Customer Reviews for

Newjack: Guarding Sing Sing

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A Brother in BLUE

    If you think you want be a corrections officer, read this book first, i never wanted to be one, i wanted to be a cop(i would not want to do anything else now, i found what i am good at, most of the days are good, the bad ones you learn to deal with someway) he tells you the big stuff, but its the small stuff that gets you everyday (weak officers, backstabing officers, non-supportive supervisors, horrible administration). I have given this book to my family and my friends so they know what i could deal with in a single day, and everyone comes back with the same question. Has some of that stuff in that book happened to you? The anwser is YES, everything in that book has happened to me or someone i work with, and in this industry, when something happens to your brother in BLUE, it happens to you!!!! For anyone who is a NEWJACK, trust me, the job gets easier everyday, you learn how to 'JAIL', you can do 25 years in this job if you can keep your head straight, it isn't easy, you need good family support, people to talk to, hangout with the guys from work that you are close to and find a hobby, in 25 years you will be retired, hopefully you can enjoy another 25 years relaxing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Great Read For New Officers

    As a Correctional Officer myself, I highly recommend that anyone newly hired or looking into the field read this book. The author gives an accurate picture of what it is like to be a new officer in a state prison. The only issue I have with the work is that by the end, the author allows himself to become much too close to the inmates and seems unaware of the possibility of staff manipulation. I would also highly recommend the book 'Games Criminals Play', a commonly assigned reading in correctional academies across the country. Excellent analysis into common methods employed by inmates to manipulate staff.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Excellent read, very fascinating.

    This book provides a terrific insight into a part of our country that does not get the appropriate public attention. The psychology of the prison environment, the motivations of corrections officers, and the struggle of day-to-day life in an American prison. If you have any interest in what's going on in a state prison - you should read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Inside

    Inside the most totalitarian part of the world-America's prison system- a world few glimpse, even less than North Korea with many misconceptions. Conover's world is filled with cruelty and moral ambiguity as most of the prisoners heckle him day in and day out, giving us a human dimension into the truly demeaning world of both inmate and correction officers lives. As the book definitely demonstrates, most correction officers are not bad, they are actually good men with one of the most dangerous jobs on earth with few accolades and even less pay. However, Conover, is not an apologist for the system, giving us insights into some of the more creepy guards who seem as though they could be more at home with the inmates like the slimy CO Wickersham. He does not set out either to demonize the inmates but shows that it was them vs. us most of the time, especially with black guards who received the worst treatment and gave the worst treatment to prisoners (maybe slavery hasn't left us). Also, there is the intelligent and prophetic inmate Larson who had an ephiphany of where our prisons would go: more so-called 'Supermax' prisons and for-profit prisons while being understaffed. Also, I think Conover somewhat downplayed the rapes in prison of men, although women certainly do play a much bigger role.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Boring

    It kept me falling asleep great for reading before bed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    what a great read

    This is a very insightful book. I enjoyed every minute of it and could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    An Insider's View

    This short book shows the real life hardships of the life of a correctional officers life over the period of one year. It shows the stresses that come along with the daily job of guarding some of New York¿s worst criminals and the toll it takes on ones personal life as well. This book is unique because of the author¿s ability to paint a clear and unbiased picture of the hell that jail is not just for the criminal, but for those who put themselves in harms way everyday to keep Sing Sing up and running.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Behind locked doors

    Conover presents a very real look behind the locked doors of one of America's most renowned, and feared, prisons. The account of his months as a Corrections Officer there provides insight into the minds and actions of prison guards and of the prisoners they watch over. In the book, we see how the strained relationship between the two can lead to some acts of cruelty and abuse on both parts, as well as to moments of awareness of each others' predicament in carrying out their respective roles. Conover was not discouraged by the authorities' rejection of his requests to go inside the prison to do research and instead decided to take the C.O. test and enter the system as one of its own, not unlike the Nellie Bly strategy of writing about poor working conditions in the sweatshops more than 100 years ago by becoming a factory worker herself. This quest to give us the insider's view is what makes Conover's book all the more interesting and valuable, as it allows us to see guards and prisoners alike without the affectation that would taint the process if either side knew that they were being observed. 'Newjack' has gotten me hooked on Conover and I have since begun reading 'Coyotes' and can't put it down either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    Pretty Dull

    Anyone excepting an exciting prison story will be sorely disappointed.This work is suprisingly dull.It basically chronicles the days of an undercover prison guard,who has one message to convey:don't become a prison guard.If the message was that the prison system is fouled up, I would have rather had it condensed into a magazine article.If you are expecting an exciting read about life inside a prison,along the lines of 'The Hot House' or 'In the Belly of the Beast' you will not be satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    Good Read

    Not the most exciting read, but very insightful and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2