures there, and authors set tales in this iconic city. Cathleen Schine, author of The Love Letter, has written another billet-doux with The New Yorkers, a brilliant, comic take on one city block in Manhattan and those who live there. Said block is just a short stroll from Central Park which, of course, made it a favorite of dog owners and professional dog walkers. '...so the street, not distinguished by great beauty to begin with, was not terribly clean either. And yet, it was the loveliest street I have ever lived on. And the most interesting.' It is, indeed, the most interesting as it is home to school teachers, eccentrics the retired, up-and-coming wannabes, the homeless, and all manner of outre characters, each drawn with perception and precision by this accomplished author. Jody, known by her colleagues as 'Good Old Jody,' has lived in her studio apartment for 20 years. It is there that she endures sleepless nights then greets the day with a smile. A spinster, as she sometimes thinks of herself, she decides to get a cat. However, when she visits the ASPCA she finds an aged pit bull mix who had been found somewhere in the Bronx. A female, the dog is huge with a great lolling tongue and Jody names her Beatrice. On a particularly cold, icy day Jody is walking Beatrice when she sees Everett, another block dweller. He is a man of 50, divorced, bored, depressed, despite Prozac, but possessed of a stunning smile. Jody immediately falls in love, and takes to daily walks with the bow legged Beatrice past Everett's door. Polly is a young woman who, as a child was awed by the sound of her own voice. She is pretty, demanding and suffering from a love affair gone terribly wrong. She moves onto the block when she discovers an abandoned puppy in an apartment closet. It's not long before her brother, George, shares the apartment with her and the puppy, now known as Howdy. 'George, twenty-eight years old, had been a child prodigy. No one knew it. Except George.' When we meet him he still has not discovered his exact area of expertise. Then, there is Simon, who lives in a ground floor one bedroom apartment. He is 48, and takes the subway to work every day, where he labors as 'an asocial social worker in the far-off fields of Riverdale and carried a briefcase swollen with files pertaining to those whom he thought of as the unfortunate, the unhappy, and the unkempt.' There are more characters, of course, each finely painted, all memorable, and very human. As the days pass the lives of these people intersect in different ways, and we are privy to their thoughts and aspirations, their successes and their failures. The New Yorkers is fun, sophisticated, revealing. Cathleen Schine tells a doggone good story - don't miss it! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1