Customer Reviews for

Next

Average Rating 3.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extr...
Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

posted by eoconnell on June 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really didn't Like this book.

I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person...
I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person I gave it to didn't like it either , by the way).

posted by Ducky48 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 366 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome novel, I'm going to miss you Michael

    Every book I have read by Chrichton has been excellent. All the way from the first to last I have enjoyed Mr. Chrichton to the fullest extent and Next is no acception. I was locked in as soon as I started this novel. I did not want it to end. The subject matter is extremely interesting and very realistic. Michael Chrichton does do his research. I went to his website to see if he published a new novel and thats how I found out he passed. I loved his books because he is a wonderful writer and I am going to miss his stories.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Really didn't Like this book.

    I usually enjoy anything by Michael Crichton but this book was my least favorite. It was entertaining at first and then it just lost it's edge. The plot was slow and the characters were unappealing. I just did not like it and I ended up giving the book away. (The person I gave it to didn't like it either , by the way).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Not One of Crichton's Better Efforts

    I haven't hated a Crichton book this much since Congo. It wasn't even a novel so much as an extremely loosely connected series of vignettes whose sole seeming purpose was to allow Crichton to express his personal opinions on various ethical aspects of genetic research. Crichton has always had some soapboxing in his books, but it's never been as extensive or ham-handed as this.

    The e-book specifically was also sub-standard. Any text that appeared in small caps in the original text was completely missing from the e-book, leading to sentences like, "They passed a sign along the trail that said ." (The missing text read "BUKUT ALAM ORANGUTAN SANCTUARY" in small caps in the paper book.) There were so many instances of missing text that I was forced to check out a paper copy of the book from my local library and carry it around with me for reference, which rather defeats the purpose of having an e-reader. The same text was missing when I checked the e-book via the Nook app on my PC, which leads me to believe the issue is with the EPUB file, not the display on my 1st gen Nook.

    Also, in the bibliography of Web sites at the end of the e-book, the URLs ran completely off the page, sometimes disappearing in mid-letter.

    A major disappointment all the way around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Different, but good

    This is a great book. Crichton's genetic page-turner is much better than expected and is one of my favorite books. The characters are a bit confusing sometimes, but not always. It's a bit different from other books of his and has a faster pace, but to me NEXT is a great book and I look forward to reading another one of Crichton's novels. Oustanding and highly recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down. Devoured it in just a few sittings. He does his research and it shows in his work. I would recommend it as one of his best works. Recently read Micro as well and that was also awesome. Have been a fan for a long time and will continue to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/unabridged/Science Fiction: Right now, I'm on a Crichton kic

    CD/unabridged/Science Fiction: Right now, I'm on a Crichton kick.
    Apparently, Crichton took a look at gene therapy and technology in the 15 years that he wrote Jurassic Park and realized there was a problem. For one, the stuff that was pseudo science in JP, was begin done. This book has several stories that intertwine, overlap, and stand alone. It's a cautionary tale of what happens when government and medical boards (not just the US) lag behind modern science. Like how much of your body do you own after you give a tissue sample. Or how much gene integration should be done to animals. I liked it because I learned a lot. I didn't know that genes or diseases are patented. I found out that SARS became a pandemic because there was uncertainty on who owned the patent. I found out Hepatitis C is patented.
    This book starts out like a spy novel, but then goes into several directions. There is an emptiness to the conclusions. I wanted to know if the evil bounty hunter.....I mean property recovery agent, went to jail for the rest of his life.
    I still liked it a lot. Did I mention the talking ape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    High concept with no heart!

    Michael Crichton has always done a good job of intertwining science and fiction without writing science fiction. I think that makes sense. Here Crichton tackles the world of genetic engineering and while there were so many amazing ideas and concepts here, I’m not sure how much of a novel there actually is. There are literally dozens of characters introduced and as a reader you have no idea if they are connected, important, or relevant. Its strangely scattered and when connections are made they are disturbing weak or convenient. I was rather disappointed with this. There just wasn’t enough here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit of a let down for me.

    I have been reading Michael Crichton's books for years and I hope the publisher will soon release some of the stories he was working on prior to his most sad departure. I believe the first novel was "Andromeda Strain" (although I thought the characters in this story needed developed more thoroughly) and of course "Jurassic Park" and then there was "State of Fear" which I enjoyed and a few others.

    But, I must say that this novel, "Next" had a lot to be desired. I would even go so far as to say it was a bigggg disappointment. Sorry. It wasn't because of the splattering of foul language, which I'm not a big fan of, (I never understood why authors have to fill pages up with profanity.) Many stories will stand on its own without it or toned down to a reasonable level. Just my point of view.
    I thought that in the novel the plot never really materialized and the characters were never fully developed. I never felt I knew the character, Henry Kendall, the researcher. I would have liked Mr. Crichton to have spent more time to allow the reader know what makes this guy tick. After all, he has mixed the human and chimp DNA to produce a hybrid child. Also, on a side note, I wasn't enthralled with the talking chimp and parrot. If those characters had met a quick end, I would not have been sorry to see them go.

    On the surface when you read the synopsis one would think that this novel would be a interesting, and a exciting read. However this was no page turner and for me it was a let down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Next, another great exciting installment of Michael Crichton's ingenious writing

    The book Next, is another amazing page-turning novel by the great Michael Crichton and another example of his unique writing style, scientifically accurate reasearch and excitment. This book is a defenite page-turner, and you would hate to set it down for a moment. This book has excitment, drama suspense and is a thrilling tale. For any Michael Crichton regular or fan this is a must-buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Out of the Norm for M.C.

    I really enjoyed this on audio book. I listen during a very long commute and I hated to get out of the car at the end of the jouney;could not wait to start listening again. This was a bit off the normal path for Mr. Crichton and I was hesitant about buying it at first but I now happy that I did because it is a wonderful story that will cause concern about possible abuse in the fields of medical research. The interview with the author at the end of the audio book was most interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Mrs. Bond found out that her parrot was helping her son with his math homework.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I found this book a bit confusing at first, being about twelve when i read it, but when i got the hang if it it was an incredible read. Truly spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Sadly, Crighton's last published work. All his books were great

    Sadly, Crighton's last published work. All his books were great. Well written, though provoking, characters you cared about. The consument writer for our age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Very mysterious and great

    This storyis a genetic mystery crime book. It is awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Solid research but not his best novel.

    The research put into the book is good. The story is entretaining but there are far too many of them and all have a sense of forced urgency. The end is bland as if the author made his points with each individual plot and then was in a hurry to end the book. It is not his best novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Loved it

    The first Crighton book I have read. I was hoping for more like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    highly recomended!!!

    I absolutly loved this book. It has a lot of different subplots that come together in the end. Ts a great read especially for someone into genetics!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    First novels

    (@nancy chase) the andromeda straim was his first book published under his real name. Michael Chricton previously wrote under the pseudonym John Lange. Happy reading of older stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Not Impressed

    So many story lines that were all tied together and terminated suddenly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Where's the beef? (Read plot)

    His books are usually fast paced and gripping, but this one leaves you wondering what the plot was or if there was one. A monkey and bird eventually become part of a family. Really!!! That's the story!!! The only interesting parts were the actual science. Save your money and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 366 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19